Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by ken from New Jersey

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here four nights. It sits on a large nature reserve where one can go bird watching in the early morning and hiking. The breakfasts are very good and there are several hummingbird feeders around the lodge where one can see hummingbirds flying about. Everyone is very nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by Wilberth Parajeles, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for visiting us, that's good to know they like, the whole team here makes as much as possible for our customers to have a good time, we are delighted to know that you enjoy the true taste the pleasure of sharing with the environment, hopefully in your next visit to Costa Rica staying with us again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

July 2015

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
Several trails into the surrounding forest. Guided night walk ($15pp) right from the lodge. $6 cab ride into town or a steep walk. Great staff. Several rooms were robbed during our stay - without any sign of a break-in. There are no in-room safes - do as the hotel recommends and USE THE SAFE AT RECEPTION.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2015 by Wilberth Parajeles, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you enjoyed it and we deeply regret the bad emxperiencia I play them to live to customers in the other room that robbed some things left, from here have made changes to try to prevent this situation from recurring, however this is a problem that happens even in the best cities in the world. always we encourage customers not to leave valuables in the room or between cars But we would like that when they return to Costa Rica visit us and seek to treat them even better
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Poor restaurant, wafer thin walls, poor Wi-fi.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Location and trails.
Cons: Wi-fi, food quality, drinks price list.
Location: Good for bird watching, walking.
Food is expensive and reflects the cost of taxi trips into town. Beer is extremely expensive and the prices are not listed. Food quality is poor and so is the service, especially after you complain. The walls of the semi-detached rooms are wafer thin so you can hear every word of your neighbours phone calls at 4am! Wi-fi is good in the main building, but unusable in the room. Give the Night Walk a miss as the guide only talks to the people behind him. As we were English in a large group of French and Italian speakers we did not learn a lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2015 by gerente, Hotel Management
We apologize for your bad experience, I really wish I knew what was happening to him maybe we could do something to make your stay to be very pleasant, as the internet in the rooms must say that we have invested heavily in trying to improve, the problem according to experts is that there are many tr
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cloud Forest Lodge March 12th 2015

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
Room: Room got cool at night but just ask for an extra blanket at reception. I was in B2. This is a great room at the end of the row and therefore a bit more removed from others. Soaps, shampoos and glasses all available. The walls are thin and the forest is awake at night, if you have trouble sleeping bring ear plugs. Hiking The hiking trails are well maintained, some of them had paths that weren't on the map so I just marked my way and found that they all ended up getting you out of the forest anyway. I didn't see anyone else on the walks. So just as a precaution because I was walking solo I checked in and out with reception whenever I went on a walk. Like I said, I didn't see anyone out there. Transportation Really easy. Taxi from Santa Elena is USD$5. Tours will pick you up fro the Lodge and drop you back. Restaurant: I enjoyed the Costa Rican breakfast and the view is fantastic no matter what time of day. Currency: Everything is in USD. You pay more but I was only there for 3 days so it was worth the convenience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by Wilberth Parajeles, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for having stayed at our hotel, thank you for your comment each of our team comes to the maximum to give good service, we are delighted you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again the next time you return to Costa Rica
3 out of 5
by Nicole from Minnesota, USA

Average rooms, nice isolated location

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
Pretty typical room, but a little spendy considering no wifi available in the rooms or any other in-room amenities. The beds were not very comfortable. The trails around the place are decent with good varied habitat for bird watching.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Nice hotel - beautiful view.

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: The location.
Location: We did the zip-lining and hanging bridges in Sepulveda - not too far!
I thought the hotel was in a perfect location. We like to hike, so we took one of your hikes right on the property. The breakfast was excellent! The view from the dining room were beautiful. It was fun to see the hummingbirds and animals as we were eating. Not too far if we wanted to go into town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2015 by gerente, Hotel Management
Thanks for you visit we hope to see you again
4 out of 5
by Kathleen from Leeds

Cloud Forest

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
Cloud Forest without a cloud in sight! Fantastic view of the ocean instead.