Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Walkable distance to Santa Elena. Good central location for excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Nice retreat. We enjoyed the view from our room. Shuttle was handy and quick. Good location close to town. Comfy beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Poor service, No wifi in Rooms

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Toilet did not flush properly, was not repaired well after first complaint so it got clogged again. Also hot water did not flow properly in tub. There were very few vegetarian options in main restaurant and the chef refused to prepare any dish outside the menu. Do not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great view

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: View and room size
Cons: More comfortable furniture, some heating for room, more variety and quality if you take the very expensive breakfast option.
Location: Excellent proximity to all facilities
Great view, room under furnished , $4 for extra coffee, breakfast poor quality, choice, value
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

El establo? More like el diablo..

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Where do I begin? The overall experience was rated a 2/5 since it is on beautiful property with nice room views. The rest, however, led to a subpar experience. On arrival we were greeted by a less than enthusiastic staff member who explained a 100/night mandatory credit card charge for incidental damage (I'll come back to this later..), a shuttle service within the hotel property that ends at 10pm (the property is pitch black and our room was half a mile from reception..up a mountain), and the fact that the gym is "under maintenance." We later found out that the gym in fact is not in existence right now, despite being advertised with impressive pictures. The rooms do not have air conditioning or heating. There isn't ventilation the bathroom, but there is a window that opens up into a common walkway to get to other rooms. The "free wifi" as advertised barely works, and only near the reception desk. Restaurant menus are not available to peruse unless you physically go to the restaurant. Without going on much longer, our stay was as drab as the stormy days we spent there. Although there were some very nice staff members, overall the staff were unenthusiastic and did not seem eager to please guests. Upon checkout and the excitement of leaving, we were told the 200 dollar credit card incidental charge cannot simply be refunded. Another small charge had to be performed (a penny), and eventually, in several days, it all would be given back. A receipt could not be provided though
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very good option at Monteverde

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly and efficient service. Private walking trails and scenic outlooks.
Cons: 1 Why charge $5 extra for omelettes and pancakes ? 2.Hotel has gone overboard on energy saving making water tap in the bathroom virtually unusable.
This hotel is clean, comfortable and very well maintained. Hotel's own walking trails and scenic outlooks are great. Hotel is inconveniently large with rooms in different large buildings with long hallways and it is not an option to walk down to the lobby for a cup of coffee or anything else. But the staff does a great job with quick shuttle service to move around and handles maintenance issues quickly. Travel desk is friendly, responsive and efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing place

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The view, the staff, the food, everything
Incredibly beautiful hotel, very welcoming and organized
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Not worth the price

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The rooms are spacious and clean. Good view of the city from the balcony.
Cons: A lot, Mainly management.
Location: It was not that bad about the location. But its all unpaved road to get to Hotel. We did Canyoning and Canopy tour in Monteverde. It was lot of fun.
Its not worth the price we paid for hotel. Its better to find some other hotel in the vicinity No proper amenities that were mentioned in the website about the hotel. Swimming pool was not maintained and there is no Jacuzzi there. There was no WiFi in the rooms and in the WiFi Zone. No sufficient light bulbs in the rooms. Coffee maker did not work. It was noisy ( tuk-tuk) in the night, we couldn't sleep. The Hotel manager was not co-operative. The main door was not closing completely and our balcony door was jammed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Mountain Lodge experience

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Overall layout, rustic yet comfortable
Cons: Breakfast buffet
Location: Monteverde cloud forest, S. Elena town with lots of restaurants, ziplining
Up in the mountains, very serene and close to the Monteverde Cloud Forest
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view, mediocre staff

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The parking is horrible. they let busses block cars in, then refuse to wake up the driver to move said bus in the morning. we had to reschedule a morning hike because of this. The view from the rooms are stunning, the restaraunts are good (despite a slightly pricey breakfast), but the staff is pretty mediocre - especially given the price of the rooms.