Ratings based on 1,865 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey,CA

Nice hotel. Close to the beach.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: I was imoressed with the friendly staff
Cons: The building and some furniture need repairs
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of coffee shops and restaurants.
The room was comfortable. The staff were cheerful and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, California

Historic Downtown

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Charming and located downtown.
Cons: Outside noise.
Location: Farmers market every Tuesday evening. Great restaurants within walking distance.
Hotel is right downtown; close to shops and restaurants. Fantastic farmers market Tuesday evening. Rooms were clean and charming. Staff very accommodating. I had to move rooms due to noise on the street - seems every night is party night in dt Monterey. The new room was updated and included fireplace, fridge, and microwave - not included in previous room in the historic wing. Hate to complain, but after only getting maybe four hour of sleep the night before I was frustrated and disappointed to hear a constant mechanical humming coming from outside my room. Slept better but intermittently. The hotel is very charming and clean, but next visit I will choose room location carefully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oakland CA

Awesome Hotel and Staff!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: We liked the historical feel and the modern amenities the hotel provided.
Cons: I would suggest updating the windows to better mute outdoor noise and maybe providing some eggs and waffles (hot and fresh) at the breakfast buffet
Location: Eat at the Poke Lab (fresh fish!) and Randy's sandwich shop (Calamari Sandwich was awesome!). Walk to the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, and downtown.
The experience was great! Our room was upgraded to one of the historical suites with views of the water and docked cruise ship. The amenities were also great from the small, but sufficient workout room, to the clean hot tub spa, which was empty every time I went, to their breakfast buffet. Hotel was very close to restaurants, bars, and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Buy the Aquarium tickets from the front desk, which is for two consecutive days! Its great because you can take your time at the exhibits and just enjoy the abundant sea life inside the aquarium and out by the ocean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

It worked, but could be better

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Above
Cons: See above
Location: Caffe Trieste - best food, atmosphere and coffee. Long walk from Lovers Beach back the hotel and enjoy the outdoors! Did I mention Caffe Trieste?
I loved the European feel and it worked well for the time I was there. A few things they could do better: - Communicate via your website (prior to booking) and even the confirmation email that there's construction going on at your hotel. I couldn't sleep in when I wanted to on vacation and that was frustrating. - Inform your guests when you check them in that the gym is downstairs, and that you have to get water and ice from the front desk. This might be an improvement for the future to either notify you clients upon arrival or actually put ice machines on each floor, and a few bottles of water in each room. - Put screens in your windows. - Check all the shampoo/conditioner/body wash wall containers to see if they work. Mine didn't and looked like it hadn't been changed in a long long time. Also, check that the lamps work before the guests arrive. One of mine didn't. - Your hotel is a bit difficult to navigate if you're in the historic part, so helping guests to their room the first time might help. - Breakfast - providing something warm like eggs would be great! A few good things: - Conveniently located in downtown. Loved how walkable it was. - Most of the hotel staff was super helpful and smiling. - Loved Caffe Trieste across the street, the farmers market and the feel of Monterey. - Glad The Hotel Monterey offered free breakfast. I really did love the European feel. Reminded me of Italy again, but I hope you take this feedback and improve!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Chelsea Keen, Monterey Hotel,Assistant Gnl. Mngr., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you felt communication regarding a few items could be better, and that this affected your stay. Unfortunately, it is not the Hotel doing construction but rather it is the City of Monterey doing construction, and we don't have much of a say in how they choose to complete the construction (permitted they act between business hours). I do agree that we can certainly do better when it comes to amenities available at the hotel, in fact, we are awaiting a guest information book that I hope will improve guest's experience. As we are a registered Historic Building there are a few things we are not allowed to change as it would affect the structure of the Hotel- the screens are one of these items unfortunately (thank goodness Monterey is not afflicted with mosquitoes!). I appreciate you taking the time to relay this feedback, and will absolutely follow up on the items I am able to improve upon. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma Ca

So historic

Posted Oct 1, 2017
I love the feel of this place. The girl at the front desk was polite and well informed of the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Chelsea Keen, Monterey Hotel,Assistant Gnl. Mngr., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Was nice. Historical building, seems they are in process of making improvements....our greatest issue was the parking situation, we managed with that. We chose least expensive and for that we did very well, the room was small which is fine but there is a huge armoire that held the small old tv an some shelves and closet space on other side, not much you can do with a small room... made good of it and enjoyed. Staff is very helpful and kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Chelsea Keen, Monterey Hotel,Assistant Gnl. Mngr., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Came for a family wedding. They definitely will not let you check-in a minute early. Romantic hotel - facilities a little dated though. Old 19 inch tv. We enjoyed our room overlooking Alvarado but may be a bit noisy for those that prefer quiet. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Chelsea Keen, Monterey Hotel,Assistant Gnl. Mngr., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is true that early check in's are a bit tough, and are subject to availability- I'm so sorry we couldn't get you in early to get ready! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from omaha ne

Hotel stay

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Great location ; easy access to cafes and wharf. Room was small but liked the historic vibe. Great free breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Chelsea Keen, Monterey Hotel,Assistant Gnl. Mngr., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thiensville, WI

Historic & charming hotel in midst of Monterey.

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Lovely historic hotel in the midst of Monterey California. Still undergoing renovation but won't affect your stay. Elegant wooden banisters and stained glass. Updated bathrooms with European flair. Very Clean. Comfortable beds and delightful breakfast. Excellent late-nite dining across the street at Montrio.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Chelsea Keen, Monterey Hotel,Assistant Gnl. Mngr., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Good experience at a fairly priced average hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The Monterey Hotel (on Calle Principale) is a nice old hotel that offers a decent accommodation at a reasonable price including a continental breakfast. The room was actually a suite and everything was okay or better. The breakfast was good and the small fitness room was fine.. There aren't much in the way of amenities and a few things were in disrepair like one of 2 elevators. I had an interior room facing a small space (far too small to be called a courtyard) with a wall a few feet from the window. I was on the second floor and could clearly hear chatter on the street and seagulls in the very early morning. I could also clearly hear people in the room next door even though they were speaking at a normal volume for conversation. That said, the bed was comfortable, the place was clean and the staff was friendly. I had a pleasant stay and the price was very reasonable. I would stay there again despite the limitations and I would recommend it as a good value hotel.