Ratings based on 631 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manteca, CA

Quiet retreat close to the beach.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: We appreciated the privacy and quiet of the setting of the hotel. We upgraded to a room with a king-sized bed and a jacuzzi bath. It was worth it.
Cons: The only drawback was that one side of the bed had a squeaky box spring; otherwise, it was a very enjoyable stay.
Location: The hotel is located within walking distance of Asilomar Beach, the Pacific Grove Golf Course, and downtown Pacific Grove. It is close to Cannery Row
We enjoyed our time at the Sunset Inn in Pacific Grove. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and check-in went very smoothly. The room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Great location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Close to 17 mile drive and beautiful beach walk!
Great fireplace room. Awesome walk to water and lighthouse!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice central location.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
We were very impressed with this hotel. From phone calls before arrival to the check in/out, it was a great experience for our family. We will come again. Maid service was excellent!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Choose a better option

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Beautiful part of the world with lots of options for lodging. Next time, we'll find a better one. Had the basic room, and, yes, it was basic. Very small, tiny bathroom with no counter space, no desk, very little seating area. Tried to upgrade, clerk said no cause we booked via Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grants Pass, Oregon

Very nice appearance in a quiet area.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Appearance & cleanliness.
Cons: Sadly the basic design of the buildings do not lend themselves to increasing the living areas within each room & a full breakfast area.
Location: The area is quite picturesque, a little isolated, but not too far to go to all that Monterey has to offer. There is a fine seafood restaurant close by
Our room was very clean but extremely spartan. The room was also extremely small with very little space to maneuver. There was only one chair & a very small side table. There was however a gas fire located in one wall & the shower was comfortable & the water appreciably hot. The breakfast is truly a continental style with just a few choices of packaged oatmeal, & some doughnuts, but very little else. For the price of the Motel we were hoping for a more substantial breakfast. With so many motels available that have much larger rooms, more amenities & full breakfasts, in all honesty I could not recommend this establishment. However we do have to emphasize the rooms are very clean & with hardwood styled floors you do not have the frequently seen stains on the carpet as are experienced in most motels/hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Very nice hotel--quiet and comfortable

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Everything! Location, price, staff, room
Location: Quiet location but not far from the sites of Monterey--cannery row, aquarium, pier with the sea lions
We really enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Inn! Right when we walked into the room, we felt like we were at home. It was so cozy and comfortable, especially with the fireplace. The location of this hotel is very calm and quiet and we ended up driving into town to see the aquarium and pier (only a 10 minute drive or so). The staff was also very friendly checking in/out. We'd definitely stay here in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern Arizona

Quiet, close to beach, nearby walking

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Quiet, peaceful, near enough to town but not in it, easy driving access to all areas.
Cons: The bed - just uncomfortable. Not sure what to do about a small bathroom.
Location: Pacific Grove is one of our favorite destinies. Quiet, close to Monterey and Carmel. Wonderful area to get our 'ocean' fix.
The hotel is nicely placed just one block from the bay waters and about two blocks from the famous lighthouse. If you are a walker, the walk into town is fairly easy with only a minor incline both ways. Or take the time to walk the road along the beach to lover's point and back into town. The rooms are pleasant, albeit a bit stuffy even during cool weather. A ceiling fan would be very helpful. The bed in our room was unusual and not very comfortable - a nice size king but felt like straw filled and the cover underneath the sheets were very loud every time we moved. The bathroom was VERY small although nicely appointed. A very large shower with beautiful tile. But trying to do anything using the mirror over the sink was near impossible because if you lifted your right arm, you hit your elbow on the wall. The area is very quiet. So nothing to disturb your sleep from the outside. Surprisingly, not much 'nature' either. Never heard crickets and only once what I think was a bird. A good place for one to three days. Otherwise, probably feels cramped.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of those well kept secrets

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Well kept, great staff, and uber convenient to all I wanted to visit. I especially like the park like, residential area that is Pacific Grove.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Sunset Inn

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Clean and efficient. Friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Excellent location for the Monterey area in California
Excellent stay. Very pleasant staff, room clean and quiet. Hugo and Alicia Keim
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Quiet Hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
I liked this hotel because it was quiet and had plenty of parking. It is also in the perfect location away from the hustle and bustle, but is in close proximity to Monterey and 17 Mile Drive. My only complaint is that although the room is cozy with nice decor, clean floors, and includes a great gas fireplace, it needs some improvements. What I mean by that is the door frames and closet door were dirty, there was a daddy long legs spider right behind the head of the bed frame, and the tub area looked like it needed a proper scrubbing. All in all, would I stay here again? Yes. But would it be my first choice? No, probably not.