Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Beautiful view and setting!

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: The View!
Cons: Need Hot Tub by the pool.
Location: Selvetura Zip Line.
We had a wonderful view of the valley and ocean far away. At check in the staff was efficient but the tour desk was a little curt. They are a very busy hotel and you are treated that way. We would stay there again but don’t expect special intimate treatment like some of the other boutique places close by. We were disappointed in the pool not being warmer and they really need a hot tub. The shuttles are great and so was the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Great coffee in the lobby. Very helpful staff. Very good meal at restaurant. Breakfast good. Good location to Cloud Forest. Very steep hills for walking about. We loved it and would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Great location and scenery from the balcony in our room. Saw a bunch of natural animals in their own habitat. Beautiful place to visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice views but noisy, dark, and windy rooms

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: The views.
Cons: 1. Room lighting 2. Noise insulation 3. Weather insulation
Location: The hotel has trails on property. Also has a night walk and zip line. But, this is Monteverde where there is anyway a lot of this stuff.
Property is located in various buildings on a hill and has very pretty views of the west. That is the positive side. Stayed in the building just beyond reception. Very large room that looked so pleasant during the day was terrible at night. Extremely Poor Lighting: Only three low intensity yellow lights lit up a relatively large room. Two similar lights lit up the bathroom. The shower was so dark that I could not see my feet. The room was so dark that I could not see inside my bags without using the flashlight in my phone. So dark that could not read a guide book or operate the coffee maker. So dark that could not see the two chairs on one side of the room. Commented about this to staff who responded that the owner prefers it this way. Did not offer any details. Later saw others had commented on same issue. Extremely Noisy: During the night, the constant wind in Monteverde rushes into the stone paved corridor, with narrow windows, outside the room. The result is a constant howling sound as if of banshees. I could not sleep more than 3-4 hours during the night. There is no noise insulation between the room and outside. The bathroom vents to this outer corridor which means that inside noises are heard outside and vice versa. Very embarrassing. Extremely breezy inside room: No weather insulation means that the constant high speed wind in Monteverde is constantly felt inside the room. The result is very cold and breezy room. Do not ever want to stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dark and Cold

Posted Dec 28, 2017
We checked in after sunset and stayed for one night. Our suite was very dark. The lighting inside should improve. The bathroom and rooms have ventilation windows with rotating glasses. It is large enough that a rodent can jump-in. I could close the one in the bathroom. But I didn't see the one in the room. It was a very windy night with gust winds of over 35mph. We felt the breathe coming through at night but couldn't see the window at night, thanks to terrible llighting in the room. As a result, I got a bad cold for the rest of my trip, which ruined our vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Beautiful resort with fantastical view.

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: Beautiful facility.
Cons: With more lighting in the room
Location: Trapiche tour is excellent! We were very satisfied with the show, presentation and the guider.
nice foods, excellent stuff. Good shuttle services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Nice hotel and centrally located

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Location, staff and the rooms are large.
Cons: no hooks or rods to reuse your towels, no way to grab the toilette paper in setting position, and the hotel restaurant is too expensive.
Location: The small town and many local tours are within 1.5 kilometer of the hotel. Several restaurants to choose from.
It’s a nice hotel in a good location close to most local activities. The hotel properly is very large, but they offer free shuttle to get around. They also offer zip lining and night walk tours right on their property. It’s a good place for families. I don’t recommend their restaurants, as their food quality is average, but their prices are similar to Hawaii for a country with average income of $300/month. But there’s are several good places to eat nearby, including a bakery across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San José

Perfect Hotel for relaxing

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Everything is clean, quiet and there are a lot of services for a happy stay, pool, gym.
Cons: When I went the hotel was almost empty, I received a room with the view blocked by a tree, maybe next time they can check this before the assigning.
Location: 13 minutes away from the Monteverde National Park, near to a lot of restaurants also.
Big hotel with a lot of places to have a good view of the sunset. They have a little lake that is nice but is not so big like it looks on the photos. Nice breakfast with a lot of chooices. Some rooms have the view block by a tree near the window, that was my case. Also they have vehicles to move inside the installations, that is nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Very nice view if it is clear wether

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Rooms are far from the reception Reception staff are not kind
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jerssy city,nj

Posted Nov 4, 2017
The room where clean they allowed me a late checkout and the view from hotel was nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by El Establo, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!