Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great hotel.... Great Hospitality!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: There was everything to like about this hotel. The coziness and cleanliness of the rooms to the wonderful garden type setting in the heart of Carmel.
Cons: Our experience was special due to the caring staff and wonderful place to stay. No improvements needed.
Location: The location is right near the downtown Carmel shopping district. The Hog's Breath Inn Restaurant is one block away. Very good location.
The hospitality at the hotel was top notch! When we mentioned it was our anniversary celebration, the man at the front desk said that he was going to bring us some wine on ice. He did, plus even lit the fireplace in our room.... The room was beautiful and our stay wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, Florida

Posted Jun 5, 2017
I had a wonderful stay with my son and daughter at the hotel. It is a little gem within a short walking distance to the downtown of Carmel. We had a fireplace in our room which we used every evening. Loved the ambiance so cozy. We also had a kitchen where we ate the complimentary breakfast that they had neatly packed in a cooler outside our door every morning. The staff was very accommodating providing extra water bottles. Cookies in the lobby provided were delicious and a pleasant perk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Californai

Wonderful experience at a lovely friendly hotel.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, room, grounds, hotel staff.
Cons: Maybe a computer for guests?
Location: You can walk to Hogs Breath Inn a local favorite for a place to eat or just have a drink.
From check in to check out friendly and helpful. Able to walk to a lot of places. No computer but they gladly printed out my boarding pass. Breakfast served to room a real delight. Have already told friends about this hotel and said they need to stay here when in Carmel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great place to stay

Posted May 27, 2017
Friendly staff, Good size room with period feel. Facilities adequate. Quiet area with easy access to town centre. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful, quiet and quaint

Posted May 25, 2017
Location: Absolutely worth it to hike Point Lobos park! We saw deer, seals, sea lions, birds, squirrels, bunnies and the most beautiful scenery.
This is a beautiful inn with a quiet lovely garden. Perfect for those who like to stroll the shops and restaurants. It is a fair walk from the ocean so bring comfy shoes. Breakfast was continental and coffee was not available until 8am which is something we believe they should reconsider however the Carmel Roasting Coffee House was awesome downtown! Overall a lovely place. For pet owners, do not have any hesitation in bringing your pet---there is amazing facilities for pets both at this hotel and in their entire town!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Within blocks of shops, restaurants and beach.

Posted May 20, 2017
This quaint inn is within a few blocks of everything Carmel has to offer. A warm fireplace in the lobby, heated outdoor pool, and a continental breakfast and newspaper delivered to your room each morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Old but nice hotel.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Nice room. Nice bed. Nice bathroom with fan and window. Shower I didn't have bend down to get under the spray. Everything was clean. Helpful staff.
Location: Close to downtown with nice restaurants.
Spent two nights for the Big Sur Marathon. Arrived a night before marathon and check-in was smooth. Since we were getting up early the staff delivered our complimentary breakfast the night before. The room was nice and clean. After the marathon it was nice to come back and rest before heading out to one of the nice restaurants in town that were within walking distance. We ate at AW Shucks which is a nice oyster bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Cute location but nothing to rave about

Posted Apr 30, 2017
My friends and I were driving down the coast from SF to LAX and decided to add Carmel to our stop. The check-in process was great and including free parking. When we walked into the room, we noticed it was very dark and didn't have many lights. The carpet was dark and old and bathroom a bit out dated. There was no A/C but fortunately it was nice that night that we opened the window. On a positive note, the linens were clean and bed very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
I would have rated the hotel higher if it had a a little more space in the bathroom, the bed didn't squeak and all lightbulbs were working. It has a lovely pool and garden area. Fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, and condiments are delivered to your room every morning! The location is great because of close walking to downtown but not on a busy street. This is a pet friendly inn and I loved the Dutch doors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, pet friendly and welcoming

Posted Apr 22, 2017
The location in the village where restaurants, shops, beach and parks are all walking distance is perfect. Hotel and staff are very pet friendly attracting guests who are too.