Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

terrible customer service

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The attitude of the couple that manage the hotel are terrible. They are so rude,no smile,no appreciation nor helpful. You cannot touch the button of the toaster to adjust the darkness of the toast. When we tried to double toast it, they swear to us. You can only use the microwave for 5 minutes maximum even though no one is in the breakfast area. never been treat like this in a service industry. Even the janitor smile to us (I think she also feels that they are unreasonable) when they warned us not to use the microwave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
The staff was awesome. We showed up a little before check-in and she was able to get a room ready for us. Room was clean. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Eric, Hotel Management
We wanted to thank you for staying with us at the Super 8 Monterey and taking the time to leave us a review. We really pride ourselves on providing a good value in the Monterey area. We're glad you had a pleasant stay and would love to host you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Rooms were clean and comfortable. A bit on the small side, but still great. Staff was slow but helpful with questions we had. Location of the hotel was a 15 minute drive to downtown Monterey. We would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for the sharing your experience! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have you with us again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

clean room, with very simple breakfast

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: clean
Cons: staff not quite friendly, especially the old lady after front desk
ok to stay for that price basically, clean room is normal with simple
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for the sharing your experience! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have you with us again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Clean and price is ok

Posted Sep 23, 2017
In general, with the price, the hotel is acceptable. Everything is normal nothing too good or too bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have you with us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Just what we needed.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Clean room, friendly staff, good location close to wharf and aquarium.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review of our property! I'm glad that our property offers everything you need. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Close to Monterey Airport

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Clean, basic hotel, easy access from Monterey Airport. Room was modern and well-maintained. Air conditioner worked well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for the sharing your experience! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have you with us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Leandro CA

Super 8 on Fremont Ave

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: clean and quiet
Cons: the door bolt wasn't a good fit - hard to engage
Location: within walking distance of Fairgrounds, close to downtown and Fisherman's Wharf, Denny's across the street from the motel
clean and quiet, close to Fairgrounds, Denny's, downtown and Fisherman/s Wharf
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for the sharing your experience! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have you with us again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Sad, save your $$$$

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The super 8 pictures looked nice like it had been updated, plus ad stated it was remodeled...it has not....a new comforter & nightstand does not constitute "update"! We booked online a two queen bed room, the beds were size Full's NOT queens (I measured) my husband is 6'2 200lbs tall/medium build & I'm petite at 5'2 125lbs and we both had a hard time fitting?!!!! There was mold all along the windows and one of the beds was pushed so far up to air conditioner it blocked it from being usable. The location was fine, close to aquarium and cannerey row but still have to drive to it and park etc. if I had to do it again I would stay in the town over (sun city, I thk) and pay the same to stay in a nicer "hotel" instead of a low rent motel!! Hotel managers also give you the dirtiest looks if god forbid you decide to go get a Eggo/danish roll in the morning! which is included in your stay but not worth it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for the recent review. I apologize that not every part of your stay with us was up to your satisfaction. We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration to help improve our hotel. We hoped you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Monterey.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels