Ratings based on 809 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Adorable Little Downtown Inn!

Posted Jul 2, 2016
This is an adorable little Inn right in the heart of downtown Monterey on historic Cannery Row. The staff was absolutely wonderful and beyond helpful - by far some of the most hospitable we encountered in California. They were able to give us tons of tips on great restaurants and attractions, as well as tips on our Big Sur drive. Our room was clean and cozy with a charming fireplace. The rooftop provides a great view of the waterfront - a great place to enjoy a glass of wine. Breakfast comes to your room daily which makes for a nice relaxing treat!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Great location. Run down building.

Posted Jun 21, 2016
We were excited based on previous reviews to stay at this hotel. The first night we stay on the Cannery Row side. The street noise from bars etc was terrible. There's was no AC, so we had to leave the windows open to cool the room and listen to the ruckus until 3 AM. The ceiling fan has to be on turbo to help cool. This is also noisy. The second night we asked to move over to the ocean view side. We paid more of course. We also had to pay an extra $10/night for our daughter who didn't even get a cot. I think most of the favorable review are probably from rooms located on the once an side. The rooms are in need of repair and updating for the price charged. Our room wasn't very clean. Stains on carpet. Splatters on the walls. There were what looked like kid boofers on one wall where someone's crib was probably located. On the plus side, the location is excellent. Right next to a strip of beach where our daughter could play.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Leuk, knus hotel aan de kust

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Leuk hotel, knus en bont ingericht. De kamers hebben allemaal een functionele openhaard (op hout) en zijn comfortabel ingericht. Het hotel ziet er goed en gezellig uit. Elke dag is er van half vijf tot zes een 'wine and cheese' borrel in de lobby, erg gezellig. Ontbijt wordt 's-ochtends op de kamer gebracht. Het hotel is mooi gelegen aan een gezellig straatje met winkels, restaurants en bars. Aan de andere kant ligt het hotel aan de oceaan. Zeker een aanrader.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmond, OK

Wonderful place

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Enjoyed the staff very friendly courteous great rooms with fireplace overall wonderful experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Inns of Monterey, Hotel Management
Hi Ancil, Thank you for choosing the Spindrift Inn and for your kind words regarding our welcoming staff. We could not be more pleased that your experience was so memorable and hope that Monterey will be in your distant future. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Nice hotel and in walking distance to everything.

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Hotel is beautifully decorated. Great service. Hotel staff are friendly. Breakfast service is brought to your room. A romantic getaway. There is a fireplace in your room. Wine and cheese is served in the evening. We will be staying here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2016
The room was beautiful and spacious. We enjoyed the fireplace and used it in the cool evenings.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoy a slice of heaven

Posted Jun 1, 2016
We planned to stay one night but changed our plans to add a 2nd because it was so wonderful. Fireplace in the room plety of room. Comfortable bed easy to get to places along the cannery row
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Location. Guest rooms with fire places! Roof top garden.
Cons: Water was too soft. Very hard to get soap off. Valet had an issue finding our car. Maybe have a better system for locating cars.
Location: Sardine factory!!!
Loved happy hour with wine and cheese. Great location. Nice bar attached to hotel with amazing water views.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a great location.

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: You can listen to the waves 24/7 from your ocean facing room. The staff are all very nice and helpful.
Cons: Our room was near perfect except for the king size bed which had a very soft lumpy mattress. The complimentary wine & cheese could improve the wine.
Location: Close to restaurants, shopping, places of interest and right on the beach. We played golf at 3 different courses less than 20 minutes drive away.
Close to restaurants, shopping, places of interest and right on the beach. Breakfast in the room was very nice with ample choices to start your day. A log fire in the room was a nice touch. We enjoyed our stay here.
5 out of 5
by DAVID

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels