Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Poor restaurant, wafer thin walls, poor Wi-fi.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Location and trails.
Cons: Wi-fi, food quality, drinks price list.
Location: Good for bird watching, walking.
Food is expensive and reflects the cost of taxi trips into town. Beer is extremely expensive and the prices are not listed. Food quality is poor and so is the service, especially after you complain. The walls of the semi-detached rooms are wafer thin so you can hear every word of your neighbours phone calls at 4am! Wi-fi is good in the main building, but unusable in the room. Give the Night Walk a miss as the guide only talks to the people behind him. As we were English in a large group of French and Italian speakers we did not learn a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Cloud Forest Lodge March 12th 2015

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
Room: Room got cool at night but just ask for an extra blanket at reception. I was in B2. This is a great room at the end of the row and therefore a bit more removed from others. Soaps, shampoos and glasses all available. The walls are thin and the forest is awake at night, if you have trouble sleeping bring ear plugs. Hiking The hiking trails are well maintained, some of them had paths that weren't on the map so I just marked my way and found that they all ended up getting you out of the forest anyway. I didn't see anyone else on the walks. So just as a precaution because I was walking solo I checked in and out with reception whenever I went on a walk. Like I said, I didn't see anyone out there. Transportation Really easy. Taxi from Santa Elena is USD$5. Tours will pick you up fro the Lodge and drop you back. Restaurant: I enjoyed the Costa Rican breakfast and the view is fantastic no matter what time of day. Currency: Everything is in USD. You pay more but I was only there for 3 days so it was worth the convenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicole from Minnesota, USA

Average rooms, nice isolated location

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
Pretty typical room, but a little spendy considering no wifi available in the rooms or any other in-room amenities. The beds were not very comfortable. The trails around the place are decent with good varied habitat for bird watching.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Nice hotel - beautiful view.

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: The location.
Location: We did the zip-lining and hanging bridges in Sepulveda - not too far!
I thought the hotel was in a perfect location. We like to hike, so we took one of your hikes right on the property. The breakfast was excellent! The view from the dining room were beautiful. It was fun to see the hummingbirds and animals as we were eating. Not too far if we wanted to go into town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathleen from Leeds

Cloud Forest

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
Cloud Forest without a cloud in sight! Fantastic view of the ocean instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great hotel in great location.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Fits into the environment, low key and pleasant to be there.
Close to town, on site trails, zip line and restaurant. It's all first rate. Some complain about the access road. It is not a big deal, it's good dirt, can't see why anyone would even mention it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, NJ

Beautiful location, lovely facility.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Beautiful rooms, beautiful grounds, nice activities right on site, good food.
Cons: The rooms have no temperature control, and can get a little chilly at night. (Luckily, they provide plenty of blankets.)
Location: The cloud forest is why everyone comes, and it is well worth the drive up to Monteverde. The canopy zip lines are also the best in the country.
We loved everything about this hotel. The rooms were spacious and attractive, and had a queen size bed for us and bunk beds for our kids. The hiking trails right on the premises was a real bonus, the whole area is so beautiful, and the roads are so bad that its nice not to have to leave your hotel for some of your activities in Monteverde. We did the canopy zip line tour, and night tour right on the premises, and had a great time. The restaurant is excellent, if a little pricey, but the breakfasts are huge, delicious, and included in the room price, which makes the room a pretty good deal. We would definitely come back here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great

Posted Jan 1, 2015
We had a great experience at the Cloud forest lodge. The room was large and comfortable (there was no AC or heat), the staff was friendly, and the hotel premises pretty. As an added bonus we also saw white faced monkeys and a mot-mot in the woods around the hotel. The restaurant is also great and has a decent view of the sunset. We give it 5 starts because the hotel surpassed our expectations for the price we paid when compared to other much more expensive hotels we stayed in Costa Rica. Note that the access road to the hotel is unpaved and a bit steep (we were glad we had a 4wd).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kris from Cave Creek

Wonderful little hotel.

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderful little hotel, deep in the forest. Staff was very friendly, especially Gustavo at the Bar and Restaurant. Service was excellent. Food was great. Superb location. Wildlife all over the place. Excellent !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels