Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You can walk to everything!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Close to everything. Very comfortable.
Cons: Bathroom needs a little updating.
Location: You can walk to everything.
Close to everything. Very friendly staff. Enjoyed our whole stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great affordable hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This Inn is in walking distance to downtown and beaches! The room was very clean and comfortable! We had a problem with our direct tv on our first night and staff was very attentive and had it fixed the next morning! They drop off coolers by your door each morning with the paper and breakfast consisting of yogurt, fruit, cereal and pastries! We would definitely return to this Inn!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L, Sacramento, Ca

5 stars as dog friendly with a convenient lawn

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Comfy & clean rooms - don't need the Ritz when traveling with a dog who might come back from Carmel Beach all sandy. Fireplace in room, breakfast in an insulated picnic bag, Coffee and cookies in lobby. Super convenient lawn outside rooms with poop bags and trash can. Adequate off street parking & convenient to cafes and the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Initially the room had a musty snell. We had to turn up the heat to get rid of the smell. The room was clean but very small. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was very tight. The breakfast was less than desirable. It was delivered to our door in a cooler. We had no choice in what was brought. There were 2 of us. There were 2 different things of everything- 2 cereals, 2 pastries, 2 fruit, 2 yogurtshower, 2 can juices, 1 small pint of milk. It would have been nice if we could have made our own selections on a card and then had that delivered to the door rather t Han someone else making our decision. It was hard to find as the website does not give an actual address. This makes it difficulty to plug into a gps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent Inn

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Super comfort, tidy, nice, relax accommodation. If I go again, definitely will choose this inn again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy, Convenient, Comfortable Stay

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Carmel is pretty close for us, so we always wonder if staying the night is really worth it. But a night at Svendsgaard's was really worthwhile. The hotel is just a couple blocks up from the Ocean Ave shopping area, along the path of Carmel's wonderful galleries and cafes. The manager upgraded our room to a small suite because the first room we got was beside a staff area that we worried might be noisy. He was incredibly gracious about making the change, and the new room was perfect. There are fresh, warm cookies, coffee, tea, and cocoa in the lobby at all times. So, even though it was a bit chilly and misty, we were able to come back to a sweet snack. A generous continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. The bed is very, very comfortable. We had a gas wood stove in our room, which was warm and cozy. We'd certainly recommend Svendsgaard's to travelers near and far.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Ocean, the main street in Carmel

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was okay. You are paying for location, which is just a few blocks from Ocean, the main street in Carmel. Breakfast was delivered to the room in a cooler, and this was a definite plus. The property is quite old....could use some remodeling and furniture updates. Here is a BIG NEGATIVE: I chose the "pet friendly" room, but discovered that "pet friendly" only means you can bring your dog(s) and keep them locked in a crate while inside of the room. Not permitted on beds. Most pet friendly hotels provide a sheet or large blanket to cover the bed. Not this one. My dogs are my babies. They sleep with me. This did not go over well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Nov 22, 2016
This is a very nice hotel ideally located. Very reasonably priced. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Customer Service

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on CheapTickets
From the time we entered the inn's office to check out, we experienced the best in customer service. The staff was very professional and since we were celebrating our honeymoon there on our journey up the California coast, it meant the world to us to have an extra special experience. It was a very enjoyable stay and we would do it all over again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent selection when so many options available. Everyone was great. Walking distance to everything.