Ratings based on 3,189 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake County, CA

A Wonderful Beginning to our Vacation.

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: There wasn't anything we didn't dislike about the hotel.
Cons: It's hard to fix perfect, but give it a shot!
Location: We appreciated the fact that it was a very short and easy walk to Fisherman's wharf.
The staff was very welcoming and professional. Our room was well-appointed and comfortable. The Sunday Brunch was excellent with professional and accommodating staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Loved everything
Cons: Nothing to improve on!
Location: Fisherman's Wharf, close to the Aquarium, too
Wonderful hotel near Fisherman's Wharf and close to everything..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Nice hotel close to local venues

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Nice hotel close to restaurants, local pubs, waterfront activities. In house bar and pub were a plus. No AC in rooms which was noticeable with the warm temps but that would be my only negative comment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Nice hotel minus slow check in and noise level (It is nice to be able to open the balcony door at night but it was quite noisy- perhaps we just picked the wrong weekend as there seemed to be a lot of weddings). Excellent location near the wharf and within walking distance to Cannery Row.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Ca

Nice hotel right downtown

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Centrally located
Location: nearby shops and restaurants to walk too
The Hotel was very nice and the room we had overlooked the yacht harbor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

very Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: via expedia
Cons: none
Love the place, easy access to shops, restaurants and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Hotel was great. Nice to have Pirate scavenger hint for kids. Cookies were great and breakfast buffet foid and pricing was FABULOUS
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Central located

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Free updates with free wifi services. Welcome cookies and fruit. Easy walk to the beach and a lot of food choices near by
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mariposa, CA

Beautiful hotel, perfect location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Room size, cleanliness, quiet, location, location, location.
Cons: I don't like having to walk across a public corridor to get to the pool which is in another building. Perhaps a skywalk bridge for guests?
Location: Everything is right there.
The hotel has been in the midst of renovation for quite awhile but they're trying really hard to limit the disruption to guests. I appreciate that. Eager to see the end result. I love this place, it's the perfect place to stay for ME - I like to walk everywhere and the wharf, marina, wildlife, bay water, Cannery Row, Aquarium, restaurants, are all right there. Pretty grounds, lots of places to relax and sit: seagull and people watch. Staff is accommodating and pleasant. Yes, it's expensive. But so are all the other nice hotels close to Cannery Row. Since my husband is disabled with a wheelchair, room size is important and these rooms are generous. Beautiful pool area - which is in another building, the only thing I don't like. Well, there's the parking fee which I think is exorbitant, but what are you gonna do?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from slo

Great hotel to stay at.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
From our check-in to check-Out our experience with staff and facility was awesome. They were able to accommodate my wife i a little earlier than check-in time, which allowed us to explore facility and its amenities without rushing through. The beach area is also very close to hotel and was able to get there walking in 5 minutes. Cannery row is also walking distance within 15 minutes. Thanks for the great time Portola!