Ratings based on 1,021 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Perfect birthday

Posted Dec 6, 2017
I asked for a room with a balcony, they gave us the corner balcony with an amazing view of the ocean and cannery row. There was a hand written birthday card and a box of chocolates waiting for me. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, anytime!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location and room

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Room
Cons: Parking, they have none. 28.00 valet fee per day seemed very steep. Should be more like 10.00 -15.00
Location: Smack in the middle of Cannery row so you can walk to everything you need including the Aquarium and the Sardine Factory restaurant!
We've been staying on and off in Monterey for over 30 years and just found this gem of a hotel. Fireplace, complimentary continental breakfast brought to your door and more. A really great getaway right on the water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Inns of Monterey Management, Hotel Management
Hello Harry, We are very appreciative of your review and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that our location was so convenient for your daytime activities and that you were able to enjoy the aquarium. We hope to welcome you back to Monterey soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel in the center of Cannery Row

Posted Nov 27, 2017
I had an overnight stay in November. Excellent customer service and the room was excellent. The wood fireplace was a special added touch. Slept with the fireplace on all night. Very nice. Also the complimentary breakfast is excellent. I would stay here again since it is very convenient to Monterey, Carmel and Cannery Row
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Management of the Inns of Monterey, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We were so happy to welcome you as our guest and are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next Monterey getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eagan,MN

Phenomenal location with the waves can be heard

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Absolutely great location with sound of waves coming in. Beautiful room but enjoyed the window seat the most to gaze at the sea and the sky and see the sunrise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Inns of Monterey Management, Hotel Management
Hello Preeti, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are so happy to hear that you made such lasting memories on your recent stay and were able to enjoy the sound of the waves next to your window. We hope to see you back soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to 1/2 marathon

Posted Nov 14, 2017
No air conditioning and the staff was a disappointment for the cost of the room and valet fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Management of the Inns of Monterey, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that we fell short in providing you with an entirely wonderful stay. Most properties in Monterey do not have air conditioning as our temperatures are typically cool as we are lucky enough to enjoy the breeze from the nearby bay. We will certainly review your feedback with our team and hope we can welcome you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paso robles ca.

right on cannery row

Posted Oct 31, 2017
great location and views great time beach right there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls

Nice hotel in good location and with great staff

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Very nice hotel in great location near restaurants and shops with great staff. Happy hour has complimentary wine and cheese where we met a nice couple and ended up going out for dinner with them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Inns of Monterey Management, Hotel Management
Hello Trevor, Thanks so much for your review! We were delighted to have you visit and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese hour. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next trip to Monterey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton, CA

Centrally located

Posted Oct 28, 2017
The weather was unusually warm and the rooms are not air conditioned and rely on ceiling fans which provided minimal relief. Staff are exceptional and quickly resolved the few issues encountered. Location is ideal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Management of the Inns of Monterey, Hotel Management
Hello Ptownnana, Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the discomfort you experienced with the warm temperatures during your stay. Most properties on the peninsula do not have air conditioning as our weather is usually mild and we are lucky enough to enjoy the breezes from the nearby bay. We hope we can welcome you back soon on your next trip to Monterey!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is great!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Cons: Upgrade the shower/bathroom
Location: Aquarium, golf, shopping and great restaurants.
Loved the wood burning fireplace and the rooms were comfortable. The view from our room looking over Cannery Row was great. Perfect people watching view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey, UK.

Great location

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The rooms, location and staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right on the sea. Good restaurants within walking distance. Next door Lalla Oceanside was our favourite. Do the 17 mile drive and visit Pebble Beach.
This was our third time in Monterey and the Spindrift and as good as ever. The hotel is only yards from the Aquarium which we love and right on the ocean. The sea lapped the wall under our window and we woke to the sounds of the sea including the nearby seals. We had otters playing outside our window everyday. Room was great, staff wonderful and we did not want to leave.