Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Super happy

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: The room, the host, the wine and cheese, and overall hotel design.
Cons: The music in the lobby during cheese and happy hour. Intead of playing Lionel Ritchie songs 😉maybe play more jazz, or classic, etc.
Location: Very close to downtown Carmel (about a 5 min drive).
It was overall a great experience. The host was courteous. My friend and I made the reservations literally the night before through Expedia (about 12 hrs before we arrived) and when we arrived apparently somehow the reservation didnt show up in the hotel's computer. But the host was very nice and put us up in a room anyway without chargin us more. Love the 'cheese and wine' hour around 5. The room was clean, tidy, and cozy. Love it!
4 out of 5
by Ronald

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
Nice location. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
Cute little boutique hotel in a pretty town- Carmel by the sea. Delux room was also kind of small. Too many throw pillows and other trinkets, too much clutter! Walls are not sound proof, can hear noise next door. Location is convenient to the to Rt 1 , scenic 17 mile drive. Continental breakfast was very good.spinach knish was delicious! All in all we had a good stay, once we fell asleep- in spite of the noise next door!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Upon our arrival the staff was rude. The room smelled of mold. The staff told us that this was the first time they hear about it.they suggested to leave the windows open...They did offer to move us to different room. The walls were paper thin, so you could hear next door ro. The location of the hotel is on a very noise road with heavy traffic. Breakfast was extremely poor. Unfriendly staff, more precisely rude staff. It was not a good stay. We expected something better for the money we paid. Disappointing experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merced county

Nice setting

Posted Jun 24, 2015
It was really nice, close to the down town and beach.
5 out of 5
by Tomasz from Chicago il

Great hotel!!!

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel!! Our room was clean and comfortable; bathroom new and clean. It was located in a quiet and charming neighborhood. Breakfast was great: warm frittata (veggie and meat option), fresh pastries (great croissants), warm hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, jams, freshly squeezed orange juice, strong coffee and an assortment of teas. Would definitely recommend and stay again!
4 out of 5
by Kerri from Newport

A little too close for comfort

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
Don't get me wrong I love kitschy and boutique type hotels. I just don't like hearing the person in the room next to mine snoring or going to the bathroom. Perhaps if they provided box fans for some white noise that could happen.
4 out of 5
by Danny from Modesto, CA

Small rooms but quality service

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
Gave us a free upgrade to a king room which was nice. Rooms are not very big but are clean and nice. No coffee pot in room. Nice cold, European type, breakfast the next day. 5 minute drive from downtown Carmel.
1 out of 5
by Mogens from New Zealand

put off

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
someone played a bad joke on us, either the hotel or hotel.com we thought we got an amazing last minute deal, booked the nightb before and instead of more than 700 NZ$ we "only" were charged about 160 NZ$ we were curious what a fancy place would be awaiting us: one dingy, dark room with hardly enough room for one bed, let alone 2 suitcases, no coffee-making facilities and the rubbish from previous guests still in the waste bin..... what a disappointment and what a bad joke...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2015 on Hotels