Ratings based on 1,734 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for walking

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Furniture and a little noisy.
Location: We were there a very short time but there are a lot of good restaurants, beaches, cannery row, and Pacific Grove is a little gem.
Spent one night on road trip. Room was reasonable and clean. Bed was comfortable. Location was good for walking to restaurants, shops and water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove Ca

Room smaller than expected

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The bed and convenient location
Cons: The staff needs to be more aware of what each person is doing, so things get done properly and fast. I
Location: Location was great, and their were several places to see and eat at.
The staff at the hotel gave us the wrong room. They gave us a very small king size bed with no fireplace as indicated on my paper work. I had to bring that to their attention, and they showed us another room, which was great. A few minutes later they told us that room was already in use even though nobody was in there. They moved us to another room that had no view with several rooms under construction. The room had a fireplace, but still was smaller than expected. When we returned to our room at 4pm it was still not cleaned. We left our room that day at 11am. I had to request that our room be cleaned. I wish the hotel had free parking on the grounds instead of a parking garage that had to be valeted, or you took your car to the garage, and paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right Downtown.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Very close to Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and Aquarium. Lots of restaurants and stores within walking distance. Enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great location...the staff was friendly.. the seagulls are pretty loud but with enough alcohol you can sleep through them.. Over all I'd stay again..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Delightful hotel in the heart of Monterey

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Walkability and location in central Monterey.
Walking distance to nearly everything useful. We caught a live music show across the street at the theater after taking the bus to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Great stuff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

good hotel in town and near fisherman wharf.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: in down town
I fell that this hotel is not welcome the people. no one in lobby for a whale.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy Stay

Posted Jul 6, 2017
I really wanted to like the Monterey Hotel as it is in a great location, but because of its location it is a very noisy hotel. At night there was a great deal of noise right below our window, which included a lot of people partying. The staff is very nice and will do anything to make your stay more comfortable, and the hotel is nice, but the rooms are very small and the bathrooms are outdated. They do supply a great hand cream, but the soap and shampoo come out of dispenser and it takes forever to get enough to wash your hair and body. The rooms are clean and the beds are fairly comfortable, but they are small, the bathrooms even smaller, so it makes it tough to store suitcases etc. There isn't much storage, so you need to keep things in a suitcase and it's an ordeal to get to them in such a small space. The tv's are old fashion small ones, but there is cable. The location is perfect as anything you want to do or need is within walking distance, including the aquarium.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Downtown location with parking issues. The room is too small with only 3 pieces of old old furniture, and a small small bathroom. Definitely needs a update, especially the tv!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Great location!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The Monterey is a lovely reminder of what was. Smelled clean but rooms are a little small. The location is great; it's walking distance from the warf and public transportation. An overnight Parking is not on site but a parking garage is very close. A lot of street noise......but it's good value for your buck. If your on a tight budget this is a good choice. 😊
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Similar to a B & B

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Charming, like a bed & breakfast. Great location. Wifi was very slow and there is no free parking. Room was very clean and comfortable. No flat screen TV.