Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Relaxant au millieu de la nature

Posted May 8, 2016
Tres bon accueil, emplacement parfait pres de restaurants et d'un convenience store. Tres beau de l'exterieur mais un peu triste a l'interieur de ma chambre. Mais apres tout, on se sent plus proche de la nature. Le petit dejeune au millieu des arbres et super
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town, but feels like you're in the jungle

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Wife and I stayed in a room with 1 queen and 1 twin bed and a balcony. Room was clean. No A/C, but with the fan and the cool outside temperatures it wasn't necessary. No TV, but had wifi good enough to watch movies. Best part was a huge window looking into the forest; we watched the fireflies and distant lightning show at night, and a ten-monkey migration through the trees in the morning. Location was close to town, 2 blocks off the road from Santa Elena to the Monteverde park, before the pavement ends. It was a great place to feel like you're in the jungle without being far from restaurants and amenities of town. Without a car, there were a couple restaurants to walk to and the hotel can arrange for transports to the sights. Be aware and watch out for scorpions, as you need to do at any hotel in the jungle no matter what the star rating (we were told by someone who was bit that it hurts for an hour or two but wont kill you.) The hotel was a great place to experience Santa Elena and Monteverde, unless you cant stand the thought of scorpions, in which case you should probably not go to Costa Rica.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice lodge but We Had Higher Expectations

Posted Apr 26, 2016
The staff were awesome! The lodge was nice but as a group we normally like a place that has more comfort and amenities. If someone likes to have more basic lodgings then this may be the place for you. There is no telephone or tv (which we didn't necessarily miss the tv), no air conditioning, the rooms are small and not a lot of places to lay your things. The breakfast was good and the staff were extremely helpful. The location is outside the town so the walk is about 20 mins downhill (which means all uphill going back) or you can get a cab for about $4 each way. The lodge was clean which is important. Our room has a fridge but not all rooms had one. Overall not bad depending on your expectations.
4 out of 5
by Lance from Port Orchard, WA

Sleepless in Monteverde

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was nice enough, but once a year for five nights in April, there is a carnival nearby that plays very loud music. It went on till 1:30 in the morning, so sleep was impossible. It wasn't the hotel's fault, but if I'd known about the carnival, I would have booked elsewhere. Breakfast was good and the hotel is central to attractions in the area.
4 out of 5
by David from Irvine, California

Good choice in Monteverde

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Cala Lodge was well located for all we wanted to do in Monteverde. Room was on the small size, but considering where we were and that we did not spend time in the room except to sleep, it was fine.
4 out of 5
by LUCIA from España

Está bien para la zona.

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Los espacios de las habitaciones son justos/No tiene A/C y tampoco TV. Tiene muy buenas vistas y con la cercanía al Monteverde park basta. El baño es bastante descente para él área. Hay restaurantes cerca.
4 out of 5
by Jorge Gustavo Bruno from buenos aires

Lodge muy recomendable

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Estuvimos dos noches, muy bien atendidos, como la reservacion la hicimos primero una noche y al tiempo agregamos otra. fueron dos habitaciones distintas la primera pequeña, la segunda reaalmente recomendable con un lindo balcón. heladera, cafetera etc. El lugar tiene uns jardines muy hermosos.
4 out of 5
by Kathy from Saskatchewan

Lovely lodge nestled in the forest

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Spent 2 nights at this lovely, typical Costa Rican lodge nestled in the forest, with great views and beautiful grounds with walking path in the forest. Enjoyed secluded setting but still within walking distance of several restaurants, some activities, and the nearby town. Enjoyed great breakfast sitting on the outdoor patio and staff were very helpful and courteous. Room was small and basic but comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Efi from כפר מונאש

נוף נפלא ושהות מענגת

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
היתה לנו תקלה במקלחת בחדר בעקבות כך שדרגו אותנו לסוויטה והיה נהדר
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Düsseldorf

Direkt an der Natur

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Freundliche Personal und gute Lage
Cons: das Frühstück kann verbessert werden
Location: ganz in der Nähe der Hauptstraße Richtung Innenstadt ..ist alles sehr einfach zu erreichen
Nette Personal und sehr sauberes Hotel. Der Garten fast wie eine kleine Dschungel ist auch ganz nett und wird von verschiedene Tiere und Vögeln besucht Gute Lage... ganz in der Nähe der Hauptstraße Richtung Innenstadt ..ist alles sehr einfach zu erreichen