Ratings based on 726 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria Virginia

Posted Mar 8, 2018
El Establo Is a very comfortable resort hotel with very friendly staff, good dining options, and good facilities. We enjoyed the spa service in particular. The location also is excellent for local ecotourism activities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stony Plain, AB

Hillside Delight

Posted Mar 7, 2018
Pros: We dined two evenings in their fine dining restaurant, Laggus. Food and service were excellent. The sunsets from Rm 820 were outstanding.
Location: The Monteverde Cloud Forest is about a 15 minute drive from the hotel. We shared a great guide, Carlos, with six others. He was very knowledgeable.
We are gold level Expedia members and we were given a VIP meal voucher-10% off food and 15% off beverages. The staff was wonderful. Shuttle service worked well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2018
The location was great. The breakfast was over priced for what was served and it is better to eat downtown. Orchid is a great breakfast spot. The night walk was a disappointment.. The coffee tour was worth it. El Trapiche coffee and chocolate tour is the one we went on. Up the road and accross from el Trapiche is a great restaurant Nuestro Tradition. Oscar’s family owns the reastaurant and he is a wealth of information. He also runs tours and we wish we would have known about him before we did ours. Great clean restaurant with authentic delicious meals!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chardon, OH

Beautiful place

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Pros: Beautiful property. Very friendly staff Beautiful room
Cons: Not enough lighting in room Not enough opportunity to get fresh air-the room got very stuffy at night.
Location: Close to town- a 3 minute drive. A good pizza shop; Don Luis Pizzaria 20 minute drive to Monteverde 2o minute drive to canopy tours
We were able to book a room last minute for a very good price. The property is enormous, with buildings along a mountainside. There iOS even a private reserve on the property with hiking trails through dense forest. Our room was beautiful with an outstanding view. Staff was very very friendly and helpful.The only complaint is there was not enough lighting in the room. Also, very little opportunity to get fresh air into the room at night. There is no air conditioning, which would not be needed if more windows would open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Monteverde

Posted Feb 24, 2018
Pros: The property, the staff, and the views.
Cons: The restaurant can have more vegan options.
Location: There are nearby shops and restaurants. There are two sugarcane/coffee/chocolate tours.
This is a huge property, so huge they have a shuttle that takes you to your room each time. They have a private gym and a beautiful area where they keep a whole bunch of peacocks. In the lobby area they have exotic birds come up and other animals. The staff is friendly. They also have nature trials. We had a beautiful view from our balcony. The restaurant was ok, not too many vegan options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in Monteverde rainforest

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Pros: Definitely one of the best hotels in Monteverde. You are staying in the cloud forest and the views are stunning.
Cons: The hotel rooms feel exclusive but the breakfast experience is not. The food is excellent but it can be v busy and there were lots of tour groups
Location: Lots of must do's locally. Hotel has it's own trails and canopy tours on site and we did the Selvatura hanging bridges and 100% Adventura zip wires
We stayed for 2 nights and would highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are spacious and beds were the most comfortable ones that we slept in during our 2 week holiday. The accommodation is in a series of blocks which are up to a mile further up the mountain and there is a shuttle service to take you from your rooms to breakfast/reception area. The benefits of being so high up is that the views are fantastic on a clear day and on some days you will be in the clouds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Beautiful grounds. Great hiking right on site

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Fantastic restaurant at tip of resort with awesome sunsets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Fantastic Hotel in the cloud forest

Posted Jan 23, 2018
Pros: Close to the town with all the stores and restaurants. The view was very nice as you are high up on the hill. The room was clean and beautiful
Cons: Not enough parking space for guests
Location: Coffee, chocolate, and sugar cane tours. Lots of restaurants to choose from. Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve was only 2km away from the hotel
We were greeted with a smile and warm welcome by the front desk staff when we arrived. We booked a coffee tour through the front desk without a hassle. The room was comfortable and I loved the architectural design. The only thing we didn't like was the lack of parking space. Overall, a wonderful place to stay in Monteverde.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Great view

Posted Jan 22, 2018
I chose this hotel to celebrate my 10th anniversary. Our experience was good. It is true that the illumination in the room is poor. However, views are stunning and compensate that, as well as the thin walls (some privacy limitations since you can hear clearly your neighbors and also be heard). I asked for a room in the blocks 700+, and we were placed, I can say, the better room in the property (room 907). I asked for strawberries and chocolate and it was in our room upon arrival. We did see some wildlife from our balcony: aguti, coati, armadillos. We took some trails that are on the property (very convenient). We went yo the Green Leaf Spa for a couples deep tissue massage. Spa building is well mantained. At the Spa, staff is welcoming and the room faces the forest, which provides a natural setting. However, I felt that the massage was too hard and I had swelling spots for a couples of days. Hotel is located at a very centric spot un Monteverde. It is close to main attractions and resaturants as Sofía, The Green, Morphos and El Jardín (at Monteverde Lodge and Gardens). Those are good options for lunch or dining. Hotel breakfast menu options and quality of the food was ok. But I have yo mention that Staff at the breakfast was VERY friendly and dedicated. Staff at check in were more transactional rather than helpful or friendly. In general, I think that there were more pros than cons in our stay. Some things that might need some TLC, but I would stay here again un a future trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Why?

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Almost perfect, but no menus in the room and they run breakfast military style, if you are 5 minutes late no cigar.