Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Comfortable stay

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The jacuzzi, the breakfasts, the bed!
Cons: We lounged at the pool for a good 3h in the afternoon and no one came by to offer us drinks, as we were told there would be, so that was disappointing
Location: We were able to book horseback riding in the sunset and ziplining very easily. Downtown is very close by and there were very good restaurants availabl
Our stay at the Hotel was very comfortable. We were glad the room was very clean and the bed was just great! (we had a King Size, very good bed). The wind in Monteverde was crazy loud though, and the balcony door would sometimes make a loud noise. But we slept through it anyway. The included breakfast was very nice (you get to choose what you would like to eat from a selection). Our favorite part was probably the pool section. The wind was making it a little bit too cold to swim in the beautiful pool, but the jacuzzi is one of the prettiest I'd ever seen and we had a great time lounging there after dark, after a day full of adventure. The service was very good, we had to leave at 3AM for the airport, they arranged a shuttle for us and packed us breakfast, which was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Imposible to sleep, housekeeping enters room

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: location, bed
Cons: GUEST SERVICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Noise cancellation and how to solve problems
Location: Lots of things around, canopy, hike, parks.
We woke up on a Sunday before 8 am because of the noise of buses outside our window, waiting for tourists to get in with the motors on for more than 20 minutes. They told us the day before we were “lucky” because those were the new rooms they just finish building, but when the buses finally left some constructions started downstairs with hammers, drills and everything for hours until we had to call the Front Desk to see if we could get some sleep…obviously they weren´t finished at all…. To end up our TERRIBLE experience, a Housekeeping lady enter our room around 10am without even knocking… she just opened the door and enter the room without even announcing her entrance. Hospitality BASIC rule!!!!!!!!! When we checked out the Front Desk lady didn’t care much about the complains and we were so mad that we just left. NEVEN coming back nor recommending this hotel EVER, they do not know how to treat a guest and even worst a mad and disappointed guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Chester, PA

Great hotel, unfortunate weather

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Location - close to Monteverde and cloudforest tours/activities
Cons: Make hot tub hotter
Location: Monteverde, ziplining, cloudforest tours, bat jungle
We were hoping to enjoy this hotel and its facilities for three nights, but unfortunately the weather did not cooperate - while we were there, a tropical depression set in with no signs of clearing up in the near future. We had to cut our trip short and move on to our next stop in Costa Rica, but did enjoy touring the El Trapiche coffee/chocolate/sugar cane plantation and the bat jungle close by. The staff was very accommodating in terms of our change in plans. The hotel was beautiful in a gorgeous setting - we finally got to see a bit of the view the day we left. My only complaint was that the hot tub wasn't very hot, and we were hoping to take advantage of it to thaw out from the wet weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from nc

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: spacious room, travelled with husband and 2 kids. our suite had a queen, twin and king bed
Cons: no
Very spacious room, nice restaurant. check-in was delayed by about 20 min, but otherwise, no issues. very convenient location. friendly, helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Of all the hotels in this city, this one was good in comparison at the price we paid. It was average at best, but when you realize where you are, it is not that bad. The rooms were on the small side and out dated, bugs got into the room easily (and no, we weren't leaving the door wide open for many hours), and we didn't get hot water for the shower. There was an odor, but I think it is because it is just moist and rains frequently in this city. It was close to the main area and walkable so that was a plus! The breakfast was good and the bar had a good happy hour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Greetings from Monteverde, we know sometimes the moisture gets in the rooms and its really hard to get rid of it. We are also working to eradicate bugs from rooms by using more natural repellents. our rooms are on the forest side and sometimes bugs are more attracted to the shelter of dryer areas. We are working very hard to renovate our facilities and will have a fresh hotel starting dec 2016. Thank you again. Our strongest feature is our location regarding the town of Santa Elena as well as the added values like pool, jacuzzi, spa, etc. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel in Monteverde

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful. The hotel has a good restaurant with a great happy hour and you can take dvd's from the reception which is great for rainy nights. The room is pretty basic and the furniture is a bit out dated but all in all we had a very good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hotels.com guest, thank you for your review. I´m very glad you enjoyed your stay. Happy hour, bar promos, great food, live music, pool, spa, jacuzzi, gardens and inroom facilities make the hotel a very pleasant place for guests. We are renovating our rooms, bathrooms, decor etc. Thank you very much!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel but in a busy neighborhood, lots of traffic and construction noise early in the morning (5am). We enjoyed the pool and restaurant and close proximity to Monteverde cloud forest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, we are very sorry about the noise, we are working on renovations and details that must be ready for dec 2016, so we have been working for long hours. We actually start at 6 am, and we keep it quiet until 7:30 or 8:00. We are very close to down town Santa Elena, guests have very easy access to shops, cafeterias, restaurants, local bars, banks, tours etc.. We are not the most quiet place in Monteverde, yet, we have lots of added values and more. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Expedia Traveller, Thank you very much!! Muchas gracias estimado/a huésped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with modern amenities near Monteverde

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Poco a Poco has good access to restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast served daily. Nice pool , pretty garden and entrainment options on some days.