Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we hoped for Anniversary.

Posted May 23, 2017
Room was small & warm but clean. Most of staff friendly. A lot of stairs for older people, depending what room you have. Not much parking. Close to beach. Not worth the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I just can't with this place.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service. And, honestly, the decor (it's dated and dreadful).
Location: You can easily walk anywhere from the inn.
Cute inn - small and historic so no renovations or upgrades (no elevator, rooms are woefully small - no room for suitcases, no water pressure, etc.); as long as your expectations are in line with that, you won't be disappointed. The decor is tragic and garish - not at all representative of a small, sleepy beach town - but if you're into red, you'll dig it. My only real frustration and disappointment are with a few of the staff; those encounters were bad enough that I'd not only never recommend Pine Inn, but I'd certainly never stay there again, either. Check out is 12:00 - if you aren't out by 12:00 on the nose, be prepared to be treated as though you've committed a felony. The cleaning staff came into my room (in spite of the Do Not Disturb sign) while I was showering at 10 minutes past noon. That was. Then came the angry call from the front desk demanding to know if we were planning to book another night - that was at 12:25. More fun. I didn't realize the time as I'd gotten quite ill that morning and was just doing my best to get out - which I tried explaining to the enchanting creature who phoned, but she opted to disconnect the call rather than hear me out. I was out by 12:50. We travel a lot - all over the world - and enjoy coming to Carmel once a year, but there's no way I'd ever stay at the Pine Inn again. I'm sure that there are some fine folks who work there (Marco!), but there are a few who missed class on Hospitality and Customer Service Day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose,Ca

Older nice hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Close to beach & shops. Private hotel parking lot a plus! Great hot breakfast buffet at iL Fornai included weekdays. Friendly staff.
Cons: In room coffee/tea
Location: Plenty of shops and restaurant choices. Beach close. Monterey Aquarium, kayaking, hiking, several golf courses.
Older Victorian decor, but comfortable. Relaxing experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastvale CA

Just okay.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
I have a disability and was put in a room on the 4th floor. They don't have elevators. I was not informed of this when I booked. The 4th floor was extremely hot. The room and bathroom were extremely small. The two of us were bumping into each other. The staff was friendly and the complementary breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Character hotel in great location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location, historical feel and cafe
Cons: Considering the age of the hotel, and the price very little is of concern.
My wife and I have stayed at the Pine Inn on two previous occasions and all visits have been very enjoyable. This is an older hotel that is a bit quirky but very well looked after and comfortable. Great public spaces, the best coffee shop in town and the adjacent restaurant never disappoints.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun get away weekend, small small room!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Historic and great location in the town
Cons: Staff actually paying attention when you ask questions
Location: Was great, close to the beach and shops and restaurants!
We had a great weekend, just that this hotel, while historic and quaint, is has very small rooms and the hotel staff are from the early 1900's for customer service and efficiencies. As long as you realize it will be so small in your room and bathroom maybe one person can fit in the shower, maybe, and there is little to no room for you two roll on bags, you will have the correct expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Great location to shops and beach. Breakfast, too!

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Lots of shopping and walks on the beach. A quick getaway for comfort and relaxation. Always a great place to land!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF CA

nice hotel walking distance to the beach

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: staff were very nice and helpful. clean place
Cons: need more parking space
Location: hotel is close to the beach and good restaurants, nice walk
I had a good experience close to everything beautiful place. the only problem is the limited parking, I had move my car early morning from the street to avoid getting a ticket.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

2 Star Hotel purporting itself to be 4 Star!

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Miguel who checked us in was the only member of staff with any courteousness. Sent a complimentary bottle to the room on arrival as it was my birthday
Cons: Everything! Hotels that submit to Expedia should not relegate their cheapest/worst room to Expedia customers - this is foolhardy! We post reports.
Location: Carmel is beautiful! A walk to Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch for a sundowner or supper is an absolute must! We soooo wish we'd opted to stay there!
This was our 1st visit to Carmel. Finding the Pine Inn was not easy! It's in the middle of Ocean Ave - main street - but there's no sign that's easily readable! Entrance is up a staircase from street. You have to know this in order to be able to find it! After check in were told our car had to be moved to designated parking which was 1st-come-1st-served! No mention of this in 'blurb' on Expedia & is crucial because the parking lot isn't big & once full you have to park on street! This was a major talking point at breakfast among guests! Our Room No. 19 was very disappointing! At first you think it's sweet. Not big but perfectly adequate for our needs & with "olde worlde" charm, but it was baking hot, in March! No air conditioning, just a ceiling fan. Fan on full was very noisy so couldn't use at night! Low setting was so slow that it did nothing to help! Then we started noticing the room needed to be refurbished. Pine Inn told me in a mail that the room would look out over the town - it looked out over the back of the hotel which was ugly & dirty - kept the broken shutters closed the whole time. No tea/coffee making facility in the room. I asked for some boiling water & mug for a medicinal tea I drink at 9.45pm and was told there's no room service after 9.30pm! We were woken between 3&4 am each of the 3 nigths by cleaners in the kitchen below. No recompense or even concern. This is overpriced by a long way for what's offered. Wouldn't stay again & would never recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible night staff

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Never felt so unwelcome. Staff rude and mean. Room too small