Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel...website pictures don't do it justice

Posted Jan 10, 2017
My husband and I just spent the weekend together in Carmel. The Wayside Inn was perfect for us. Very close to all of the shopping and dining we planned. We stayed in a king suite with a fireplace and jetted tub. The pictures on the site didn't do the room justice. It was much larger than we realized with two full bathrooms, a separate room with a jetted tub, and a large living area. Will definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Overpriced

Posted Nov 23, 2016
The hotel is Ok. It has a good location, the staff is nice but the hotel is overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The room, the elegance the quaintness and breakfast delivered to our room
Cons: Air conditioning as there was none. The coffee was not warm
Location: There was wonderful shopping and many restaurants to choose from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The bed and linens were wonderful. Liked that we had a seperate living room with fireplace.
Cons: An ice machine and drink dispenser was a bit noisy
Location: Great location near all shops and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location for a Carmel-by-the-sea getaway.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location, spacious rooms, full breakfast included, comfortable beds, accommodating & attentive staff.
Location: Shopping, restaurants & beach within walking distance.
Wonderfully convienent location, spacious rooms, full breakfast included, comfortable beds, accommodating & attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochestet N Y

Beautiful hotel with many comforts.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
We loved the extra comfortable beds, fireplace, hot breakfast served to our room each morning. The room was spacious and the town of Carmel a gem. Relaxing stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super clean hotel, Friendly, Helpful Staff

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, staff, fireplace, breakfast, comfortable bed, walking distance to shops for shopping, browsing, eating
Cons: Parking- there is plenty of parking but not all is at the inn but rather close by but that is a feature of being downtown I think.
Location: Downtown Carmel, close to the ocean , easy access to freeways
When we arrived (early) we were greeted with a smile. Adrianna took the time to tell us about the area- sightseeing, parking, town etc. When we went to our room it was super clean and comfortable.(I am very picky about the cleanliness of hotels but this hotel couldn't have been better.) Breakfast was special. We will definitely be going back there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect stay

Posted Sep 11, 2016
THe room was clean and cozy. The breakfast was delicious. the staff is friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location! Made all of Carmel very walkable

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The online pictures don't do this hotel justice. We had a room with a gas fireplace and it was so nice to enjoy the fire on a cool evening. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Everyrhing was impeccably clean ( and I'm very picky about that). The location was perfect. Walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Very clean comfortable Inn. I highly recommend this Inn. Bed was extra comfortable.