Ratings based on 1,110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great value. Great location.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: location. nice cozy room.
Location: right in the heart of coffee shops, pubs, restaurants and walking distance to the wharf.
enjoyable stay in a lovely old building right in the center of everything
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was perfect, good deal for the price

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Its charm
Cons: The overall cleanliness and attention to detail. It was by no means bad, it felt clean enough, but it didn't feel as fresh as some other hotels do.
Location: The location was great - downtown street lined with lit-up trees; the restaurants are buzzing. Easy walk to the beach and about 30 mins to Cannery Row
The hotel was very charming and the staff was nice. The room was a little dusty, rather on the smaller side, and the bed wasn't incredibly comfortable but it's an older hotel and all to be expected. The location was great though and very worth it - it's right on the most lively street in the less tourist-y part of Monterey, the cute historic downtown part. The restaurants on the street were buzzing and we could walk from the hotel to the beach and all the way to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Not a luxury hotel by any means, but a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Lovely hotel in great location. Very old so quite noisy and no parking but on the upside great breakfast and awesome room. Water pressure was great and I would say great value at around 140 dollars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Undergoing refurbishment, needs new carpeting, a/c, elevator.
Location: Downtown, easy access to everything
The Monterey was nice but was undergoing refurbishment and it needs new a/c, carpeting and elevators.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Very nice historic hotel near the beach.

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: We appreciate the historic nature of the hotel. Large upscale bathroom for a 1904 hotel. Small room as expected for a hotel built at that time.
Cons: Air conditioning would be nice. However, the room was very comfortable with window cracked open.
Location: Old Monterey, cannery row, board walk, pebble beach, 17 mile drive and Big Sur was not too far away.
Great location. We were able to run to cannery row and along the board walk from our hotel. Great continental breakfast as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel but too much noise

Posted Aug 11, 2015
The service was awesome with friendly staff members. Only downside was the very loud seagulls who were outside the bedroom window all night long which was worse than car alarms going off. I was wearing ear plugs, but that still did not keep out the noise. Also, too much noise from drunken people leaving the close by bars/restaurants. Since there is no airconditioning, the room gets very hot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: The staff was nice.
Cons: Kill the seagulls...LOL Get an elevator Provide free parking
Location: Nice location for good restaurants.
Although the location of the hotel was nice, close to restaurants and the wharf, there were some pretty significant drawbacks staying there. First, the room itself was extremely crowded with no place to sit except for the bed or floor. The bed was comfortable but the seagulls that surround the hotel are so noisy that it is very difficult to get a good nights rest. Our room was on the third floor and with no elevator, walking three flights of stairs was troublesome. The hotel has no guest parking and street parking is in 2 hour allotments. That made finding parking very difficult and was something to always worry about. They did offer parking in a lot a couple blocks up for 17.50 a night. Unfortunately, I would probably not recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sonoma,Ca

Nice place , this is our second time staying here

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: customer service
Cons: elevator would be nice
Location: close to everything
We love this hotel and it's old world charm and is close to fabulous food and all of Monterey's tourist attractions. We also love the great customer service ,they treat you like a king !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

In a great location but under construction

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. There are different parking options which include valet and a parking lot down the street. The staff i
Cons: The downsides included we were on the 3rd floor and the elevator was not in service so we carried everything up and down and took the stairs each time
Location: There are coffee shops and restaurants next door and you can walk to the pier.
The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. There are different parking options which include valet and a parking lot down the street. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was beautiful, however it was a bit warm. Free continental breakfast was a treat. The downsides included we were on the 3rd floor and the elevator was not in service so we carried everything up and down and took the stairs each time. Lastly, the hotel itself was being remodeled which impacted the lobby stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location downtown.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
We asked for a quiet room in the back and were not disturbed by noise, that was a common complaint. Hotel is quaint and Staff friendly. Overall pleasant experience.