Ratings based on 1,081 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NV

Very clean; great location

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Great value.
Location: Easy walk to Alvarado St. I have walked as far as Domenico's on the wharf.
This is where I stay almost every time I come to Monterey, which is once or twice a month. Rooms are always clean. The bathrooms have been remodeled. The rooms are a huge improvement over what they used to be previously when owned by Travelodge. The free breakfast 7-10 a.m. offers make-your-own waffles, toast, muffins, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, fruit, and milk, juice, and coffee. The best thing about the Stevenson is its location. It is an easy walk to the Fisherman's Wharf and all the bars and restaurants on Alvarado St. If you want to get any closer, you will have to pay a lot more (like 3 or 4 times more!) at the Marriott or the Portola.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice room and comfortable bed.

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Good location, clean and good darkening shades on the windows.
Cons: More parking near check in
Location: Good location, close to restaurants, entertainment, and shops.
Friendly proprietor, easy and quick check in, but kind of tight parking in the check in area. Nice clean room but room 119 is kind of noisy as it is the end room by the bus stop. Good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2016
It was worth $90. Room was updated, slightly musty. Can't beat the price. Easy walk to wharf
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento ca

Close enough for walking

Posted Jan 3, 2016
It's not right on the water but, close enough to walk to fisherman's wharf and downtown, and a quick uber ride to cannery row. Check in was quick, had our choice of floors. We slept through breakfast every day but it was available. If you get a parking spot, just leave your car there and take a cab or uber. And, if you are just going to the wharf it is a short walk. My wife hates walking but we still got around well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice location, walking distance to shops & downtwn

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Add more parking spots
Location: Just find this hotel on Google maps, and then type "restaurants". you can see for yourself, there are plenty to do nearby.
This hotel/motel is nicely located close to all the good eating places in Monterey. The staff is very knowledgable and they were able to guide us on where to go. The staff is very courteous. This hotel however has very few parking spots, so if you find a spot, just leave your car and try walking or biking to your favorite spots. While I was bit skeptic about this place after reading the 1 and 2 star reviews on Expedia, after visiting this place, I am quite contempt with the categorization of this hotel/motel. Surely, this is not hyatt, but it has all the basics to make my stay enjoyable and relaxed and within my budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Loved the "cottage" feel.

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Staff warm, welcoming & clearly accommodating. Hotel older, yet appealing. Within walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. Really enjoyed the whole "ambiance" of the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deltona, FL

Close to everything!

Posted Dec 21, 2015
The room was clean, tastefully decorated and updated, flat screen TV, and great breakfast area! Everything is provided for you! Very nice staff!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Not bad.

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Nothing bad about this place, but would say you can find a bettter stay at one of the chain hotels up the street for cheaper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, California

Home away from home.

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: The location was ideal. It was near the places we wanted to go, and it was quiet -- at least at this time of year (December).
Cons: The heating/air conditioning unit got a bit confused, and the cold air came on more than once, despite outside temperatures in the 40's.
Location: It is within reasonable distance of the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Carmel isn't too far away, and the 17 Mile Drive is beautiful!
We just wanted a clean, comfortable place to stay at night. No frills needed because our entertainment was out in Monterey and Carmel. The Stevenson filled the bill, with the added plus of unusually friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Perfect location

Posted Dec 7, 2015
My family spent the weekend here. It's an ideal location for walking to restaurants, parks, pubs and perfectly situated for transit (trolley) stops. The room was small but clean and had everything we needed. Having 2 queen beds was wonderful for us and our kids. The complimentary breakfast was simple but just enough. The front desk staff was helpful and courteous and extremely accommodating for our needs. For the price you really can't beat The Stevenson.