Ratings based on 962 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

As promised and reviewed

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Great view. Right on bay. Morning breakfast ran late one morning and was inaccurate. No apology offered. That said would book again for room, view and location. Valet staff pleasant and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redding, Ca

Best of everything!

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Everything! Our room viewed the ocean and cannery row! Loved the breakfast in bed, wine and cheese hour on the rooftop. Cozy bedding, beautiful!
Cons: I can't think of anything they could improve! Thanks for making our trip special!
Location: Monterey Bay aquarium, Fishhopper Restaurant, Bubba Gumps, chocolate shops, pier, clam chowder, seals, otters, Carmel shops
Fabulous hotel, right on beach and Cannery Row. Rooftop views! Attentive staff! Our second trip staying at this hotel! Will go again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal.

Charming!!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Clean and cute. We loved this stay. The hotel staff was friendly and the room was wonderful. They also have one of the best free breakfasts we've been offered. We will definitely be back again...hopefully soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OC

Very nice, comfy, and romantic spot!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2017
All 1st floor rooms are beach front and literally 20' away from the water!!! Very friendly staff, valet is $28 a day with unlimited entry and exit and parking structure is 1-block away. Very romantic!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

First time visitor to Monterey

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Service personnel, accommodations and location
Location: Great location downtown with bay views, shopping and restaurants
We had an excellent stay! The hotel is perfectly placed on Cannery Row with Ocean Views optional. Parking was valet and with a small cost which seemed to be about the going rate and what you'd expect when staying on Cannery Row. There's a seating area on the roof giving a nice view of the bay. A great place to bring your cheese and wine if the weather is good, if it's not, there's also a lovely fireplace in the rooms on the 4th floor and on in the lobby. Our large room was comfortable and appealing and a complimentary breakfast was delivered exactly when we requested it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smokie

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The room smelled like a log cabin. Couldn't use the fireplace. Flume was plugged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location in Monterey

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Best location in Monterey. Bike and walk to everything. Great staff. Pay the extra for an ocean view. Well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w houston

On the beach great location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Loved wine and cheese happy hour. Loved the hotel --saw blue whale sea lions from room window
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Weekday get-away

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Breakfast items
Nice place to stay. Bathroom a little smaller than we like, but overall very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great until checkout

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: views; fireplace
Cons: service and billing
We had a great time until we went to check out of the hotel. They overcharged us for "extra person in room" (it was just two in a room with a king bed). I asked the person at the front desk to correct the bill but she could not produce a printout with the correct charge for me to sign. She claimed that she didnt know how to make it "pretty" for me (I didnt want pretty; I just wanted an accurate bill). The mistake was not our fault and we did not appreciate her condescending attitude. We wont return. If you stay there, read your bill carefully!