Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m.

Very clean and comfortable motel.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3, waited 20 mins. Room very clean and confortable. Ice machine available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable bed. No noise problems. Adequate continental breakfast but in a very crowded reception area. Only real issue was lack of kettle.
Cons: Get a kettle and assure that water is alright to drink. We were told that it wasn't.
Location: Very handy for Monterey and Carmel.
It would be useful to be clear if water in the rooms is suitable for drinking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Pillows were nice.
Cons: Everything except the pillows.
Location: Monterey Jazz Festival....but there were plenty of hotels to choose from, next time we will choose a different one.
We paid a premium price for a room that had two beds and even though we asked for a rollaway...they weren't available. The breakfast was less than acceptable, and not worth the price. Not enough parking, had to park on the street. Look around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Ace, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, however, under our hotel policy we have listed that we do not offer roll-away beds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Convenient to downtown and beach

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location, staff and fireplace in room
Cons: Not much space for breakfast and limited food options but coffee was good. Building is old but well maintained. Good value
Location: Downtown Monterey, 17 mile drive, Carmel, restaurants
Convenient location, helpful staff, fireplace was a nice extra
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love the location close to downtown and very clean

Posted Sep 18, 2016
I had a lovely time, Pelican Inn is a clean and quiet place close to fisherman's wharf. If you want to relax and have a peaceful time this is a place for you. EXCELLENT AND RECOMMENDABLE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Ace, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manteca, CA

close where we want, parking,lite breakfast incl

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: I liked the price and location
Cons: please increase the water pressure in the showers
Location: cannery row, aquarium, beach, fisherman's warf, lovers point, pacific grove butterflies if in season, dinner out, wine tasting, whale watching, kayak
the rooms were good sized, bed were comfortable and i usually have a lot of trouble sleeping due to bursitis, breakfast was light, cereal,toast,yogurt,danish,coffee...no eggs, waffles etc. not a deal breaker. My only real issue was that the water pressure in the shower was a joke if you have hair. however, I would come back though. The price was reasonable and the location is good with a car.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
No tub stopper so had to use a washcloth to fill up tub for son's bath. Also shower felt a little rickety-like I might fall through to the first floor...but I didn't!😀 Otherwise no complaints.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Sauberes Standard-Motel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Die Lage zur Wharf in Montereys
Cons: nichts
Location: Unbedingt das Meeres-Aquarium mitnehmen, wir haben es leider verpasst.
Sauberer gepflegter Standard, Frühstück war allerdings sehr dürftig, hätte man auch weglassen können.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hillsboro, OR

Affordable Motel/Adequate Provisions

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Very affordable for Monterey area, if minimal amenities will suffice ie: no pool, hot tub, sauna, etc. which minimizes the cost.
Cons: This is a "mature" establishment. Proprietors have done upkeep to keep things in working order, but you can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear.
Location: Location is convenient for vehicle travel to beaches, downtown attractions ie: Fisherman's Wharf, Aquarium, Cannery Row, et al.
Three(3) day stay while visiting relatives. Spent minimal time at motel, essentially sleep time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Very good comfort for price

Posted Aug 11, 2016
A thin walled place, but clean, quiet, and comfy. Good firm bed, modern flat screen tv, microwave, and mini frig. Continental breakfast with cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurt, sticky pastry, surprisingly good coffee.