Ratings based on 3,028 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Great place to stay in Monterey. Walking distance to the Warf, Cannery Row and the Aquarium.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Positive

Posted Jun 19, 2017
The hotel location was perfect. You can rent bikes right next door. The staff was pleasant and the room was clean. Parking was easy. It isn't fancy but it's a nice hotel and reasonably priced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Adjacent to a bike/run/walk path that leads to Cannery Row. Close to restaurants, so a great location. The rooms are also nice, well appointed. What I didn't like... the pool area is a little run down, construction in the area makes it difficult to navigate, and the it is difficult to leave the patio door open at night, as the traffic noise is quite loud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Every thing normal except parking is not close to hotel and it's crazy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ca

Relaxing

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: It's within walking distance to the Wharf. It has many places to eat and see within walking distance.
Cons: The lighting in the rooms could be better.
Location: Walking distance to many places to eat. Walking distance to the Wharf. Also a Free Tram to Cannery Row and Monterey Bay Aquarium during the summer.
Our stay at the Portola was relaxing. Although they have many amenities we really didn't take advantage of them. The double beds are a little small but comfortable for one person. The lighting in the room was not very good unless you opened the blinds to the slider.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New store opening

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The hotel was great! This is the 2nd time I've stayed with them for business and have been please with some minor hiccups. The front staff needs to be friendlier even if the situation is not possible. A smile goes a long way and I shows their guest that they are trying.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small room with view of parking garage

Posted May 31, 2017
Hotel under construction, not mentioned anywhere. A small window in room with "view" of parking garage and people walking past our room. Right next to elevator. Noisy almost all night. Left after second at 6:00 a.m. Needed some sleep. Worst hotel we have stayed at in Monterey. Go to Plaza or Hotel Pacific instead.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

In downtown

Posted May 30, 2017
The location is great. The Parking garage is a walk to the lobby, might as well do valet because it's only a $3 difference. Theirs a lot under construction right now, but in the heart of downtown and that's convenient. It's a nice ambience. We got there at 4 pm at check in time and their was a 2 hour delay, that was really inconvenient, they only offered a late check out but I had to get ready for an event that evening. The rooms were decent and comfortable beds. Cute pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted May 30, 2017
Hotel staff were great and accommodating but the hotel was under construction.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wish I had read other reviews

Posted May 29, 2017
Hotel has no ac and the rooms with out balcony get hot; like it feels like 102 for some reason which is what we were trying to escape from. Great location for walking and rooms are clean and such but even with two fans that aren't really even fans they were portable little things and it was still hot. I spent about $400 and this is a disappointment and on top of that these beds are very uncomfortable and we're right next to the street.