Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

This hotel was a nightmare.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
First thing I noticed when I walked into the room was all the dust and the smell.. it smelt like mold. Which I ended up being correct because when I walked into the bathroom the tub/shower had mold growing in the crevices.. there where holes around the wall of the tub. And cracks in the floor, and around the cabinet of the sink. Also there appliances didn't even work. I tried using the microwave it was pulled in and everything and would not turn on. When I notified the front desk all they said was "oh sorry" they didn't even try and fix the situation. Definitely not worth the money and would never recommend this place to anyone!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Virginia

Wonderful location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
You just could not get better staying across from Asilomar State Park!. We rented bikes and rode the coastline to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Two wonderful experiences in one shot!!!. Beautiful place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burlingame, ca

Great location

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly. Though tiny, room was very clean.
Cons: Bathroom was just okay: shower was terrible.
Location: Location is amazing: right across from beach and an easy, if longish, walk into town.
Friendly staff! Super location across from Asilomar Beach. Though our room faced the parking lot, it was very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Lovely room and location close to ocean. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice experience and I will be staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heavens gates

Purple flower in the woods

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Wow what a great find. Nice area with a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. ......need I say more. Good deal I will go again and again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Cons: Cleanliness of room 101, change old falling apart chairs and carpet, paint closet door, change rusted door hardwares, spray ants, do some landscaping!
My husband and I just recently celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary. We love Monterey. Every time we go for vacation, we go to Monterey. In short, we went to Monterey for our anniversary. I was choosing between Best Western ($147.00/night at that time) versus Rosedale Inn ($180.00/night at that time). We chose Rosedale for two nights because we thought of giving ourselves a little treat. But when we got to our room, we were both VERY DISAPPOINTED!! Carpet is very dirty, some parts are ripped (falling apart), very poor housekeeping (hairs all over the floor), ants, very old rags and towels, and I can go on and on... That is room 101 (say NO if they try to send you here). We usually don't complain but hey it's our anniversary, we paid $180.00/night, and we got a cheap-motel-like accommodation! My husband complained and we appreciate the front desk being sorry about it and gave us a bottle of wine (which they don't have to do it but we appreciate the effort). We were told that they have remodeled the rooms at the back but not the one we stayed in yet. What a WONDERFUL GIFT (sarcasm) they have for our anniversary to put us in this room than to put us in better ones. Pros: close to the beach, fireplace, nice staff, and jacuzzi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cathedral City, Ca

Nice and cozy

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: It's just older but was fine
Location: Walking to the beach daily
Had a wonderful stay here. Much quieter and charming than being in Carmel. Very easy checking with friendly staff. We would definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across from Asilimar.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Cons: Size, bath tub, location
Large double queen room, great bathtub, OK shower pressure. Very quiet. Slightly better than basic continental breakfast, but room pretty crowded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Rosedale Inn

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The spaciousness.
Cons: The shower, the room decor & the outside area
Location: Close to Monterey & Carmel.
We had a suite, which was very spacious. The decor is rather drab. The shower had very little water pressure & made it impossible to wash your hair. Breakfast was minimal in a room too small to accommodate all the guests. The outside grounds needed attention. However, the housekeeper did an excellent job of cleaning & providing necessities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite Relaxing

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The Rosedale Inn away from the central district by a mile or so so you don't have lots of traffic. The staff was quite accommodating. The room was spacious and they include nicely stocked breakfast offering. Looking forward to staying there again in the future.