Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views, amazing property

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Beautiful grounds and Mountain views
Wonderful time, will definitely return - A truly great property
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Incroyable vue et chambre parfaite !

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: vue des chambre
Cons: aucune
Location: visite des parc nationnaux, du zipline et tours de nuit.
Nous avons réservé 2 nuits à Monteverde. L'hotel est parfaitement situé. Les chambres (bloc 7) ont une vue incroyable. La salle de bain est magnifique. La chambre super propre. Le personnel est très amical. Le restaurant est complètement hors prix. Allez plutôt en ville pour manger. Vous allez sauver beaucoup et il y a plusieurs excellents restaurants. Plusieurs belles activités à faire dans le coins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Hotel with great views from the room

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Incredible panoramic views from our room in the 700 building. Try and get rooms in the higher numbers as they are newer and have better views. The breakfasts were ok, not great and we did not eat there for dinner so there is no comment. We had a lovely experience there. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

El Establo-There must be another way to go.

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was OK if you like eating in a large dining room with the tour bus crowd.
Cons: Everything could be improved.
Location: MonteVerde is a great place to visit, experience wildlife, great views and ziplining. It should be on everyone's Costa Rica itinerary, but be prepared
El Establo is supposed to be the premier place to stay in MonteVerde. It is not. If a rundown, outdated, 70's style ski lodge is your idea of luxury, then feel free to stay there. Lumpy pillows and scratchy sheets and virtually no lights do not make for a pleasant stay. Water pressure? What does that mean? Yes, MonteVerde is off the beaten path but rates are high for the services provided. Be prepared and allow enough time to try to find a smaller place where maybe better services are provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Astonishing view

Posted Jan 18, 2016
We stayed in El Establo for one night. The room and all facilities are very well mantained. The view is astonishing. The pool a nice place to relax!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laval, Québec Canada

Confortable hôtel dans un bel environnement.

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Propreté et son emplacement.
Location: Près de tout, très bien comme emplacement.
Chambre confortable et très propre, petit déjeuner excellent. Agréable ballade de nuit dans un sentier avec un excellent guide (Ronnie). N'avons pas utilisé la piscine ou le spa, donc pas de commentaires. Nous y retournerions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Mixed Feelings

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Beautiful view, immersed in nature.
Cons: Many things, starting from friendliness and helpfulness of staff to cleanliness and maintenance.
Location: Location is great with many opportunities for activities and tours. Getting there is a challenge either get organized transportation or rent a 4x4.
We left this hotel with mixed feelings. At first we loved it, it probably has the best views in the Monteverde area. Unfortunately this remained the only positive we left with. The room was grand in size but very minimalist in furnishing, not sure how good a combination that is. We had two big problems. No. 1 the sheets on the beds were stained (various types of stains) and there was white powdery crust on one of them. We had to request for them to be changed because it was very off-putting. No. 2 this is supposed to be a +VIP hotel for Expedia and as Gold members we were supposed to receive some kind of perks. Seeing that the girl at check-in wasn't going to acknowledge that I asked her, twice, what do we get. She pretended she's never heard of that and said Expedia didn't notify them that they should do anything special. This being my first stay at a +VIP Hotel I was disappointed and called Expedia. The same girl told them a totally different story than she told me. By the time the issue was resolved, and I'm saying that hesitantly, it was time for us to leave so we got compensation from Expedia but nothing from the hotel. We didn't mind that the property was spread out, because it's a beautiful estate, however some of the shuttle drivers also exhibited signs of poor manners and attitude. As much as we loved the view I doubt we will be returning to this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MEXICO

BUENAS VISTAS

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: LAS VISTAS Y EL LUGAR RODEADO DE SELVA Y LA GENTE SUPER AMABLE Y SIEMPRE DISPUESTOS A AYUDARTE
Cons: EL DESAYUNO BUFFET NO DEBERIAN COBRAR 5 DLLS POR LOS HUEVOS AL GUSTO YA QUE EL HOTEL EN SI NO ES NADA BARATO
Location: CANCHA DE TENIS NO PERFECTA PERO AGUANTA , TIENE ALBERCA Y GIMNASIO NO GRANDE PERO AGUSTO YA QUE TIENEN MUY BUENA VISTA, CANOPY, Y MUCHO POR CAMINAR
UN POCO CAMPESTRES LOS CUARTOS YA QUE NO TIENEN AIRE ACONDICIONADO NI CALEFACCION TODO ES DEL CLIMA COMO ESTE EN EL MOMENTO, A MI NO ME TOCO CON BALCONES PERO MUY BUENAS VISTAS, CUARTOS GRANDES Y MUY GRANDE LA SUPERFICIE DEL TERRENO DEL HOTEL, YA QUE TIENE UN BOSQUE MUY GRANDE LE LLAMAN BOSQUE NUBOSO LO CAMINAMOS Y PRECIOSO, TIENE 2 RESTAURANTES EL ELEGANTE QUE SE ENCUENTRA ARRIBA PRECIOSO POR LAS VISTA HACIA UN LAGO, EL DE ABAJO ES PARA EL DASAYUNO BUFFET, RESTAURANT MUY X, LA GENTE SUPER AMABLE Y SIEMPRE PARA AYUDARTE, EN ESPECIAL URIEL SE ENCARGA DE CONSEGUIR LAS ACTIVIDADES EN MONTEVERDE Y NOS ORNGANIZABA EL DIA COMPLETO HASTA LA CENA MUY ATENTO Y MUY BUENA PERSONA, ESTUVE HOSPEDADO 3 DIAS ESTE HOTEL ES EL MEJOR DE MONTEVERDE, LA CAMINATA NOCTURNA, MUCHA GENTE PONE QUE ES MUY BONITA , PERO LA VERDAD PARA MI ES UN ROBO 25 DLLS POR PERSONA PARA CAMINAR EL BOSQUE EN LA NOCHE Y VER GRILLOS , UNOS CUANTOS PAJAROS DORMIDOS Y DOS RANAS Y DOS VIVORAS CHICAS EN ROLLADAS, PAGAR ESO POR CAMINAR EN LA NOCHE EN EL BOSQUE CON UN GUIA ???? SI LO VAN HACER LES RECOMINEDO LLEVAR BUENAS LAMPARAS YA QUE LAS QUE PRESTAN SON MUY MALITAS. CANOPY LES RECOMINDO EN AVENTURA LAS MEJORES POR MUCHO, EXTREME LAS HICIMOS TAMBIEN, PERO MEJORES LAS DE AVENTURA Y EL BONGY EN EXTREME MUY BUENO, CANOPY EN EL HOTEL SON LAS MAS MALAS.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Hermoso, pero limpieza pésima

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Hermoso lugar, vista inmejorable, arquitectura bonita. Limpieza de las habitaciones muy muy mala. Cama sucia del huesped anterior. Bedbugs (chinches) en la cama! Servicio sucio. El WC tapado. Al avisar de lo anterior en la recepción, no hicieron nada al respecto.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very poor customer service. Avoid

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Nothing really stood out. We checked in late and thought the vies would be amazing in the morning but nothing great.
Cons: Staff, service with a smile. Attend your guests better.
Location: There is plenty to do but not because of the location of the hotel. It is a small town. You can stay anywhere.
You can so easily tell the difference between a hotel chain where employees are trained vs a one off like this. The staff was extremely rude. Our toilet was out of order for more almost 1 full day. No one seemed to care because it was busy season. They claim to have internet in the reception and the restaurants. It was so poor connection, you couldn't do anything at all. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Breakfast is terrible. We had a 2 night stay here, ruined our 10 day vacation.