Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Disappointing

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: It's located walking distance to town.
Cons: More staff is needed in the afternoons and theyshouldhave a better command of English.
When we arrived there was only one receptionist who was in charge of the entire hotel. She was very sweet and helpful however did not speak English well which caused some miscommunications. The room seemed spacious and decent until we noticed that the beds had dozens of tiny ants on them. There were no other available rooms to switch to so we checked out and went to another hotel who was able to accommodate us. The manager gave us or money back the next day which we were very thankful for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice monteverde hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2016
There was no air conditioner in the room and when asked they say its not needed for the place and none of the hotels have one. I dont know the truth behind that but air conditioner is a must and its up to customers to use it or not. Atleast in some rooms so the customers who needs can use. At the bare minimum fan is must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Relaxing home away from home

Posted Jan 14, 2016
The staff helped us book all kinds of fun things in the area and everyone did it with a smile on their face. Eugenia and Ana were especially great, and even helped me practice my Spanish (although everyone was fluent in English too). Very easy to communicate. Breakfast was delicious, fresh, and the two gentlemen running the buffet each morning were so kind. The chef makes fantastic Gallo pinto and the made-to-order eggs were wonderful. Lots of fruit and juices and amazing coffee!!! Our room had an amazing view. We were near the top center of everything and from the looks of it, every room had a nice view. We especially loved the giant sliding doors to the balcony. The temperature was warm during the day, but also cool in the evening, and we had some of the best night's sleep we've had in years. Very relaxing. Great view of sunset. There's a wonderful mist that rolls off the top of the hills in the morning, which makes morning walks even better. I can't say enough about how wonderful this place was. We look forward to returning to Hotel Ficus!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent short walk to town

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Hotel room was big and clean. A little empty. They have big uncomfortable wood chairs in the rooms, but they were useful. Our shower wasn't hot on the first night, but the staff fixed it the next day. Hotel had nowhere to get a bottle of water or soda which was annoying so we had to go to town, but they had a fridge which helped. Breakfast was ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jinling from california,USA

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
beautiful view, nice hotel in downtown. Close to restaurants. Nice breakfast. People are helpful. Room has some smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christian from San Jose, Costa Rica

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Is not the cheapest in the zone but it worth it, the lady at the front desk was very nice, she knows the activities in the zone very well and she recommend us for things to do, the room had an amazing view, the room is big the hotel is very nice. For me was a nice stay at this place and i would go there again for my next trip to Monteverde
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Manfred

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by BRUCE from Glen oaks ny

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice and great breakfast!

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel in a perfect location. Rooms are very clean and the breakfast was excellent. The staff in the kitchen was extremely courteous and helpful, made us feel very welcome. Only complaint was when using the computer, internet connection was extremely slow, almost crawling. When pointing this out, the body language of the person at the front desk was something like 'well, what do you want me to do about it'? The rest was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moorhead, MN

Clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Stayed 2 nights. Evan was very helpful in arranging tours. Breakfast was ok, rooms were clean, beds were very firm.