Ratings based on 627 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Hotel staff unfriendly and overcharged us for room. Would stay elsewhere next time, better options in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel offers amazing views.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
We enjoyed our night at the hotel. The rain forest tour was beautiful!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

services and staff very bad

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: the trails up the hotel
Cons: the service, the management
Location: Everything in Monteverde, it is in the center of it
I booked a 2 queen beds bedroom, they give a us a room with just one bed , so they added a little bed, not at all what we expected the last day, we give them the laundry that was supposed to be returned 4 hours later. When we came back at night it wasn't in the room, and when we asked at the reception, they never give it to the laundry ... we left with it At the reception, at the arrival, they give tips about the hotel like machine and they don't tell you the best of this place : they have trails all the way up to the hotel, where you can spot all kind of animals and they have a map of those trails because it is one of the rare big hotel in Monteverde, they have big groupes staying , may be they are better with those people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is beautiful

Posted Mar 24, 2017
The hotel is beautiful and works perfectly with the environment. The views are spectacular if you are on the flight buildings. Breakfast was not included but there is a very sweet coffee shop across the street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 80526

Second bed had sand in it. Outdoor Pool is boarded

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Paid for what we thought would be the nicest hotel in MonteVerde and it is nice. Great trails on the property and nice views. Offset by the pool being boarded over and our second bed not cleaned. Poor daughter climbed into sheets with sand in them. When I make a reservation for three I expect three towels and three water glasses too. Main desk closed at 10 pm so I couldn't bring it to their attention until morning. They offered a "discount" at their restaurant. Who knows what that meant since the Manager didn't come to speak with me and sent word via a desk clerk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Visit to Monteverde

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: N/A
Cons: It would be helpful to provide guests with room they requested. In addition, the hotel staff can be more friendly and accommodating.
My friend and I were on a budget travelling together. I made a reservation for two adults for double queen bed room at hotel El Establo because of the great reviews. I made the reservations more than 7 weeks prior to our arrival hoping a double queen room would be reserved for us. However, upon arrival, I noticed we were given a king bed room. I called the front desk and explained the situation. To my surprise, the front desk notified me that there was nothing they could do. The hotel staff were not helpful and offered no other solutions. In addition, some of the lights in the hotel room were not working properly which the room very dark and seeing things very difficult. I will be travelling to Monteverde again and will share my experience and recommendations to friends and family. However, I will advise them to not stay at hotel El Establo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort in the mountain

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The place is amazing beautiful,clean ,old has wonderful character all staff are very friendly and helpful. If I had to say something negative it would be their breakfast buffet for 20 buck not good at all. Pool area needs more loungers Would I go back definitely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness. Friendly staff.
Cons: Communication on amenities.
The location was awesome. Hotel was clean amd comfortable. A few things could be improved upon, such as communication on facilities and amenities offered. The pool location had a bar we didn't know about until overhearing someone mention it later in our stay. The restaurant also had a bar and happy hour we didn't know about until our last day. Mention the hiking on the property and a map would be helpful. A book in the room or paper in English stating amenities. If not in English then pictures to indicate bar, drinks, hiking etc. A room other than first building ground floor would have made our stay more memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Really nice really great food but expensive. Breakfast was not included and was 20$ us each when we just had a bit of fruit. Room was extremely nice we had loft style with two amazing king sized beds. Can't really walk to the town. Pool was great but quite a hike to get up to
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

Not worth the price

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Room size. View - gorgeous sunset one night.
Cons: See review...a lot.
Location: Not too impressed with the area in general.
Room was very spacious and clean. Checkin staff was nice and helpful, and our room was ready for early checkin, which was great. However, the restaurant staff wasn't very nice, and it took housekeeping 2 days to get our room clean, even though we put the sign out for many hours. $5 Imperials at the restaurant, really? We never pay more than $3 in Manuel Antonio (where we live). $5 extra for omelets with the "included" breakfast, and they were terrible. One pool has been filled in, which was very disappointing since we had kids and hoped to swim. The other pool was far away and small, without any food or drink service. Concierge was less than helpful and seemed to know less about the area than we did (tried to charge us $5 extra to go on a tour WITHOUT a guide...what?). Also very loud on the main road, and a lot of work and tour buses and vans spewing exhaust, which we smelled in our room. Bugs in the beds, too. In general, a lot of what is on the web site is no longer true, and we were disappointed, especially for the price we paid. We've had excellent facilities and services in other parts of Costa Rica, so we won't be back.