Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not recommended

Posted May 13, 2016
i found a dead bug on my bed in the morning shower water is not warm enough
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Beautiful view

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Walking distance from town, large comfortable rooms with fridge, adequate hot breakfast although was lacking in healthy choices( fruit loops and cocoa puffs??). Would definitely stay again
3 out of 5
by Donna from NC

Monteverde locale

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Outside of hotel looks nice and the grounds are well kept. Rooms are large as is the bathroom but the interior does not match. Furniture is fairly worn. Showers run hot & cold. Breakfast is included but offerings are somewhat basis. It is busy early with the hikers and tour folks hitting the breakfast lines at the same time. One morning had difficulty getting anything to eat at all. It was pretty picked by 7am & the employee was having a hard time keeping up. Nice views at sunset from the balcony of the rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Modern. Cleanliness. View
Very nice hotel. Basically walking distance to all things in town. Some rooms are up high with challenging slopes. If you mobility issues select rooms on the lower levels. Views are fabulous. Highest room on (looking up) the the right has a slight view of a car wash. Noise during the day with the high pressure machines. We weren't there during the day so no problem. Great sunset view!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Disappointing

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: It's located walking distance to town.
Cons: More staff is needed in the afternoons and theyshouldhave a better command of English.
When we arrived there was only one receptionist who was in charge of the entire hotel. She was very sweet and helpful however did not speak English well which caused some miscommunications. The room seemed spacious and decent until we noticed that the beds had dozens of tiny ants on them. There were no other available rooms to switch to so we checked out and went to another hotel who was able to accommodate us. The manager gave us or money back the next day which we were very thankful for.
5 out of 5
by ellen from Arroyo Grande, CA

Beautiful hotel with incredible views

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
This is a lovely hotel in a perfect location for visiting all of the preserves in Monteverde. Ask for a room at the top of the hill for incredible views!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice monteverde hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2016
There was no air conditioner in the room and when asked they say its not needed for the place and none of the hotels have one. I dont know the truth behind that but air conditioner is a must and its up to customers to use it or not. Atleast in some rooms so the customers who needs can use. At the bare minimum fan is must.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Relaxing home away from home

Posted Jan 14, 2016
The staff helped us book all kinds of fun things in the area and everyone did it with a smile on their face. Eugenia and Ana were especially great, and even helped me practice my Spanish (although everyone was fluent in English too). Very easy to communicate. Breakfast was delicious, fresh, and the two gentlemen running the buffet each morning were so kind. The chef makes fantastic Gallo pinto and the made-to-order eggs were wonderful. Lots of fruit and juices and amazing coffee!!! Our room had an amazing view. We were near the top center of everything and from the looks of it, every room had a nice view. We especially loved the giant sliding doors to the balcony. The temperature was warm during the day, but also cool in the evening, and we had some of the best night's sleep we've had in years. Very relaxing. Great view of sunset. There's a wonderful mist that rolls off the top of the hills in the morning, which makes morning walks even better. I can't say enough about how wonderful this place was. We look forward to returning to Hotel Ficus!
4 out of 5
by PHILIPPE from Bergerac

Bel établissement b

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Très bel établissement, vue magnifique depuis la chambre Petit bémo, le vis à vis et l'accès à pied au chambre
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent short walk to town

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Hotel room was big and clean. A little empty. They have big uncomfortable wood chairs in the rooms, but they were useful. Our shower wasn't hot on the first night, but the staff fixed it the next day. Hotel had nowhere to get a bottle of water or soda which was annoying so we had to go to town, but they had a fridge which helped. Breakfast was ok.