Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very nice hotel in a good location. Loved the private hot tub!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, Ca

Hotel needs some improvements

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This was the last hotel we stayed at during our 11 days trip. Reached there in pouring rain (but then that should be normal for the area) and were treated nicely at checkin. Booked 3 rooms. Pathway to rooms is not covered so woth pouring rain and luggage... makes for a challenge. Staff in restaurant could be friendlier. Room - Had only 2 towels total. No exhaust fan in bathroom and window didn't have screen. So bugs and insects flew/crawled in. One pillow smelled like puke and we asked to replace it. It was replaced with another that smelled the same. Room 2 - No towels at all. Don't understand why they were being so stingy with towels. Rained leaked into room. Room 3 - Trail of ants. Rainwater came in from under front door. Overall, the property itself can be improved. And staff a little nicer and smiles can help.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Small room. Ceiling leak during rainfall. Staff uncourteous and not accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town

Posted Jul 9, 2017
This hotel was okay. The staff was awesome. They helped arrange all our tours. Our room was very clean. Nice clean washed comforter. But the rooms were dated. Esp the bathrooms. No fridge. I understand not having air conditioning for ecological reasons but a fan would've been nice. This may sound picky but the bed needed a headboard. Not having a headboard made it very hard to lean against the back especially since there was a space between the mattress and the bedframe in the wall. The mattress was very comfortable. The hotel is very close to town. Within walking distance. Which made it very very noisy at night. Dogs barking, cars, motorcycles. And leaving the window closed wasn't an option because we needed the breeze in the room. The breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
by Katrina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by jennifer

Nice place to relax, but so many fun things to do

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing garden, pool and spa area! It was so nice I just wanted to stay there all day, but there are so many wonderful thing to do in Monteverde. So make sure you have enough time to enjoy the Hotel too. The reception had great services as well. They booked my taxi to get me there and back and help with any other bookings you need it. They also held my luggage after I checked out so I could go walk around the town without it. I want to come back and bring my family next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Good hotel close to town.

Posted May 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Lillian at the front desk is wonderful extremely helpful and friendly. The pool and jacuzzi is pleasant. It's a 5 minute walk into the main town area. Easily access many restaurants and bars. My only complaint is that our room always had a lot of bugs(mostly small some big ones. No matter what we did to try to keep the lights off or the windows closed (no fan in the room so it was very hot with no airflow). I have stayed deep in the jungle in La Fortuna but nowhere near as many bugs in my room as here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

Two night stop off in Monteverde

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We stopped two nights and had upgraded to room with terrace and jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was not as hot as in UK and didn't seem to go any warmer but we sat in it couple hours with beers and enjoyed. Room very large and lovely bathroom shower only but huge. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights and the food was the best we'd eaten since arriving in Costa Rica week before. Hotel has pool and jacuzzi but we didn't use it as was out most of the day on trips. Easy walk into down town and supermarket, ATM and few shops places to eat in small shopping centre across road. Beware if driving the roads In and out of Monteverde are the worse we've driven on great experience but be ready for them winding up very bumpy and no barriers! Would recommend hotel and staff friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Budget hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2017
The hotel is in the middle of a bit of an overhaul on its parking lot so it was a bit noisy during our 3 day stay. The rooms are in need of an overhaul too. Good breakfast included. Good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel in the middle of town

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Nice hotel, walking distance to the main part of town with shops and restaurants. Pool and hot tub area were very nice. Restaurant was delicious but they don't really have a lunch menu. The phones in the rooms weren't working and there was no air conditioner but luckily there was a nice breeze at night.