Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Best price for the clean and acceptable basics.

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Price and cleanliness
Cons: Larger space for breakfast.
Location: Close to all the activities available in Monterey and Carmel.
We were looking for just the basics for one night and that's what we got at an excellent price compared to other places.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Cons: The bed was very lunpy could use a new matterss. although it was soft
Room was very nice. Was right across from bowling alley so made it very convient. Was close to Wharf, and highway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice and comfortable

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: was convienent
Cons: no improvements
Location: golf
was only there 1 night so don't have much fa an experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Okay for the Price

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Spacious bathroom.
Cons: Too many to mention. Don't go during Concours week.
Well, it's not exactly the Ritz, but the room was clean, the bathroom spacious, and for the price in Monterey, under $200 during Concours week it was good. Downsides: fly over zone for the airport, tiny lobby for breakfast, lousy breakfast, only three pillows for two people, not-so-great part of town. Upsides: we slept well,and that's worth alot! There are two Super 8's in Monterey, and this is not the nicer one; be forewarned.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

STAY AWAY. You are not welcome here.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Hotel condition is below average comparing to others at this level. Room is small and outdated, but the bathroom is awkwardly big. There is no extra power outlet. We had to unplug a lamp and and the coffee maker to charge our phones. Water at the sink is slow, water pressure at the shower is too much. The towels need to be replaced as they are not white anymore. And where do they get those super rough toilet paper from? My worst experience was with the front desk Indian lady who appeared to be the manager and/or owner. When I went to check-in with my niece, she said 'good evening' with a straight face. She didn't look too happy when I told her that we had two adults and two children in each of the two rooms that we were staying. Unlike other hotels that we had stayed the few nights before, she asked me to write down my license plate number. I said I needed to go outside to check the plate. She said, "You don't know you plate number?" It didn't sound she was joking. I looked at her, "It's rental car." What kind of attitude is that, and you are in the service business? That wasn't it, when it was done, she said,"close the door when you go out." She literally TOLD me to close the door for her. When we went to get the breakfast the next morning in the tiny front office, we were greeted with that same emotionless 'good morning' from the same mean lady. She was staring at us the whole while we tried to fix our breakfast. At times I thought she was gonna jump over the counter to
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodland, Ca

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Good for convenience to surrounding hot spots...Fishermen's Warf, Carmel, Missions, and the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norway

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Good hotel with the cost taken in consideration, and the Internet coverage is very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond

Good Inexpensive hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: It was a clean hotel and we got a good night sleep. Quiet and very little odor.
Cons: A better breakfast and more breakfast tables.
Location: We visited numerous beaches but the BEST BEACH is in Carmel on Beach Street. Running water bathrooms instead of an outhouse with a chemical toilet.
Made a last minute decision to stay overnight at Monterey and hotel rates varied between cheap and expensive. My wife and I decided to get the cheapest since we just needed a place to sleep. The good: (1) interior condition was much better than expected. That is, it was clean and the room did not need any renovation. (2) bed was comfortable. That is, not too hard or too soft. (3) More amenities than expected. That is, Cable TV, refrigerator, in room coffee, hair dryer. (4) We asked for an extra blanket and the manager gave us an extra blanket. (5) Got a good night sleep. The bad: (1) Refrigerator was noisy and I ended up pulling the plug at night. (2) check-in time is 2:00 PM with no exceptions. (3) Breakfast room only had seating for 6 and we ended eating breakfast in our room Breakfast consists of milk, OJ, coffee, hot water, cereal, toast with butter and jam, packaged waffles, packaged sweet rolls, packaged hot cereal. (4) worst pillows ever. No support and feels like a zillion people used it. This will teach us not to bring our own pillows. Recommended for travelers on a very tight budget and low expectations. Would I come here again? Yes but only if my budget is super tight. Motel 6 would have been better but they wanted more money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sonora, Ca

Clean, friendly staff. Small room. No pool.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
This hotel was OK. My biggest complaint is not with the hotel but with expedia. The photos of the hotel I thought I was booking was not the hotel I was booked in. The pics of the exterior, the lobby, the rooms, the pool- were not of the hotel I stayed in. The hotel I stayed and did not even have a pool! Very disappointing!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our clean rooms and the service. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Old and small room. The cafeteria offers only bread and cereal.