Ratings based on 677 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jerssy city,nj

Posted Nov 4, 2017
The room where clean they allowed me a late checkout and the view from hotel was nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by El Establo, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel but with a lot of things to improve

Posted Oct 19, 2017
I give 3 stars to cleanness because during the night there would be a lot of bugs in the room especially in the bathroom, the reason is because the hotel is located in the forest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada,

Great hotel in the clouds

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Great facility. Clean. Beautiful grounds. Rooms could have used better lighting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a lot of tour available

Posted Sep 1, 2017
First time in Monteverde. Nice small town, good food. Nice hotel property and rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but terrible stuff

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The view was beautiful and they have hiking trails from the hotel door, that was very nice. The room was also very nice and everything was new.
Cons: customer service, parking
Location: Very nice location
They charged me $50 extra for the additional person who was staying in the same room without additional bed (my son, 17 years old but technically still a child by Expedia definition), when I called Expedia they did not help me to resolve the issue. For the extra $50 I had to call then twice to get a set of towels for him. The hotel is located on a hill which is quite steep, we drove all the way up just to find out that there is no place to park our car - they have only 3 parking spots for the whole building of about 50 rooms. Whoever gets these spots can stay there all day, other people have to unload the luggage and drive to another location to park. The view was beautiful and they have hiking trails from the hotel door, that was very nice. The room was also very nice and everything was new.
4 out of 5
by Susan

Family fun at El Establo

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
My family loved this hotel. Location was excellent, suite was clean, and the property was beautiful. The beds were comfortable and the suite spacious for our family of 5. The pool and gym were fun as well. You can watch the sunset from the pool. Staff was friendly and attentive. For a family with 3 teens I would like to point out why I can't give the place 5 star rating. The room had 2 king size beds; for our family of 5, it would be best to have 1 king bed and 2 queen/double beds. The suite had 2 king size beds and we have 3 teens. The lighting was weak all over the property. If you need air circulating in your room, be sure to ask for fans to be delivered to your rooms. WIFI works well when you can get it. We learned that sitting on the front porch, or common areas on the property you can get the WIFI but not in suite.
3 out of 5
by troy williams

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms are without air conditioner and there is very dim lighting making the overall enjoyment less. Otherwise, the area is beautiful and the overall rooms are nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Great view

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The best part of the hotel is that they have their own zip lines. Th guides are awesome and super funny. They also have their own night walk. The rooms have great views, but are simple in decor. Our rooms didn't come with any chairs. We had to call to request they bring some rocking chairs so that we can enjoy the view. The hotel resturant is overpriced but has excellent food and drinks. Everyone is very nice.
5 out of 5
by Shahla

Best Hotel Ever

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely incredible. I have never felt so pampered in my life! The hotel takes care of everything for you-from booking excursions to driving you to and from the spa at the hotel, which is amazing.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
Pretty good, might have rated it higher but two other upscale hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica were so great it made this one seem average. Room was very nice, had one with two beds and balcony and very nice bathroom. Service was average relative to other hotels and restaurant average, but with very good breakfast included with room rate.i would stay here again, no significant problems.