Ratings based on 1,519 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rohnert Park

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Even though the revocation was going on with the restaurant and bar my husband and I have a great time. The staff was great. Very accommodating. The views were immaculate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massillon, Ohio

Beautiful view

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Great location. Close to Moss Landing for whale watching and Monterey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NorCal

Nice hotel beach view close to local attractions

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Check-in was smooth...it was raining and they shuttled us to the room in a covered golf cart. Room was very clean, very comfortable bed. Cars aren't allowed near the rooms so no loud stereos, or slamming car doors to listen to.....just the soothing sound of the ocean. We'll definitely be coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view of the ocean.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: We liked just about everything. I will definitely be back!
Cons: The restaurant was not open and we were disappointed to learn this.
Location: Millions of places to see, places to dine, and activities to do. Monterey is my very favorite!
We visited on a rainy weekend which was perfect. Absolutely surprised that there is this nice little spot next to the ocean that not everyone knows about. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The location and view were excellent.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
The staff were to busy gossiping or entertaining each other in the office on the two occasions we asked for information (local restaurants recommendations and points of interest) We were given a piece of paper and told here they are good luck.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great weekend escape.... that haunted me for weeks

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: View was amazing, loved that it was dog friendly
Cons: stop nickle and diming your guests. we pay a premium to visit this hotel, treat us like it.
Location: many dog friendly things to do in the immediate area.
Went to Sanctuary beach resort with the wife and dogs for the weekend to get out of town. As I caught a slight amount of flak for the price of the room I thought it was money well spent to take a break from life for the weekend and recharge the batteries. when we got to the room the bell hop told me everything in the fridge was complimentary. Let me warn you folks, ITS NOT. I helped myself to the 4 beers, 2 waters and a soda. after the trip we received a charge for 46 bucks... turns out the fridge was not complimentary. When I called and brought this up to the hotel staff they understood and gave me a credit. for half. Well, anyone who's married knows how this one goes.... all the flak that I did not get for booking a $500 room was surely unleashed when I did not successfully get the whole $46 charge removed. Nor have I yet been able to get the $100 deposit back yet. I paid $700 to drive 4 hour and have my wife nag me for a week, believe it or not I have found cheaper ways to get this done. Wish I would have sucked it up and made the drive to pismo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 26, 2017
It was a great experience! Comforting, calm, with an amazing view and service. Definetly coming back again (:
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BA, MN

Maybe nice at one time

Posted Mar 24, 2017
I think this property used to be a nice high end resort but years of wear and minimal maintenance have taken their toll. The restaurant was gated off and boarded up although they say it is going to open soon there is no visible work being done. It appeared as if they were providing rooms at deep discounts to fill the property. The rooms looked worn with rust, sticky carpet and broken locks. We were disappointed as the price we paid was not reflected in the property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Courtney - Guest Services Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very detailed feedback. The Sanctuary Beach Resort is known for our serene beach and amazing views and I'm very sorry that your stay did not provide you with just that. I would love to hear a little more about your stay and what room we had you in so we can address the rust in the rooms as well as the malfunctioning locks. Please feel free to reach out to me directly.I look forward to hearing from you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: We chose this resort due to the location and proximity to the beach. Our stay was serene and peaceful and very relaxing.
Cons: The restaurant was closed and the room service selection was poor, only small plates, cheese fruit and panini's, had to order food to be delivered.
Location: We chose not to go into town, but it is close to Monterey and Moss landing.
An overnight trip for birthday celebration, a beautiful place to stay, no hustle and bustle just relaxing walks on the beach and the sounds of the waves crashing from the balcony. The only con was the restaurant was closed for renovation, but the wine an cheese reception was delightful. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
Kat, thank you for leaving us some feedback about your stay. I am glad to hear that you experienced the relaxation and serenity that comes with being by the beautiful Monterey Bay :) We hope to see you again in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manteca, CA

Small room for price

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: New more comfy beds, insure everything is in working order and repair any problems.
Room was small, carpet was torn and lock on patio door was broken, and bed was hard. Was expecting VIP service but didn't get any. Ocean view was a partial view not what i was expecting for the price.