Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice simple hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Nice hotel but the sound proofing is poor. We could hear everything in the other rooms. The wind blowing was also very disturbing. No hit water fir the shower... Service was excellent! As for the breakfast, it was simple but enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views, close to restaurants (sodas).

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The people, both staff and guests were the best!
Cons: The community refrigerator was slow to make ice and it was not for sale next door. You may want to grab some at the store down the hill.
Location: Zip-line with the Tarzan swing! Night hike to see sloths and birds.
Great staff! Checked us in quickly and set us up with the tours we wanted to check out. We did the zip-line and night hike. Both picked us up at the hotel promptly and both were fantastic! The room was clean and the view from the kitchen/dining/patio was amazing. Worth the price! The travelers staying there were pretty cool too. Folks from France, Canada, and the USA. The town felt like a laid back European backpacker paradise. Definitely worth the drive on some very bumpy roads!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Loved Camino verde . Very layer back . Spacious clean rooms and the view is amazing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The place is just fine. The breakfast is very good, and the staff is excellent at helping you find the things you want to do in Monteverde. There is nothing special about the rooms, just basic place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Good value in a good location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Loved the staff, good breakfast included. Easy to walk around town from here. Quiet.
Cons: Too bad the parking lot is small and difficult to use. Better to park on the street unless you have a small car and can back into a spot.
Location: Located on a bumpy road right behind the main drag. Beautiful view from porch if not windy. Easy drive to two reserves and great tour at Cabure.
We stayed two nights in this nice place. Everything went smoothly. A shame it was so windy we couldn't take advantage of the porch views. Had a rental car so easy to get to both reserves, cheese factory, and Cabure Chocolate tour. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, Ok

Nice enough for my stay in Monteverde

Posted Jan 29, 2017
It was very small but not a disappointing accomodation. The staff was helpful and scheduled tours, breakfast was included, location (once found... due to weird signage) was pretty convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Great cheap options to stay at Monteverde

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Fast checkin/out, helpful staff, breakfast.
Cons: Parking lot definitively. Not sure how because location is really packed.
Location: Hotel really close to Santa Elena downtown (walking distance) and you can access all activities like tours, canopy there or schedule it in the hotel
I went with my wife and daughter. We really liked the hotel, the checkin/out process was really quick and smooth. Breakfast options are really good. After breakfast time, kitchen is available for you to cook if you want. There is water and coffee free always available. The room are cozy, small, but functional, clean and equipped with tv with cable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful B & B

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pleasantly surprised! Very inexpensive, the staff were so so wonderful. Jose even emailed me once i made the reservation with information about the area! They offered a variety of inexpensive tours. Breakfast was delicious. The room was well kept, but obviously pretty average considering the price. It has a comfortable bed, clean, a closet, private bathroom. Basically all you needed while you were there. Very close to town, beautiful view. I just can't say enough about this place! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at camino verde!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a cheaper hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016
The room was very simple but did the job. The wifi was not stable, but they had a lot of beds and good breakfast. When you go upstairs though, you can get perfect wifi and you can see a beautiful view on the balcony. The staff is nice and helpful, and the hotel is located near many places. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a cheaper hotel or a place for many people to stay in one room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Cute place with an amazing view from the deck. Loved their breakfast and common kitchen area. I wouldn't given 5 out of 5 but I am giving 4 out of 5 only because there was no management at night and I couldn't sleep because of the loud drunks who were screaming at 2am for over an hour even when there was a sign everywhere that says no one should be out in the deck after 9pm. This place was peaceful until these rude people without common manners came and disturbed everyone trying to sleep.