Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M, NC

Much nicer than a lodge

Posted Feb 1, 2017
I stayed here with a friend just a few nights ago and really liked it. I wanted two queen beds which is what I booked but it turned out to be more of an entire apartment so beware you can probably save some money by booking a smaller room as they are huge! Bathroom was super clean, only bug I saw was a baby leaf bug which is pretty impressive for being in the middle of the jungle. Quiet. Beautiful views at the main lodge. Receptionist was extremely helpful and booked our tours and airport transfer easily. Breakfast was served in multiple small courses and had a menu to order from which was kind of a fancy touch compared to continental breakfast at most places. Good coffee and juice and we saw some cute jungle creatures out the windows while we ate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yonkers, NY

Amazing

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Wonderful hotel with fantastic staff! 10-15 minute walk to downtown area and an hour walk or 5 minute cab ride to the cloud forest. Also there are monkeys! They come right up to your balcony
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sheri E from Ann Arbor

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Due to flight difficulties our stay at Cala Lodge was much shorter and more rushed than I would have liked. We were greeted with a warm and friendly smile. I wish I could recall the name of the receptionist. She was very helpful getting us checked in quickly to be ready for our upcoming tour. She helped us make the most of our short stay including the excellent recommendation of Lucia's for dinner.
5 out of 5
by judy from DC

Friendly and knowledgeable, VERY Eco conscious.

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff who is knowledgeable about guides. Do not engage any guides from the info booth on the way through town, wait until you arrive, as their guides will know the best locations for what you want to do.
4 out of 5
by Michele from Fairfield, CT

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the spacious porch with comfortable chairs. View of butterflies, hummingbirds, and other wildlife. Very peaceful. Staff very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by John

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was great and the view was beautiful. It's very cozy, nice open reception, and only a $3 taxi to the city center. Two critiques: first, there was no a/c in the room. Just those new oscillating fans. They brought us another one and it was more than enough. Second, the balcony was so nice, but we didn't use it or even open the windows because there was no screen to protect from bugs coming in. But to be fair, we stayed in 4 hotels and NO ONE uses screens for some reason, so we never used any balconies.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Wilton, CT

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hiking day and night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town, but feels like you're in the jungle

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Wife and I stayed in a room with 1 queen and 1 twin bed and a balcony. Room was clean. No A/C, but with the fan and the cool outside temperatures it wasn't necessary. No TV, but had wifi good enough to watch movies. Best part was a huge window looking into the forest; we watched the fireflies and distant lightning show at night, and a ten-monkey migration through the trees in the morning. Location was close to town, 2 blocks off the road from Santa Elena to the Monteverde park, before the pavement ends. It was a great place to feel like you're in the jungle without being far from restaurants and amenities of town. Without a car, there were a couple restaurants to walk to and the hotel can arrange for transports to the sights. Be aware and watch out for scorpions, as you need to do at any hotel in the jungle no matter what the star rating (we were told by someone who was bit that it hurts for an hour or two but wont kill you.) The hotel was a great place to experience Santa Elena and Monteverde, unless you cant stand the thought of scorpions, in which case you should probably not go to Costa Rica.