Ratings based on 570 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Beautiful room and view, balconies, isolated

Posted Jan 19, 2017
My room was located on the southernmost room and beach view from second story balcony dowhill, room was very cool and had fireplace, beautiful design and a comfy bed, I was very happy for the price and the very friendly helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Koyal Kumar, Guest Services Agent, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Peter. We are very glad at have had at our property, enjoying the nature and beauty that surrounds us. Our staff works very hard to make each stay memorable for our guests and we are glad it left a wonderful impression on you. We hope to see you soon at the beach in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, but not perfect

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Great location, close to Silicon Valley, easy to find, right on the beach. Very dog friendly (small additional charge) and the beach allows dogs, too. The beach was clean and flat with nice waves, and mostly empty - but we visited in January. Staff was friendly, prompt, courteous, and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and well insulated. Would definitely go again. Overall very nice, but marking down from 5 stars for a few minor reasons. None of these are big deals, but none were obvious on their website or Expedia entry, nor mentioned during 2 phone calls prior to arrival, they were all surprises at check in. - The only onsite restaurant was closed for renovations. They did offer a temporary room-service menu with things like cold cuts, a cheese tray, etc. - but it had a minimal selection and was overpriced (e.g. $16 for a cheese sandwich). Nearby restaurant delivery options were limited, but there were good spots if you are willing to drive 10-15 minutes. - Can't leave pets unattended in room, so don't plan a visit to the Aquarium or Cannery Row with pets left behind - The property is shared with a timeshare - common pool and lobby, separate rooms. Pets are not allowed on the timeshare parts of the property. - All the parking except the lobby lots at the front of the property is reserved for timeshare guests, so we had to park about a 10 minutes away from our room. They have staff in golf carts to drive you, but it's a hassle just to grab something quickly from the car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you leaving some constructive feedback. Hope to see you during your next visit to the Monterey Bay! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Overall great experience! Friendly staff and such a relaxing stay. Enjoyed every single thing about it, no doubt!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for leaving us great feedback! We are so delighted that you had a nice and enjoyable stay with us. Please visit us next time you are in the Monterey Bay area! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

close to the beach

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: peaceful, private beach, nice welcome
Cons: breakfast in the morning
Location: monterey bay aquarium, old monterey, lovely places to eat at night
very couple-ly, but a lovely retreat from the city
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us feedback! :) We appreciate you staying with us. Hope to see you next time you are in the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I like there very much! I will be there shortly! That is great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us :) Please visit us next time you are in the Monterey Bay area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
A lovely get away for a relaxing raining weekend . The staff were very helpful and the room was lovely
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
Although it was a rainy weekend, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Give us a visit next time you are in the area and we'll ask the sun to come out :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Great location, excellent staff experience, got an upgraded to ocean front room, great view from the room, room was clean. Beautiful sunset, seeing the moon over the water, and sunrise
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
Wow!! It sounds like you had an awesome stay! We are glad to hear so :) Hope to see you soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marina, CA

Nice place on beach but no one cleaned our room a.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The place is lovely.beautiful beach location yet close to route 1. We were disappointed when we returned from day of sightseeing to find our rom not cleaned. I called front desk and they said they'd send someone over right away (this was at 4:30) but no one showed up until 7:30 when we were back in room relaxing and didn't want ot go out again. Also, the two of us attempted to take showers but water never got warm enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Spa Retreat turned Flaming Hot Horrific

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The ocean view and fireplace in-room is the ONLY reason to go.
Cons: Train the staff better on customer service and how to handle issues like this and others. I was left crying for over 2hrs in my room; vacation NOT!
Location: Ho Wah Chinese is great and they deliver!
Warning you may never again want to get a facial after reading this... I've had a really rough few months & truly needed a break, so I escaped to my favorite retreat only to get picked up late by the Bellman for a now barely 30 min massage that was the absolute weakest I've ever felt; literally the lady was yawning so loudly, I almost asked if she needed a break. Then the nightmare unfolded~ It started off nicely with a European esthetician stepping in, so gently and sweet, describing everything and then asking if I wanted steam and I said yes, she thought is was broken, but she got it working. The cleanser went on, then delicious honey scrub, then a seemingly enchanting tonic, which began to burn in moments.... I plead with her to get it off that it burned and she simply didn't really get it, nor the urgency. It began to turn flaming hot and I felt like my face was melting and literally get burned. The fear of not knowing what was going on and that pain I started crying pleading with her to help and give me water to take it off. She wouldn't listen and I had to run to lobby practically naked with the sheet to get the hotel water on my face. It was horrendous. It only got worse from there. The woman night manager treated me like a crazy person and was completely unprofessional. I was in the most facial pain I have ever felt and no one seemed to care but fortunately finally a front desk gave me some ice in a towel. I was left in the lobby sobbing with ice & begging for a ride.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
On behalf of everyone at our resort and Serenity Spa we deeply apologize for what happened during your stay. It is very uncommon for our guest to develop any type of allergic reaction products that are used during treatments. We are deeply sorry that you experienced an allergic reaction during your spa visit. While we cannot predict how our products will interact with each guest’s skin, we do try to correct the issue should it arise. I spoke with my Spa Director and she mentioned that she had reached out to you. I hope that these steps taken have helped remedy the situation in someway. Should you have any additional questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact out Guest Relations Manager, Derrick Person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort with ocean view

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Room housekeeping did not meet my expectations. It was so cold and only way to keep the room warm was the gas fireplace; no heater unit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!