Ratings based on 2,770 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was okay.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The location was nice but not worth the $289 per night price. Especially considering the construction. Be sure to check to see if the hotel is still going through renovation during your stay. The rooms were decent and clean. Another part of the reason that the stay was not as enjoyable was because their were little kids running up and down the hall yelling quite often, and the fire alarm went off when we were still in bed Friday morning and we did not know whether we had to evacuate or if it was a false alarm. Luckily it was a false alarm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to beach and marina.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Hotel in great location. Easy access to pier, marina and walking distance to everything I wanted to do. Hotel is being renovated. That is the reason for rating on condition. Once updates are complete, I'd certainly rate it much higher.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose,CA

Walking distance to the old Monterey town.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Room layout.
Location: Fisherman Wharf , old town Monterey and Cannery Row are all within walking distance - around 1 mile.
Hotel room has very nice layout , the king bed is comfy and the big screen TV has some interested channels . I can just stay inside as other people for the cold weather . There is a lot of history of Monterey old town within the walking distance of the hotel . I also learn that Portola is the first governor of California .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Nice but very dated hotel. The rooms look a lot more modern and upgraded in the photos.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rocklin,Ca.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The room was not good. had to move due to pets, smell and dogs barking. Only to get at room looking at the courtyard under construction. We have stayed multiple times and feel we should have been upgraded or offered a discount.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Etats-Unis d'Amérique

Close to everting

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very nice Experience at the Portola Hotel. The room was very big with all the essential comfort for the Nigth. Close to the hotel there are many good restaurant. I will back again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Very close to the harbor and downtown. Walking, biking , kayaking, whale watching available. Seals and otters are in the harbor
Great location, bed comfortable, room was quiet. Had the thanksgiving dinner in jacks restaurant. Food was plentiful and good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I've had better

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Overpriced. On going construction. Lots of noise from the street. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. Lots of extra costs: Wifi, parking, etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Location, quality
Cons: N/A
Location: Right next to fisherman's wharf
Good...................................................................................
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Nice but noisy in Monterey

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Stayed at hotel to attend nearby optometric conference. Nearby convention center was undergoing renovation, as we were warned when making reservation, but we were not told about the all hours electric generator outside our window being employed to make ice for the nearby rink. So, we had to keep the windows closed to reduce the constant noise of the generator. We also had a failed cable connection when we attempted to rent an overpriced new release movie ($17.95), but they comp'd us a free movie for this inconvenience. Hotel is located in a great area which permits walking access to anything you really want to do. Free chocolate cookies are another benefit of a stay at this clean hotel. Staff was generally friendly and helpful except the individual at check-in that gave us the noisy room and couldn't direct us to the parking structure. Nice hotel, but we didn't have the best experience.