Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large hillside hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view
Cons: make the rooms more inviting and provide more property information
Location: great tours of surrounding cloud forest.
Rooms were adequate but lacked amenities. The rooms are sparsely decorated and do not feel inviting. There was no written information provided in the rooms to help with way finding or problem solving. No directions for phone use, restaurant information or where to find ice or drinks. Contact with the front desk staff was always polite and helpful. The rooms have gorgeous views with balconies. The property is very large but on a very steep hill. Although we love to walk it was too far up a very steep hill to view the pool or get to the restaurant. They do provide shuttle service quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Monteverde at Easter

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Everything.... Do make use of shuttle if you're room's high up and you're shattered.
Cons: The pool size.
Location: Lots of nature stuff and insane EXTREME activities.... But I'm quite timid.
First time in Costa Rica - first place too because our flights were held up because of Delta grinding to a halt.. Fortunately, all good. Tried the zip lining and had total meltdown after first run..... Did the rest with a guide...... Who cares? I saw more than anyone else and they were FAB about it. Staff nice, room nice. Pool could do with being bigger but all in all, first impressions are lasting (and good).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Location:
We wanted to experience the rain forest area, and we could not have picked a better place to stay in Monteverde! It is a difficult (terrible roads!) drive to get there, but once there, the views and property are spectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel. beautiful view and grounds. nice pool

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: location, view
Cons: the black out curtains should completely cover the windows. more light in the room. A list of prices, amenities and menu for restaurant, tours etc
Location: very convenient to get around and tour shuttles can easily pick you up to do the night hikes etc. take route 606!!! DO NOT go through Tilaran!
This is supposed to be one of the nicest hotels in the area and it probably is. We passed by the Monteverde Lodge which looked pretty nice as well but the other hotels in the area didn't look as good. I liked the pool especially because it was really hot when we visited. The grounds are nice to walk around and take a hike. We saw an opossum with 3 babies attached to it and a coati and even a quetzel flying around! The breakfast was pretty good. We also ate fast food and that was okay as well. The wifi is terrible but we found this throughout Monteverde. There is NO wifi in the room and it's spotty in the common areas. It is close to everything and easily walkable. We loved Don Luis restaurant that was right around the corner from the hotel! great pizza and steak! We were all the way at the top in the 900 rooms which had a beautiful view to the ocean but you had to take a shuttle to the reception and the restaurant. It's a very steep hill going to the top!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Un hotel para descansar en contacto con la natural

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Las vistas de las habitaciones de la parte alta de la montaña son asombrosas, los senderos en medio de la naturaleza algo que no puede perderse. Buen servicio de desayuno por mejorar la acústica en las habitaciones hace que el ruido de las habitaciones de al lado se escuche constantemente
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relax stay at a mountain hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017
We had a relaxing time at this hotel. This place pffers all the activities so that you do not need to go out. However there aré better options outside that are not mentioned. The food very expensive and not good. Overall very clean and comfortable hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose, Ca

Beautiful mountain top hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Spent 3 nights at the very beautiful hotel El Establo Our rooms overlooked the mountain and sunset Staff were great and helpful I highly recommend it and it's the best in the area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel, Very Bad management practices

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Hotel is a huge mountainside location. Great wide rooms some facing the pacific ocean.
Cons: Management Practices
Location: Monteverde cloud reserve, Zip Lines etc.
Hotel is a huge mountainside location. Great wide rooms some facing the pacific ocean. However the management practices encourage their employees to look at patrons as a revenue stream versus as hotel guests. Examples- the tour desk despite requests before the trip and during the trip would not send us a list of tours and prices. Prices would change and be based on what they feel they can get from you. Second, we got a resort credit through expedia upon booking, however when you go there they give you a card giving you a breakdown of how it is applied for money spent at restaurant, spa and tours. They should specify this during booking and they did not. So, you really can't apply it where you see fit. Brought this up to their manager at checkout and to my surprise he stuck by this stupid policy Their restaurant is overpriced, their tours are overpriced and did go to their Spa. I don't care about the silly resort credit but the way they treated us starting felt bad. It is beautiful hotel and place, but not going there ever again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maumee, OH

Impressive setting and view

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: I liked the view, the architecture, and grounds of this facility. We could see the Nicoya Peninsula from our room. I liked the coati, which visited.
Cons: It would be nice if the room had better lighting to allow reading after dark. The safe lacked a key.
Location: This is a super location from which to do some serious bird watching, e.g., Curi Cancha, where we hired a super-qualified guide.
The weather was perfect: upper 70s to low 80s during day, 60s at night. We selected the city of Santa Elena and Hotel Establo primarily to be close to our bird watching/nature tour at Curi Cancha. Taxi service was prompt and reasonably priced to get into town, if you don't want to walk. Walking at night might be risky due to curves of the road and the lack of space along the side of the road in places. The hotel has two very nice restaurants, and Santa Elena offers many other eating options too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Monteverde Location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Good location in Monteverde if you keep your activities local you will enjoy your stay. The hot l facilities its are extremely spread out and this is not apperant from the hotel descriptions, our room was at the very top in the 9 hundred rooms and it was too far and steep to walk to anything, you must take a car or the shuttle. Be aware the roads around Monteverde are all very rough dirt roads and it makes traveling to any activities outside town or the arrival and departure process difficult. The hotel was very nice, excellent views, great setting, and the staff and food were all very good.