Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice Visit to Monterey

Posted May 21, 2017
This was a pleasant visit to Monterey, I always enjoy coming to visit family. This was my first visit to the pelican Bay and I enjoyed my stay and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Great place

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Monterey Bay Area - need we say more.
Great value, location, our room on the end was so quiet, great staff. Free logs for fireplace. Awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
Good location, clean, and updated room. The only thing I would change about the room is to have a softer bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
I have stayed at most of the motels along Munras over the years and though they all seem essentially the same, Pelican Inn was slightly better than most of the others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice for Budget

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Fireplace, location.
Cons: Furniture could be updated. Blankets could be thicker. Wall heater is too loud.
Location: Right across from main shopping center. Only a couple miles to wharf and downtown.
Nice hotel for budget minded. Rooms are clean, need a little updating. Blankets sparse and needed an extra one. Don't expect much for breakfast. Fireplace nice. Location good. For the rate, nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sunny patio

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Good spot to enjoy afternoon sun chairs and tables good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Bay

Comfortable Monterey hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We just stayed one night... the hotel was good for us but I had a little trouble navigating to it... Good for the price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Livingston, Ca

Thin walls

Posted Mar 27, 2017
We stopped there for 1 night it was a late check in (9:00 pm approx). We did call ahead to let the hotel know it was going to be a late check in. The check in was done through a teller looking window outside... it made me wonder if the the place was not safe and that's why the lobby was locked. Thank God the check in was fast as it felt strange to be standing outside. I've been to other places where the lobby is locked after a certain hour but they unlock it allow you to make your transaction indoor and lock behind you. The room was clean. The reason for my low review ...the walls are very thin you can hear everything & I mean everything that's going on in the room next to you ...it was very uncomfortable. The continental breakfast was ok toast, pastries, milk, coffee & oatmeal. I will stay somewhere else next time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Reasonable price for out and backs

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Carpets are in desperate need of deep clean or replacing. They are super dirty and leave your feet black.
Location: good location to act as a out and back location for those with young kids
This is out second time at the hotel. We have 2 young kids and picked this hotel as it is close to major attractions and the price is reasonable. Nothing exotic but the beds are comfortable and rooms are clean for the most part. Carpt is the only negative we have this trip as they need to be replaced or SERIOUS steam clean. We have a 8 month old and could not let the crawl around as hands and feet were showing the age of the carpet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Hotel staff was awesome. Room was as expected. Would definitely stay there again!