Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Serene but cramped

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Expensive property--seemed to me strictly because of location location location. Room small, wifi spotty, breakfast ok--only proteins were hard boiled eggs and peanut butter. No deadbolt lock on doors. It was quiet and serene.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel walking distance to downtown

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The hotel was very nice, very modern, the room was spacious and the beds super comfy, there were chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us, and it had all the amenities you can expect: robes, glasses, fridge, etc. No water though... and no AC, although we learned that hotels in Carmel don't have AC. They did provide a fan and that was great. The bathroom was very nice and comfortable and provided shampoo and shower gel. They also provided a lot of towels, I loved that. The complimentary breakfast was delicious.
Cons: The only bad thing was that I got a call before checking in asking how many people were in the room, I told them it was my husband and I and our two kids. The very rude lady complained that the expedia reservation only specified 2 people, so she was going to charge me additional for my kids. Sure enough when I got there they charged me $60 additional, I have never been charged for staying with my kids in a two queen beds room so be warned about that.
Location: We walked to our dinner reservation on Ocean ave, so you can just park at the hotel and walk around, great location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue Wa

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
We loved it here! one thing that we would different is get the top most floor as we could hear the people above us on the phone walking around talking and we had ear plugs in. We sleep to 830 and they were up at 7 making way to much noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Carmel is always wonderful. The staff was very helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Galina from Los Gatos

Fantastic!

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was very nice...felt like home
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Terri

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tranquil Tradewinds

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant hotel, welcoming, nice patio area with water fountains, etc. Room comfortable. Only complaint is noise from other rooms - not very tranquil! Hear everything from upstairs (sounds like they're going to drop through the ceiling when they walk around (and the guests above me conducted a relay across the room at 3am), hear conversations, etc.). Maybe that's why there was soothing music playing in room on arrival! Very nice staff. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, CA

Beautiful Bali like hotel Carmel

Posted May 23, 2016
Beautiful and peaceful Bali-esk inn in gorgeous Carmel-by-the -Sea. Stunning waterfalls and the resident Inn cat great you as you pull into the parking area. Each room has its own fountain, hotel staff bring you to your room and place a real orchid in its wall holder by the front door and the decor is stunning . Quiet , peaceful and restful, perfect for a new and exhausted bride and groom. Being a practioner of Buddhism I thoroughly enjoyed the meditation garden, guests are encouraged to place a wish or prayer on a bamboo leaf in the Buddha fountain. The inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shops and tasting rooms , gorgeous tree-lined streets make the walk enjoyable . Only drawbacks -limited parking which the hotel staff quickly resolved and limited water views. The staff are courteous , attentive and informative. We are looking forward to a return stay!