Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

Two night stop off in Monteverde

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We stopped two nights and had upgraded to room with terrace and jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was not as hot as in UK and didn't seem to go any warmer but we sat in it couple hours with beers and enjoyed. Room very large and lovely bathroom shower only but huge. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights and the food was the best we'd eaten since arriving in Costa Rica week before. Hotel has pool and jacuzzi but we didn't use it as was out most of the day on trips. Easy walk into down town and supermarket, ATM and few shops places to eat in small shopping centre across road. Beware if driving the roads In and out of Monteverde are the worse we've driven on great experience but be ready for them winding up very bumpy and no barriers! Would recommend hotel and staff friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Budget hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2017
The hotel is in the middle of a bit of an overhaul on its parking lot so it was a bit noisy during our 3 day stay. The rooms are in need of an overhaul too. Good breakfast included. Good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel in the middle of town

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Nice hotel, walking distance to the main part of town with shops and restaurants. Pool and hot tub area were very nice. Restaurant was delicious but they don't really have a lunch menu. The phones in the rooms weren't working and there was no air conditioner but luckily there was a nice breeze at night.
5 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Comfortable stay

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The jacuzzi, the breakfasts, the bed!
Cons: We lounged at the pool for a good 3h in the afternoon and no one came by to offer us drinks, as we were told there would be, so that was disappointing
Location: We were able to book horseback riding in the sunset and ziplining very easily. Downtown is very close by and there were very good restaurants availabl
Our stay at the Hotel was very comfortable. We were glad the room was very clean and the bed was just great! (we had a King Size, very good bed). The wind in Monteverde was crazy loud though, and the balcony door would sometimes make a loud noise. But we slept through it anyway. The included breakfast was very nice (you get to choose what you would like to eat from a selection). Our favorite part was probably the pool section. The wind was making it a little bit too cold to swim in the beautiful pool, but the jacuzzi is one of the prettiest I'd ever seen and we had a great time lounging there after dark, after a day full of adventure. The service was very good, we had to leave at 3AM for the airport, they arranged a shuttle for us and packed us breakfast, which was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Imposible to sleep, housekeeping enters room

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: location, bed
Cons: GUEST SERVICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Noise cancellation and how to solve problems
Location: Lots of things around, canopy, hike, parks.
We woke up on a Sunday before 8 am because of the noise of buses outside our window, waiting for tourists to get in with the motors on for more than 20 minutes. They told us the day before we were “lucky” because those were the new rooms they just finish building, but when the buses finally left some constructions started downstairs with hammers, drills and everything for hours until we had to call the Front Desk to see if we could get some sleep…obviously they weren´t finished at all…. To end up our TERRIBLE experience, a Housekeeping lady enter our room around 10am without even knocking… she just opened the door and enter the room without even announcing her entrance. Hospitality BASIC rule!!!!!!!!! When we checked out the Front Desk lady didn’t care much about the complains and we were so mad that we just left. NEVEN coming back nor recommending this hotel EVER, they do not know how to treat a guest and even worst a mad and disappointed guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Chester, PA

Great hotel, unfortunate weather

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Location - close to Monteverde and cloudforest tours/activities
Cons: Make hot tub hotter
Location: Monteverde, ziplining, cloudforest tours, bat jungle
We were hoping to enjoy this hotel and its facilities for three nights, but unfortunately the weather did not cooperate - while we were there, a tropical depression set in with no signs of clearing up in the near future. We had to cut our trip short and move on to our next stop in Costa Rica, but did enjoy touring the El Trapiche coffee/chocolate/sugar cane plantation and the bat jungle close by. The staff was very accommodating in terms of our change in plans. The hotel was beautiful in a gorgeous setting - we finally got to see a bit of the view the day we left. My only complaint was that the hot tub wasn't very hot, and we were hoping to take advantage of it to thaw out from the wet weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from nc

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: spacious room, travelled with husband and 2 kids. our suite had a queen, twin and king bed
Cons: no
Very spacious room, nice restaurant. check-in was delayed by about 20 min, but otherwise, no issues. very convenient location. friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels