Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They are not open 24/7 to check in

Posted May 27, 2017
They close after 8pm no one is in the reception if you don't arrive before 8pm you won't be able to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
When a guest arrive after 8pm we put all the info and keys inside the room. So for sure you have your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay....good location.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: location was great for both enjoying the room and the area on foot.
Location: great parks and gardens near by within walking distance of town....bakery and grocery store near by.
I enjoyed my stay at Forest Dreams Manakin. The staff were always very helpful and accommodating and the location was good for walking to different things to do. I enjoyed the fact that there was forest around.....birds and monkeys to be enjoyed from the balcony of the room which was awesome. The price was right, the breakfast in the morning was good and I would have extended my stay here but they were booked. If I am ever in the area again I would definitely stay here....good value for the price.
5 out of 5
by Chloe

Monkeys right on your door

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
Great value for money, very friendly owner/reception. Monkeys even visited at breakfast on our balcony. Bed could be a little more comfy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sudbury Ontario

Not worth the $

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Smelly rooms, windows don't open, no fan, smokers smoking outside our room that made our room stink, old bedding, difficult to park your car. They charge $20 more for our daughter they said it was because of breakfast but their small limited portions weren't enough and she had no juice only tea or coffee
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The brothers who own this hotel were very pleasant and polite. The hotel was very inexpensive and it includes freshly made breakfast.
Cons: The room was extremely humid, it was like sleeping in my basement before we put in a dehumidifier.
Location: The location was great, lots of things to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Unique experience

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast, cool setting with jungle sounds at night, hummingbirds outside the window in the morning, funky murals on the wall Cons: beds are a bit stiff, some mold in bathroom, cold lighting, not a luxury hotel by any means. All in all, I liked this hotel because it had character. Perfect for a brief stay in beautiful Monteverde.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, lovely staff

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful and there were monkeys right outside my room.
Cons: The pillows weren't very comfy and my room was dark. The rooms were a bit dated and could have done with a refurbishment.
Location: Fabulous, beautiful location. Close to all the main attractions in Monteverde and close to shops and restaurants etc.
This hotel, although a little rustic is a lovely place to stay. I really enjoyed my time there due to the friendly staff, location and monkeys that visited.
2 out of 5
by Gladys from Seattle

Backpacker Hostel. Not a hotel. NO Hot water

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
If you are a backpacker it is ok. Not adequate for other couples or families. No hot water at all. No a/c or heat. Towels were threadbare. No toiletries Breakfast was great , wifi ok and the staff were very nice. More like a hostel than hotel but the price was right
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

View and location perfect!!

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Staff, hummingbirds, THE VIEW, large room and bed, walking to everything.
Cons: Could use better pillows on the bed.
Location: Plenty of restaurants with fantastic food. Night tours of the cloud forest - AWESOME! Ziplining. Several cloud forest parks. Bat Jungle.
Jonathan checked us in, he was wonderful. Gave us a recommendation for a night tour, which was fantastic! Hotel room was large, bed comfy, view was incredible! Hummingbirds fly all around. Wind at night sounds haunting but cool. Good parking, close enough to walk to stores and restaurants, but far enough away from noise. I loved this place, wish we had spent more time here. The food in Monteverde is soo good!!
2 out of 5
by Rowena from Toronto

Call it a cabin

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is a cabin not hotel accommodation. The tv is better than other in the neighbourhood. The bed is a bunk bed. Great for students or for a short stay. There's really not a lot of choices for accommodation but if you are looking for a hotel this is not the one. It's a bit pricy for what they offer