Ratings based on 1,576 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Bay

Not worth the money

Posted Dec 5, 2017
I booked this hotel last minute on Expedia for Sunday night for $110. It looks very exclusive and high end from outside so I wanted to treat myself as I visited Monterey first time. My room was on historical side on the 4th floor which was not easy to get.and no signs at all. Room was small and outdated with a tv from 90,s and no view. Noisy in the morning coming from the street with mediocre breakfast. No parking either but I was lucky to get one right outside and it was free on Sunday. The hotel was clean and had a character. I wouldn't look somewhere else for that kind of money next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turlock

Nice Hotel downtown, easy to walk to the Wharf.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Location and the historic feel made for an enjoyable experience.
Just had one night to be in town, but because everything is so close, we lost no time looking for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Chelsea, Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted Nov 28, 2017
This hotel is in an excellent location. We were able to walk to most downtown Monterey shops or restaurants. The hotel was clean, and they had breakfast for guests which was pretty awesome. We had a fireplace in our room as well as windows that were overlooking the downtown streets. I really enjoyed people watching from our 4th floor room. Parking was a bit pricey, but there is public parking for $7 really close to the hotel, so it wasn't really a problem. I would stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Hotel Close to Monterey Fisherman's Wharf

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The location was central which made it easy to walk to many different locations
Cons: Need to update their building windows. My room was in the historic wing facing a main street and I could hear all the noise outside.
Location: It was a 10 minute walk to Wharf and a 20 minute walk to Cannery Row. Public Parking Lot options were two blocks away.
Monterey Hotel is located at the corner of two main streets that allow for shopping, dinning and access to several transportation options. The outside of the building has a very nice historic feel, but inside the rooms are much more compact than one would expect. The staff is very nice. Wi Fi was not accessible in all parts of the building even though it is free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Good a decent rate through Expedia. Check in went smooth, room was nice and bed was comfy. My view was the window of another room. There was a sound of constant water running. The pipes must have been above my room. I just slept with the TV on and I was exhausted anyways. The water pressure was poor but the hotel was by everything. Location was the best perk. I would def stay again next time I'm in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Last minute Thanksgiving

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Location: Great Restuarant - Montrio across the street.
At the last minute, I didn’t have to work on Thanksgiving. Friends in Pacific Grove had invited me to dinner, but I needed a place to stay at the last minute as well. A quick Expedia search popped up a deal for the Monterey Hotel. Booked it. When I arrived in Monterey stopped at the hotel a little before 3pm and they let me check in so I could go directly to my friends and not have to request a late check in. The room was small, but it was just me, so that didn’t matter, it was clean, quiet, and comfort. The heating/air conditioner was noisy but I didn’t need either. Coffee was good, tho I would recommend using bottled water, Monterey’s water is overly treated. Water pressure and temperature was fine even on the 3rd floor. Thanks Expedia for a nice Thanksgiving memory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey,CA

Nice hotel. Close to the beach.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: I was imoressed with the friendly staff
Cons: The building and some furniture need repairs
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of coffee shops and restaurants.
The room was comfortable. The staff were cheerful and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, California

Historic Downtown

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Charming and located downtown.
Cons: Outside noise.
Location: Farmers market every Tuesday evening. Great restaurants within walking distance.
Hotel is right downtown; close to shops and restaurants. Fantastic farmers market Tuesday evening. Rooms were clean and charming. Staff very accommodating. I had to move rooms due to noise on the street - seems every night is party night in dt Monterey. The new room was updated and included fireplace, fridge, and microwave - not included in previous room in the historic wing. Hate to complain, but after only getting maybe four hour of sleep the night before I was frustrated and disappointed to hear a constant mechanical humming coming from outside my room. Slept better but intermittently. The hotel is very charming and clean, but next visit I will choose room location carefully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oakland CA

Awesome Hotel and Staff!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: We liked the historical feel and the modern amenities the hotel provided.
Cons: I would suggest updating the windows to better mute outdoor noise and maybe providing some eggs and waffles (hot and fresh) at the breakfast buffet
Location: Eat at the Poke Lab (fresh fish!) and Randy's sandwich shop (Calamari Sandwich was awesome!). Walk to the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, and downtown.
The experience was great! Our room was upgraded to one of the historical suites with views of the water and docked cruise ship. The amenities were also great from the small, but sufficient workout room, to the clean hot tub spa, which was empty every time I went, to their breakfast buffet. Hotel was very close to restaurants, bars, and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Buy the Aquarium tickets from the front desk, which is for two consecutive days! Its great because you can take your time at the exhibits and just enjoy the abundant sea life inside the aquarium and out by the ocean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

It worked, but could be better

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Above
Cons: See above
Location: Caffe Trieste - best food, atmosphere and coffee. Long walk from Lovers Beach back the hotel and enjoy the outdoors! Did I mention Caffe Trieste?
I loved the European feel and it worked well for the time I was there. A few things they could do better: - Communicate via your website (prior to booking) and even the confirmation email that there's construction going on at your hotel. I couldn't sleep in when I wanted to on vacation and that was frustrating. - Inform your guests when you check them in that the gym is downstairs, and that you have to get water and ice from the front desk. This might be an improvement for the future to either notify you clients upon arrival or actually put ice machines on each floor, and a few bottles of water in each room. - Put screens in your windows. - Check all the shampoo/conditioner/body wash wall containers to see if they work. Mine didn't and looked like it hadn't been changed in a long long time. Also, check that the lamps work before the guests arrive. One of mine didn't. - Your hotel is a bit difficult to navigate if you're in the historic part, so helping guests to their room the first time might help. - Breakfast - providing something warm like eggs would be great! A few good things: - Conveniently located in downtown. Loved how walkable it was. - Most of the hotel staff was super helpful and smiling. - Loved Caffe Trieste across the street, the farmers market and the feel of Monterey. - Glad The Hotel Monterey offered free breakfast. I really did love the European feel. Reminded me of Italy again, but I hope you take this feedback and improve!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Chelsea Keen, Monterey Hotel,Assistant Gnl. Mngr., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you felt communication regarding a few items could be better, and that this affected your stay. Unfortunately, it is not the Hotel doing construction but rather it is the City of Monterey doing construction, and we don't have much of a say in how they choose to complete the construction (permitted they act between business hours). I do agree that we can certainly do better when it comes to amenities available at the hotel, in fact, we are awaiting a guest information book that I hope will improve guest's experience. As we are a registered Historic Building there are a few things we are not allowed to change as it would affect the structure of the Hotel- the screens are one of these items unfortunately (thank goodness Monterey is not afflicted with mosquitoes!). I appreciate you taking the time to relay this feedback, and will absolutely follow up on the items I am able to improve upon. We look forward to seeing you again soon!