Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Monteverde

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Breakfast was great, you can book tours the night before and they pick you up at the hotel. Wifi was good, the view is stunning. If you have 3 kids, rent the room number two; it has three single beds and a queen bed (and the luggage ramp can be used as a slide)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Favorite hotel of our trip

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The view, the helpfulness of the staff, the convenience to town.
Cons: There was a slight smell downstairs that was a little off, smelled like sewage. Also, maybe some more carpets downstairs to dampen the sound.
Location: Really close to the small downtown area and shops and restaurants.
This was such a wonderful bed and breakfast. People gathered on the balcony to watch the view in the evenings, so there was a lot of exchange of adventures and advice. The front desk staff was unbelievably helpful with planning events. We really wanted to go bird-watching, and there were two different parks we could go to, and they contacted the guides to see where we were more likely to see a quetzal and based on the current conditions they were able to guide us to the best one in that season, and we saw a quetzal! The view was ridiculous. You could see the gulf when the sky was clear. The breakfast was included and delicious. The rooms were great. nice shower and nice room. In the downstairs there was a hint of a sewage smell every once in awhile. But it wasn't overwhelming. Also, if you want to save money by cooking, you can go to the nearby grocery store and use the stove. Overall, we loved this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de Mexico, Mexico.

Hotel en el bosque!!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Muy tranquilo. Habitacion amplia, comoda y limpia. Desayuno incluido: buena porcion. Cafe 24 hrs. Vista espectacular!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Heredia

MUY BIEN

Posted Aug 8, 2016
El hotel es muy funcional, tiene muy buen precio, las instalaciones bonitas, la vista excelente, los servicios muy bien, excelente desayuno, y el área compartida para cocinar un éxito. Me parece una excelente opción.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Camino verde

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Hotel was in a great location. The communal areas were very nice and had a wonderful view. Breakfast provided was good. It was very simple but fresh. The staff was great! Very friendly and always willing to help in whatever way possible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alajuela, Costa Rica

muy agradable, excelente trato al huesped.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Excelente hotel, las ibstalaciones muy linpias y muy bonitas, tiene una excelente vista, y su cercanía oermite realizar las distintas actividades que se ofrecen en la zona
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely B&B ... Close enough, but just far enough!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Prior to my arrival, I received a very warm, welcoming e-mail letting me know of the services and amenities offered. My reception in person was just as warm and inviting. Within moments, we organized all the activities I had hoped to take advantage of and I was shown my room - which lived up to the description. While not a buffet style breakfast, as with many other places in Costa Rica, the menu selections were good and the meals hearty. Even the morning I had to leave early, well before the breakfast hour, the staff prepared me some toast with jams and fruit and coffee. Much appreciated :) The kitchen access is a lovely bonus for those who enjoy cooking, those on a budget or those who get caught in torrential rain and don't wish to leave the warm of the B&B. Grocery stores are a stone's throw away. Cozy places included the dining area, a lovely reading area and the beautiful patio with panoramic views of the hills. I highly recommend Camino Verde for value conscious travelers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Great service, wonderful views, delicious breakfast, great location
Cons: The shower drain in our room ran very slowly
Location: Very close to the center of town, tons of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance
We booked a room at the last minute after a mix up with another hotel. I based the hotel choice on cost and other reviews on Expedia. I have to say, the place far exceeded my expectations. It's very close to the center of Monteverde, and the owner (Andres) was extremely helpful with booking a tour and our return transportation at the end of our stay. Very cozy, clean room and a delicious typical Costa Rican breakfast. It was the best gallo pinto I had the entire time we were in the country. I would absolutely stay at Camino Verde again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Awesome view and lovely setting

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: The view and staff
Cons: Personal choice. Would next time ask for a room with a view or on the main floor rather than the lower level.
Location: Hike, tour, zipline, eat, shop, groceries for picnic.
Everyone was helpful, breakfast was good, recommendations for activities were right on and location worked well for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Loved Camino Verde!

Posted May 5, 2016
We loved our stay at Camino Verde! The common areas are fantastic and Jose is super helpful, he definitely added to our stay there. Make sure to check out the Cloud Forest and get in as many walks through the jungle as possible - it's a special place!