Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo ON

Comfortable villa

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Location close to downtown Monteverde
Cons: A chair and desk in the room, although it isn't a large room
Location: Lots of activities but particularly the cloud forest reserve.
Friendly staff, lovely view on a clear day, good breakfasts and lots of places to sit and relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Honeymoon

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Lovely staff, great view and easy booking of activities. Let us check-out late and made a nice honeymoon gift to us.
Cons: Excellent value for money, not the plushest place we stayed in but with so much to do you don't need it to be.
Camino Verde is situated a short 5 minute walk downhill from the town centre and is flanked by local restaurants (sodas & Taco Taco nearby). The 3 men running the reception (Andres, Jose & Erney) are all friendly, speak excellent English but were happy to practice in Spanish and made a gift of a bottle of wine to us when they found out it was our honeymoon. The room are wood-boarded, en suite, with an excellent view of the Gulf of Nicoya and the Puntarenas region from the shared balcony. Breakfast is included, with a choice of pancakes, eggs, fruit, toast and the typical Gallo Pinto (mixed beans and rice) to choose from. At other times coffee and water are easily accessible. The staff made booking activities quick and hassle-free. Costa Rica in general is easy travelling with reliable transfers and professional guides, and Monteverde was no exception. We would recommend the full-day Selvatura Park zip-line & hanging bridges tour, the Monteverde coffee tour and the Kinkajou night walk in particular. If you are looking to see a resplendent Quetzal (national bird of Guatemala, but found in the cloud forest) then March-May is the nesting season when your chances are best. However, July-September is turtle nesting season on the Caribbean coast, so take your pick. 2-toed sloths are a likely find. Souvenirs cost a similar (perhaps lower) amount than in other tourist hotspots. Twice daily bus is way cheaper than shuttle and private transfers to other parts of the country.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Safe, clan, amazing views!
Cons: Our room leaked a bit from all the rain.
The hotel was safe, staff friendly, breakfast was a nice bonus. The rooms were clean and location was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Canada

Best value for money

Posted May 28, 2017
Had a wonderful stay at Camino Verde. Ernest was very helpful when booking my tours at very last minute. Actually love the fact that you can book activities from the hotel's front desk! Great service. Great location ! (5min walk to town center, and next to a great soda (La amistad)). I definitely recommend this place !
4 out of 5
by Shane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San José, Costa Rica

Great location, clean and comfort rooms

Posted May 6, 2017
Location walking distance to restaurants, clean and comfortable rooms, very helpful staff and great breakfast and coffee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Monteverde Stay

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Location, facilities and service.
Location: Nearby cloud forests, zip lining, coffee tours.
Nice place to stay in Santa Elena. Close to shops and restaurants, with two great sodas next door. Use of the kitchen throughout the day was great.
3 out of 5
by Damien

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Service was very good - helpful and friendly! The breakfast was also very good - it is marketed as a B&b but is probably a very good hostel in my opinion. The rooms were small and whilst clean, they were poorly ventilated and dark and noisy.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Great Value

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Camino Verde B&B is a nice little hotel, just a 5min leisurely walk to Santa Elena's centre square. A great location to base yourself at to explore the town & surrounding area. The breakfast is very tasty (2 pancakes, 2 slices of wheat toast, or rice & beans with either scrambled eggs or fresh fruit). The dining room has wraparound windows and an attached deck. When it is clear you can even see a sliver of the Pacific Ocean! You can use the dining room & deck anytime until 9pm, and they even let you use the kitchen to cook your own supper. (Obviously you have to buy your own ingredients front the supermarket, but they do provide dishes/pots/etc. & staples like cooking oil/salt/etc.) Our room was very nice. A little bit worn, but excellent value for the price. It was clean, the bed was comfy, there were no bugs, and we had a view of the mountains from our balcony/window. There were, however, a couple draw-backs: there was a knob in the shower that fell off when you tried to use it (the shower worked fine otherwise), and the latch for the window in the bathroom was also broken, so if you left the door open overnight it got chilly from the wind (with the door closed it was fine). Also, there's nothing in the way of soundproofing, so you hear every car, etc. from the street below. Overall, we enjoyed our stay a lot and would rebook here if we come back to Monteverde in our future Costa Rica adventures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Staff made everything very easy

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The staff help you book all excursions and explain what there is to do in the area. The breakfasts were very good, and rooms were clean and comfortable. It was also very close to the main town with restaurants and stores. We had such an enjoyable experience!