Ratings based on 654 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice view, convenient location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Noise!!
Location: Canopy tours, hiking, night hikes
This hotel is nice, but not great. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The rooms are a little on the old side. There was an odd, slightly unpleasant smell in the room. The buildings are not designed very well. It is very loud when anyone walks in the hallway or in the upstairs rooms. Since the bathroom window opens to the hallway, you can hear almost everything going on in everyone's room as the sound travels down the hallway, even if you leave the vents closed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Highly recommend!!!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
El Establo is absolutely gorgeous! We only stayed for two nights but thought of extending our stay because we were so happy with the hotel. Our room was spacious, clean, modern, and the view was breathtaking. We saw rainbows form over the tree tops! We were a group of four and we had plenty of space to spread out. The staff at El Establo were kind and very helpful. We requested a few items for our room and they were extremely prompt. I highly recommend ziplining here. It was perfect for all ages and the guides were great. The ziplining is on the property so you don't need to travel anywhere. We did not do the night tour but that seemed fun as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Hotel with activities for everybody, nobody out

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Excellent location, gardens and trails impecable and service is great. Activities for everybody, parks, animals, good food, birds And if you are stressed from city noises, this is the place to clear your ears, mind and spirit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryville, TN

Nice hotel closed to Monteverde

Posted May 31, 2017
Beautiful property and nice location to visit Monteverde. I got VIP discount service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
The hotel is wonderful. When we arrived the staff were very nice. The most important is that the hotel has internal transportation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Health warning required

Posted May 29, 2017
Nice accommodation on an extremely steep hill. Have to call for a smelly minibus to take you to reception, pool, only one restaurant. This noisy minibus labours and struggles uphill from 6.15 until 22.00. Reception staff tell you wifi in all public places but reality is wifi only works at reception. Accommodation cost 3 times more than our other stays in CR but not as good. Night walk further up hill. Guide struggled for 2 hours to show us a frog but was unsuccessful. He did manage to show us tadpoles, daddy long legs, grasshoppers and stick insects that I can see at home for free. Charge from hotel for private transfer was $200 each to San Jose, we booked private transfer ourselves which was excellent and cost €50 each. Rip off hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Built on a hill

Posted May 12, 2017
This "hotel" is built on a hill. That is its problem. Room buildings and services (front desk / pool / restaurant) are spread up and down the hill. You have to climb or descend the hill to get anywhere. They provide van service, on call from the front desk, to move you around the property. They are trying. You can use your own car. Gated complex. Good parking. The vans work well; however; it is either hike up or down the hill or wait for the van. Walking the property in the morning is a good idea to see birds. Rooms are reasonable. Views from the rooms are generally good. There is no heat or air conditioning in the rooms; however you don't really need it. We were very comfortable. The weather in Monteverdi is great all year; temp wise. The food at the main restaurant is good but pricey. We were not offered the happy hour prices for drinks in the restaurant. Issue. We did go to the pool bar and received great service from the young bartender. Pool temp OK. Not heated. Stayed two days. If active; you don't really stay in your room much in Monteverdi. Wifi only common areas. They were working to improve Wifi. We arrived in late April, shoulder season; only one restaurant was open. Hotel located on road to Reserve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Everything was perfect with the Hotel, nothing to complain
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, no character

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The trails are lovely, and the view from some rooms is great.
Cons: the hotel is lacking in character and warmth. It seems stark and gloomy. Lighting should be improved, the bathroom open venting to hallway is strange
Location: The location is easy to find, short walk to town centre. They provide hiking trails on property, shuttle service within hotel as it is very big.
This hotel was physically very nice. Lots of stone and wood, which made it a little cold and bare looking. We were given a deluxe room with king bed and a view if the hedge right in front of the window. We didn't travel all the way to Monteverde to look at a hedge. They gave us a slight hassle to have the room changed, but they did change it. The bathrooms have an open vent to the main hallway, so you can hear people having a shower, bath etc. Somewhat strange. We stayed in many hotels in Costa Rica, and this was our least favourite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large hillside hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view
Cons: make the rooms more inviting and provide more property information
Location: great tours of surrounding cloud forest.
Rooms were adequate but lacked amenities. The rooms are sparsely decorated and do not feel inviting. There was no written information provided in the rooms to help with way finding or problem solving. No directions for phone use, restaurant information or where to find ice or drinks. Contact with the front desk staff was always polite and helpful. The rooms have gorgeous views with balconies. The property is very large but on a very steep hill. Although we love to walk it was too far up a very steep hill to view the pool or get to the restaurant. They do provide shuttle service quickly.