Ratings based on 950 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

First time visitor to Monterey

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Service personnel, accommodations and location
Location: Great location downtown with bay views, shopping and restaurants
We had an excellent stay! The hotel is perfectly placed on Cannery Row with Ocean Views optional. Parking was valet and with a small cost which seemed to be about the going rate and what you'd expect when staying on Cannery Row. There's a seating area on the roof giving a nice view of the bay. A great place to bring your cheese and wine if the weather is good, if it's not, there's also a lovely fireplace in the rooms on the 4th floor and on in the lobby. Our large room was comfortable and appealing and a complimentary breakfast was delivered exactly when we requested it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smokie

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The room smelled like a log cabin. Couldn't use the fireplace. Flume was plugged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location in Monterey

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Best location in Monterey. Bike and walk to everything. Great staff. Pay the extra for an ocean view. Well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w houston

On the beach great location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Loved wine and cheese happy hour. Loved the hotel --saw blue whale sea lions from room window
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Weekday get-away

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Breakfast items
Nice place to stay. Bathroom a little smaller than we like, but overall very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great until checkout

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: views; fireplace
Cons: service and billing
We had a great time until we went to check out of the hotel. They overcharged us for "extra person in room" (it was just two in a room with a king bed). I asked the person at the front desk to correct the bill but she could not produce a printout with the correct charge for me to sign. She claimed that she didnt know how to make it "pretty" for me (I didnt want pretty; I just wanted an accurate bill). The mistake was not our fault and we did not appreciate her condescending attitude. We wont return. If you stay there, read your bill carefully!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location and access to all beach stores resta

Posted Jul 4, 2017
First time here and was very comfortable Shouldn't have to put more down to be submitted
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on beach; great location; clean

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Free breakfast
Cons: Warm up the pool
This is a nice motel on the side of the road. Rooms are nothing special, but they are clean and reasonably comfortable. The location is great. Heated pool could be warmer. Breakfast was a nice bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nebraska

Outstanding hotel, right on the beach. Lovely room

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: Lots to do with in walking distance, great places to eat.
Great staff, breakfast in bed! Wine and cheese reception in the afternoon. Great rooftop seating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place. Can't go wrong here...

Posted May 30, 2017
Great place and location. Very charming. The staff, accommodations and location can't be beat for the money.