Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Canada

Nice with a beautiful view (of a forest).

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Low price and courteous personnel
Cons: A little wardrobe or so ethi g where to place clothes.
Location: Lots of things! Monteverde is a paradise. To get there, however, you must go trhough hell: the gravel roads (from SJ or from La Fortuna- Arenal).
Basic stuff; coherent with price charged. Rooms in the back have a beautiful view. Our was at top floor. Animals roamed around during the night makine a lot of noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba, Canada

Quaint hotel in heart of Monteverde

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Cons: We were looking for Forest Dreams Hotel Manakin, but the little sign on the road identifies it as Manakin Lodge. It is important to be consistent
Although difficult to find in the town of Monteverde, Manakin Lodge is a little inn near all the amenities, with very courteous staff, comfy bed, and very good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from Syracuse

Not high end, but not bad

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: The owner/mangers were very friendly, very helpful, providing insiders tips on things to do and places to go around Santa Elena and Monteverde.
Cons: In a week's stay, my room was never made up once. The breakfast, while not bad, could use a little variety (eggs every day).Only a few parking spaces.
Location: The hotel is about a mile from either Santa Elena town and Monteverde village. Walkable, but a cab ride is only about $2.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 11, 2013
We booked 2 standard rooms. Both were dingy and one had no window at all in the bedroom. Our bathroom was unclean - I don't mind old but I do expect clean! The location was ok and I guess overall you get what you pay for as it was a good price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B Ann from Kansas

Basic Accommodations at a Fair Price.

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Clean and comfortable with a friendly and helpful staff (family operated). Breakfast is made to order and very tasty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient Monteverde Hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Moderate hotel with very nice staff. First impression is of quite dumpy surroundings, but hotel is neat and clean. Guest parking is tight but inside closed gate for security. Only charged us $5 to do a large load of laundry, on site. Rooms at rear of hotel are view rooms to trees with some bird sightings. Nice breakfast included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Curt & Katie from Montana, USA

Great comfortable room.

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: The decorations and cleanliness were great.
Cons: There was no view from the room.
This is a very small hotel not far from the street. It looks like it is in a crowded area from the street, but when you are in the restaurant or looking out from the back porch, you look into the woods. It was very cheap and comfortable and decorated nicely. The TV didn't get the best reception, but we weren't spending much time in the room anyway. The breakfast was very nice. The hotel is within walking distance to some other restaurants for dinner. It is not a bad drive to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve from the hotel. There is so much to do in the area, all you need is a nice room and this was definitely it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge, AB

Good for the money.

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Good for the money. Included breakfast was delicious. Monteverde is a great area to visit; the roads to get there however, are HORRIBLE, especially coming from Arenal area. They're not dirt roads, they're rock roads! If driving I would definitely advise a SUV or 4WD truck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sandra

Friendliest little hotel in Monteverde

Posted Feb 22, 2013
Pros: The brothers who run it.
Cons: The real name is Manakin Lodge. This made it harder to find.
Location: The location was a few kilometres outside of St. Elena. There were several restaurants near by within walking distance.
The best thing about this hotel is the friendliness of the brothers who run it. They couldn't do enough for us, booking an arranging tours as well as printing off maps for our next location The rooms are basic but very clean and a hearty breakfast was served. The outside of this hotel doesn't look like much but it is safe and friendly on the inside
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Campbell, CA

Great hotel, location and mainly excellent staff.

Posted Jan 10, 2013
The hotel is not the 3 star that you may be familiar with in the US, I feel the star rating standards are different. However, I really liked the location, the room and most of all why I gave my 5 rating is the staff. They are very courteous and will go out of their way to help you. One example, there is no coffee maker in the room but you ask one of the two brothers who run the place and they will bring hot coffee to your room in 5 minutes. Their breakfast is very nice too.