Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bay area, CA

Very good Motel!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, spacious, quiet, excellent location
Cons: More space in the breakfast area.
Location: Close to Carmel, 17 mile drive, Point Lobos
The motel was super clean- much cleaner then any 5 star I stayed in. The room was spacious - it was critical because me and my spouse traveled with our 2 kids. The room had 2 sinks!! Very practical.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Basic clean motel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Basic, clean, cheap and comfortable motel. 17 Mile drive is about 5.mins drive away and Monterey is really close too. Towells super thin but thar's just a very small thing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and clean - convenient location.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Stayed only one night / liked the breakfast arrangement and friendly office staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and easy

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Really easy and cheap room that was really nice and one of our best rooms on a 10 day trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place short drive from town

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Super comfy room, clean, nice staff, decent brekkie but no waffle maker! Not walking distance to town though-a 5-10 min drive. Would stay again if passing through.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: Customer Service
Terrible experience. I will not recommend this to anyone I know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Osos

Nice clean hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. The staff were friendly and the room was very clean and nice.
We took two of our grandchildren to Monterey Bay Aquarium and picked this hotel to stay in for 2 nights. We were greeted by friendly staff who checked us in right away. When we entered our room and were surprised how clean and big the room was. The children liked the TV too. We walked to the Mall. Breakfast the next day was great. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Renate, We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Monterey Bay Aquarium. Your wonderful feedback will be shared with our team, I am certain this will inspire everyone to stay committed in our goal for excellence. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Kind regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Basic, clean and comfortable w/great staff

Posted Dec 31, 2016
This is a clean, comfortable motel located on a major thoroughfare, next to many other similar motels. The location is convenient, but noisy from the busy traffic. The bed was comfortable, but the rest of the furniture was dated and the chairs needed a good cleaning. The room had everything you need plus a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. There's a wall unit heater/air conditioner that's thermostat controlled. The motel was fully booked the night I was there and there was plenty of parking. You will hear your fellow guests as the parking area is adjacent to the rooms and can be noisy. The breakfast was continental. Coffee, juices, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereals, toast waffles and sweet rolls. There is a large mall with a movie theatre, Starbucks and several restaurants right across the street from the motel. It's also conveniently located within a short drive to Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay, the 17 Mile Drive, Carmel by the Sea, Pacific Grove and Asilomar. I stayed after a day trip to Point Lobos. The one standout for me was the staff. Very kind and helpful. I locked my keys in my car (along with my purse and phone) and the Manager allowed me to use his cellphone to call for help and then advised me when the towing company texted his phone with updates on their arrival. I would stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear NB, I am glad that you were pleased with the services you received during your visit and plan on staying with us again although there were small issues you experienced. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, this will help us further improve our services and serve you better on your next visit. Kind regards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Bad experience from the begining. Not worth investing more time on this subject. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xx
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I regret that you were displeased with your experience here in our hotel. I escalated your review , our management team will verify your stay with us in order to address your feedback accordingly. Thank you for your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, good staff, go price

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Everything except the window AC.
Cons: The window AC is noisy.
Location: We went dinner at the Old Fisherman Whart Grotto.
Very satisfied with this hotel and will definitely book Super 8 again and again. Monterey is not big so everywhere is close. Room is big, clean, quiet and comfort. Staff is very nice. With breakfast included, the price is very fair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience and feedback about your visit at our hotel. I apologize for the oversight on the AC unit, I will send request to have this checked and corrected. Please inform our front desk staff for your concerns on your next visit. We hope to see you again soon.