Ratings based on 2,536 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction made this stay not very nice

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The construction work was very loud & made this stay not as nice as when I was there in November. For the inconvenience of the work & noise, I think the price should have been decreased.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance to everything

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Had a great time there walking distance to everything went whale watching first time what a great experience . Carmel was beautiful the beach was amazing. Will be back to stay at this hotel in a few months.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mariposa CA

Always an excellent stay in a perfect location

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Lovely room, very very clean. Staff pleasant and the location is just perfect. You get a REALLY good big fat cookie on arrival too!
Cons: Only ONE thing..............to get to the swimming pool, guests must cross a public courtyard area. Not classy. I don't like this one thing.
Location: Cannery Row, Aquarium, shops downtown, Old Fisherman's Wharf, Marina area -- freeway is close to get to Carmel, Point Lobos
If you want to stay someone really nice near everything Monterey has to offer, then stay here. Yes, it's pricey but so are all the other hotels in that prime area. You can walk to the Aquarium. Or Cannery Row. Or just stroll the Old Fisherman's Wharf and wander up and down the waterfront. It goes for miles. The Monterey Trolley (free) stops right at the hotel grounds. It makes the rounds downtown and to the Aquarium and Cannery Row. The hotel has it's own restaurant if you don't want to go out. Brunch is yummy. Haven't done dinner there yet. There are dozens of food choices nearby. The hotel is under renovation right now but the staff has done everything they can to minimize inconvenience for guests. Including a greeting committee and lounge area in the parking garage! Noise is hardly noticed. Pool is lovely. I love this hotel. Period.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Undergoing major renovations

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Comfortable beds, good location
Cons: Very tired hallways and common areas. They charge for parking and wifi.
Location: Near fisherman's wharf, aquarium and beach.
The hotel is undergoing major renovations. The lobby and common areas are very tired. The location is great but not what you would expect in what is advertised as a "spa".
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, VA

Nice hotel though bit of a maze to find your room

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff; clean
Cons: Not much can be done about location of some of the rooms.
Location: Lots of restaurants; coffee shops; etc. We were only here one night so didn't get a chance to do a ton of exploring.
First impressions were great - nice facility; friendly staff (we were able to get a late check-out); very big room and clean! Only downsides - trying to get to our room (#353) was a haul - up the elevator, down a hall, thru a door to the outside, thru more doors and hallways....Also, construction is going on out at the street. Also, spa and fitness areas are outside of the hotel so if the weather is bad it's unfortunate. Location is good - Tons of restaurants in walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Clean bathroom. Room view wasn't great but location is convenient
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county

Great Hotel with lots to offer!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Had a great stay at this hotel! Near the fishermans wharf and restaurants. Hotel staff was friendly and very accomdating. Recurred warm cookies on our arrival. Rooms are nice and spacious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Expensive and noisy

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Not worth the money to have a screaming child next door all night-both nights and shouting from the bar long past closing time. Convenient to walk everywhere. Very clean. Front desk staff poor but all valets were excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Excellent location, excellent experienced staff. I have never stayed in Monterey,CA and nervois about picking the right spot, but The Portola delivered.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Cons: Hotel is under renovation.
The hotel is under renovation. The rooms are nice and the setting is fantastic.