Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel walking distance to downtown

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The hotel was very nice, very modern, the room was spacious and the beds super comfy, there were chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us, and it had all the amenities you can expect: robes, glasses, fridge, etc. No water though... and no AC, although we learned that hotels in Carmel don't have AC. They did provide a fan and that was great. The bathroom was very nice and comfortable and provided shampoo and shower gel. They also provided a lot of towels, I loved that. The complimentary breakfast was delicious.
Cons: The only bad thing was that I got a call before checking in asking how many people were in the room, I told them it was my husband and I and our two kids. The very rude lady complained that the expedia reservation only specified 2 people, so she was going to charge me additional for my kids. Sure enough when I got there they charged me $60 additional, I have never been charged for staying with my kids in a two queen beds room so be warned about that.
Location: We walked to our dinner reservation on Ocean ave, so you can just park at the hotel and walk around, great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Carmel is always wonderful. The staff was very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, CA

Beautiful Bali like hotel Carmel

Posted May 23, 2016
Beautiful and peaceful Bali-esk inn in gorgeous Carmel-by-the -Sea. Stunning waterfalls and the resident Inn cat great you as you pull into the parking area. Each room has its own fountain, hotel staff bring you to your room and place a real orchid in its wall holder by the front door and the decor is stunning . Quiet , peaceful and restful, perfect for a new and exhausted bride and groom. Being a practioner of Buddhism I thoroughly enjoyed the meditation garden, guests are encouraged to place a wish or prayer on a bamboo leaf in the Buddha fountain. The inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shops and tasting rooms , gorgeous tree-lined streets make the walk enjoyable . Only drawbacks -limited parking which the hotel staff quickly resolved and limited water views. The staff are courteous , attentive and informative. We are looking forward to a return stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ATL

Soothing retreat after hiking Big Sur

Posted May 18, 2016
The hotel is charming, not a cookie cutter Hilton or Hyatt. The rooms are scrupulously clean and the beds.....wow, I have never preferred a hotel bed over my own till now. Complete comfort. If you are someone who can't stand to be without room service and a gym, if you prefer crowds and lines, don't stay here. If character and cleanliness count, then hurry to book.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquil except refuse collection early morning!!

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Good parking, clean comfortable bed/room, very helpful staff and fabulous relaxing outdoor seating areas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shawnee, KS

Luxurious and conveniently located

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Felt like a mini resort. Absolutely beautiful.
Location: Plenty of charming restaurants and shops a short walk away. Take a short drive down to the beach and to Point Lobos for stunning views.
My friend and I were driving down the coast and stopped in Carmel for lunch. We loved it so much that we decided to book a hotel there that night. We found Tradewinds online and booked it and showed up on their doorstep 30 minutes later. The room wasn't ready yet, but they gave us maps of the area and suggestions on activities. We set out to Lobos Point per their suggestion - just a bit South of Carmel. Don't miss this stop! It's stunning! There were even baby sea lions playing on the beach when we were there! While there, I got a pleasant phone call from Tradewinds to let me know that the room was ready. After a bit more sight seeing, we headed back. The landscaping and sculptures at Tradewinds are gorgeous! It feels like an Asian themed resort in the middle of Carmel! Plenty of great restaurants and shops within walking distance. Beds were super comfortable. They have a porter carry your bags and show you to your room. The delicious chocolate covered strawberries and nuts were a treat! The bathroom and furnishings were beautiful! There's a cat that lives on the grounds named Sweetie who lives up to her name. We paid extra for the ocean view room. You can indeed see the ocean from your doorstep, but it's quite a ways away with many buildings and power lines between you. Not 100% sure that was worth paying extra for, but I certainly do not regret my decision to stay here. Would love to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Nice Hotel for a short stay. Rooms are well maintained .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Elegant accommodations with nice 'extra' touches.

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Personal note and chocolate covered strawberries were a very nice touch. Kimono's rather than bathrobes were as well. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. "View" is not worth the extra money, as it is from the hallway entrance and over the tops of buildings. The double/double room was a bit cramped and I do not recommend it if you are staying for more that a few nights. Our friend had the a King room with a balcony which was much more appropriate for the size of the rooms. The weather didn't permit the use of the fire pit, which was disappointing but I guess that just means that we will have to return to partake of that when we return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2016
We had an amazing stay. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful experience. We felt very relaxed and can't wait to go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Valley

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: More parking
Location: Great location, few blocks to Ocean street, Katy's for breakfast (1 1/2 block) close to great restaurants, easy access to highway.
Nice and quiet hotel few blocks from Ocean. Beautiful serene garden. Nice staff, private setting. Well appointed rooms. Great hotel to stay at while in Carmel, close to everything but far enough away when Carmel gets really busy...