Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Damien

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Service was very good - helpful and friendly! The breakfast was also very good - it is marketed as a B&b but is probably a very good hostel in my opinion. The rooms were small and whilst clean, they were poorly ventilated and dark and noisy.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Great Value

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Camino Verde B&B is a nice little hotel, just a 5min leisurely walk to Santa Elena's centre square. A great location to base yourself at to explore the town & surrounding area. The breakfast is very tasty (2 pancakes, 2 slices of wheat toast, or rice & beans with either scrambled eggs or fresh fruit). The dining room has wraparound windows and an attached deck. When it is clear you can even see a sliver of the Pacific Ocean! You can use the dining room & deck anytime until 9pm, and they even let you use the kitchen to cook your own supper. (Obviously you have to buy your own ingredients front the supermarket, but they do provide dishes/pots/etc. & staples like cooking oil/salt/etc.) Our room was very nice. A little bit worn, but excellent value for the price. It was clean, the bed was comfy, there were no bugs, and we had a view of the mountains from our balcony/window. There were, however, a couple draw-backs: there was a knob in the shower that fell off when you tried to use it (the shower worked fine otherwise), and the latch for the window in the bathroom was also broken, so if you left the door open overnight it got chilly from the wind (with the door closed it was fine). Also, there's nothing in the way of soundproofing, so you hear every car, etc. from the street below. Overall, we enjoyed our stay a lot and would rebook here if we come back to Monteverde in our future Costa Rica adventures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Staff made everything very easy

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The staff help you book all excursions and explain what there is to do in the area. The breakfasts were very good, and rooms were clean and comfortable. It was also very close to the main town with restaurants and stores. We had such an enjoyable experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Small quaint rooms, great for parents and two kids. View from common balcony is beautiful. Breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
The beautiful view at the terasse was different from the picture on web site. There don't share the full images of the landscape. So, you may imagine something different before you come. But overall, it was very nice place. Especially the mattres.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful little mountain retreat.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Clean and friendly hotel where people could cook there own food. Staff and breakfast were wonderful. We had a room with a window to the internal ventilation shaft which is most likely the cause of the musty smell. We opened the door one day and let the breeze in, which helped.
5 out of 5
by jessica from hong kong

Very smooth stay in Camino Verde

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
The location is 5-10 mins way from the main street by foot. It is convenient whatever you drive or not. A friend and i stayed in a room with a queen bed & a twin bed and a private bathroom. It is cozy and clean. There are 2 fans in my room. We need to turn on the second fan in day time. Definitely, no need to use it at night because it is very windy. The staffs (inculdes the night keeper) are very helpful, friendly and informative. Our tours were booked by Jose. So, we could make use of our time in Monteverde. We love the breakfast. A la carte breakfast is very common in costa rica. i think it is a good idea to avoid food waste.
4 out of 5
by douglas

Monteverde greatness

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
This is a nice property at a reasonable price. Great breakfast choices. Even free calling to the U.S. and Canada via their iPAD which was kind of cool. Nicely appointed rooms. Simple living.
4 out of 5
by Valérie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, VT

Comfortable friendly hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Orbitz
Friendly staff, nice view from the deck, great breakfast and laid back vibe. We stayed here theee nights with our three kids and were made to feel very welcome. The use of the kitchen is really convenient, and the breakfast was good too. Would highly recommend.