Ratings based on 726 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large room with beautiful views.

Posted Apr 20, 2018
This hotel is beautiful and is conveniently located within walking distance to St. Elena with restaurants nearby. The room was huge, well appointed and very comfortable and the staff was helpful. The grounds were beautiful and the hotel is located just a short drive ($12 taxi ride) away from the Monteverde Biological Reserve. My "only" complaints are that the items in the mini bar in the room were extremely overpriced and the restaurant was expensive compared to all of the other places we stayed while in Costa Rica. We also found it odd they don't supply coffee in the room for checkout day however there is coffee in the lobby. Overall this is a great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Beautiful views, good, clean comfortable stay. Hotel grounds are very large - you need to take shuttles around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, Ca

dark hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2018
This hotel looks good from the outside. The rooms and hallways are dark. You will need 2 keys since you need the key to turn on electricity in the room. The room with a loft is not safe for kids younger than 7 years old. I called for towels since they only supplied for 2 people and didn’t came. Service is horrible, staff are not friendly. Will not come back.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view and potentially a great resort

Posted Apr 4, 2018
This appears to be one of the nicer hotels in monteverde but it just missed the mark of being a great hotel. Nice being up the mountain but really very unpractical. A bus service is provided to get you to breakfast and around the resort but we called for it twice and it didn't show. Annoying with two young kids! Put more phones around in lobbies so people can call the bus easier would help. Most disappointing of all was the very bad sound proofing of the room. We could hear the man next door snoring let alone tv and talking. NOT GOOD. If they had put us in the room next door which was empty like we asked then this would not have been a problem because no one would have been next to us. It was only 2 nights so we could live with that! Food was ok but catered for large numbers so expected. Tours from hotel were great. Night tour and zipping!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel surrounded by forest

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Overall, the hotel was a serene and beautiful place to stay. The hotel is among the trees and overlooks Monteverde. The bathroom was dimly lit and the room itself does not have air conditioning. Though clean, the windows may let in some unwanted creatures. Just be sure to close the windows. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was not included, but the hotel does have restaurants to eat some decent meals. Overall, the stay was pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

almost complete

Posted Apr 1, 2018
March 2018 A very nice hotel, put together well, comfortable and great view of the mountains and sunsets. Sunset view from your balcony would be perfect if they remove the distant cell phone tower. The room was spacious,clean and comfortable. I found the open bathroom design a little wanting as there was absolutely no privacy while using the toilet.. The toilet could be viewed from the glass shower and through the mirrors from any point in the room. We had one night where there was insufficient hot water to fill the Jacuzzi. Staff was very efficient and polite,easily responding to our needs. This hotel is on a mountain side and requires a call to get a shuttle to move within the grounds. They responded quickly. Buffet breakfast was excellent. We walked trails of the hotel grounds, they need some tending to,poorly marked with obstructions. Short drive to the Cloud Forrest and town. We drove from Aranel and then to Liberia. There were stretches of unpaved roads(20km) that were dusty,rocky and tedious. 3 hour drives from Aranel to Monteverde and Monteverde to Liberia. The roads south of Aranel to Uvita were paved and somewhat narrow and winding. Nice views though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan, usa.

Nice and unique

Posted Mar 31, 2018
The hotel is very nice and has a unique charm to it. The rooms were very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms had a few small aspects that seemed rundown but nothing major. We booked through Expedia and when we arrived late at night after an entire day of traveling, they had booked us in a different room than what we booked thru Expedia which did not accommodate all 5 members of our party. They were totally booked so unable to switch us but they did their best to rectify the situation by bringing in another bed for us and then moved us the next day to the room we originally booked. Not ideal but they did their best to fix it. All in all, a nice place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Setting and Views

Posted Mar 21, 2018
We had a beautiful room in Building 7 with a gorgeous view however, please note this hotel is located on a very steep hill. We found the dinner in the dining room to be just so so, and the most expensive restaurant we ate at in Monteverde.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views fro the room

Posted Mar 16, 2018
Pros: The views from the bedroom
Cons: A lounge and a bar.
Location: Monteverde in the cloud forest is a unique place. Go and discover a different Costa Rica.
El Establo is enormous. A map is provided and needed to navigate the complex. The room we had was in the block nearest to the entrance and to the restaurant which was ideal. The view from the room was breathtaking and for that reason alone it's worth staying here. This hotel was heavily geared to coach parties which there seemed to be new ones arriving regularly, consequently during the day the pool area was almost deserted. Whether it was the Quaker origins of the hotel or just the hotel policy but there were no public areas and the only bar we found in the hotel closed at 6pm. Monteverde itself is amazing and well worth the effort of getting there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

El Establo

Posted Mar 8, 2018
Pros: staff and location, views.
Cons: Not sure how to improve now, but the noise is tough with the design of the building. Need more parking. We came in late one nite and had to squeeze
Location: Enjoyed Monteverde fully.
We enjoyed our stay. Very conveniently located. Staff overall was very helpful and pleasant. Shuttle was great. Hotel was loud... everything echoed. Parking was difficult outside our building/room