Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Sheri E from Ann Arbor

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Due to flight difficulties our stay at Cala Lodge was much shorter and more rushed than I would have liked. We were greeted with a warm and friendly smile. I wish I could recall the name of the receptionist. She was very helpful getting us checked in quickly to be ready for our upcoming tour. She helped us make the most of our short stay including the excellent recommendation of Lucia's for dinner.
5 out of 5
by judy from DC

Friendly and knowledgeable, VERY Eco conscious.

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff who is knowledgeable about guides. Do not engage any guides from the info booth on the way through town, wait until you arrive, as their guides will know the best locations for what you want to do.
4 out of 5
by Michele from Fairfield, CT

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the spacious porch with comfortable chairs. View of butterflies, hummingbirds, and other wildlife. Very peaceful. Staff very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by John

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was great and the view was beautiful. It's very cozy, nice open reception, and only a $3 taxi to the city center. Two critiques: first, there was no a/c in the room. Just those new oscillating fans. They brought us another one and it was more than enough. Second, the balcony was so nice, but we didn't use it or even open the windows because there was no screen to protect from bugs coming in. But to be fair, we stayed in 4 hotels and NO ONE uses screens for some reason, so we never used any balconies.
5 out of 5
by Rebecca from oslo

Great lodge!

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
We loved Cala Lodge. Was part of the great experience we had in Santa Elena. You are in the nature and can se birds and sometimes animals while you are eating breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Wilton, CT

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hiking day and night
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Relaxant au millieu de la nature

Posted May 8, 2016
Tres bon accueil, emplacement parfait pres de restaurants et d'un convenience store. Tres beau de l'exterieur mais un peu triste a l'interieur de ma chambre. Mais apres tout, on se sent plus proche de la nature. Le petit dejeune au millieu des arbres et super
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town, but feels like you're in the jungle

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Wife and I stayed in a room with 1 queen and 1 twin bed and a balcony. Room was clean. No A/C, but with the fan and the cool outside temperatures it wasn't necessary. No TV, but had wifi good enough to watch movies. Best part was a huge window looking into the forest; we watched the fireflies and distant lightning show at night, and a ten-monkey migration through the trees in the morning. Location was close to town, 2 blocks off the road from Santa Elena to the Monteverde park, before the pavement ends. It was a great place to feel like you're in the jungle without being far from restaurants and amenities of town. Without a car, there were a couple restaurants to walk to and the hotel can arrange for transports to the sights. Be aware and watch out for scorpions, as you need to do at any hotel in the jungle no matter what the star rating (we were told by someone who was bit that it hurts for an hour or two but wont kill you.) The hotel was a great place to experience Santa Elena and Monteverde, unless you cant stand the thought of scorpions, in which case you should probably not go to Costa Rica.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice lodge but We Had Higher Expectations

Posted Apr 26, 2016
The staff were awesome! The lodge was nice but as a group we normally like a place that has more comfort and amenities. If someone likes to have more basic lodgings then this may be the place for you. There is no telephone or tv (which we didn't necessarily miss the tv), no air conditioning, the rooms are small and not a lot of places to lay your things. The breakfast was good and the staff were extremely helpful. The location is outside the town so the walk is about 20 mins downhill (which means all uphill going back) or you can get a cab for about $4 each way. The lodge was clean which is important. Our room has a fridge but not all rooms had one. Overall not bad depending on your expectations.
4 out of 5
by Lance from Port Orchard, WA

Sleepless in Monteverde

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was nice enough, but once a year for five nights in April, there is a carnival nearby that plays very loud music. It went on till 1:30 in the morning, so sleep was impossible. It wasn't the hotel's fault, but if I'd known about the carnival, I would have booked elsewhere. Breakfast was good and the hotel is central to attractions in the area.