Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton Canada

Not a convenient location

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were not overly accommodating in the dining area of front desk we asked for extra coffee they couldn't locate it, the waiter was rushed and slightly rude no dips for chicken strips, no where to buy pop or snacks so went the night with no beverages they only had beer and wine and the free breakfast was terrible. Would not reccommend at all. Not a good value at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy Hour Guaro Sours a must!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Fairly close to town. Was known.
Cons: Update and have staff ready and waiting.
Overall, nice hotel. Seems a little run down. Staff was hard to find sometimes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte

great value and great service!

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Orbitz
stay there for two nights and very satisfied, quiet and very convenient location, front desks are very helpful and give you all good suggestions
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice place to stay in Monteverde

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Landscaping, cleanliness
Cons: Pave the roads to Monteverde! And add street signs so you know what road you are on.
Location: Selvatura Park
With only a paper fold-out map, this hotel was really hard to find. If you have GPS, maybe it would be easier. And the road to get to the towns of Santa Elena/Monteverde (through the town of Juntas from Route 1) was ROUGH. All dirt and rocks for miles and miles on really narrow and super curvy roads (if you want to call them "roads") on steep cliffs. The hotel itself was much nicer than I expected from other reviews. Very nice landscaping with fountains in courtyards. The room was basic but clean. We had a room on the second floor, with a balcony and king size bed. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom, and pre-filled soap dispensers. It was perfect for the one night we were staying in Monteverde. The location of the hotel seemed far away from the rest of the town though, so if you were planning on exploring more of Santa Elena by walking, you might want something closer. The hotel also provided a free shuttle to the Selvatura Park which was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, California

Pleasant layout, great landscaping, attentive staf

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: well maintained, rooms were well furnished.
Cons: can not think of anything
Location: Did Monteverde Cloud Forest (a bit crowded), and Santa Elena Cloud Forest (less people and much thinker forest, liked it more). But enjoyed them both
Stayed three nights and throughout the stay, all the staff was attentive and very helpful. Dinner was great. Breakfast was great, rooms spacious and clean, and well maintained. Gardens,landscaping was very nice with fountains. Hoping to have the opportunity to stay again with other family members.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
There was nothing really right by the lodge as far as entertainment, but very quiet and nice. I liked the fact that it was a bit away from the hustle and bustle, and the staff was very attentive and friendly. The wifi signal was pretty weak though.
3 out of 5
by Kathryn from Swift Current

A great place but the rooms need a makeover.

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
The reception and dining area are fairly new and the grounds are well kept. We had great help organizing tours and everything was on time. Not much waiting around for transportation. It looks as though there is an original part to the hotel and a new addition. Our room was in the old area and was very dated. The beds were uncomfortable and the bedding and pillows needed to be replaced. We had lots of hot water and a nice view from the deck. The staff were great and the buffet breakfast was also tasty.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2016 by Monteverde Country Lodge, Hotel Management
Dear Kathryn, thanks for taking your time to share your experience at Monteverde Country Lodge. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay and that our staff helped you organize your tours. We always make sure we provide healthy and fresh options for breakfast, it is good to hear you enjoyed it! We are taking your comments into consideration, we take every opportunity to improve. Happy travels!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Simple rooms in a nice hotel complex

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: The staff was nice.
Cons: Give is the promised feather duvets.
Location: You will waste hours driving 10 mph to just get there, because they have no paved roads in the area.
The main areas of the hotel are nice, especially the large playground, fountains and benches. The rooms, however, are disappointing. Not feather duvets, as promised, just plain blankets and old bed spreads. We were cold at night. The bathroom looked relatively new, but there was no space to put down toiletries. No closet, just a shelf with a coat rack, no fridge, not even a hair dryer. Therefor plenty of ants. We called the front desk to sent someone who sprayed the room right away. The breakfast buffet was very simple, with little to choose from. The restaurant was empty in the evening, we were the only guests, but the food was okay. We walked to the nature preserve down the hill, where they charge 15$ for a hike through the woods. We saw a few butterflies, that was it. Monkeys hang out near the reception. Monteverde is alltogether overrated, they charge an arm and a leg for everything, even a hike, because they are all private. The government does not even maintain the roads. It takes forever to get there, because none of the roads leading there are paved. Coming from Arenal we spent 3 hours on appx. 40 miles of very steep, curvy dirt roads with huge pot holes. You better rent a Jeep if you want to go faster than 10 mph. Leaving towards Route 1 is another 20 miles of gravel roads, with potholes and all. We had rented a Prius, and it probably needs new shocks now. It was not worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Tina, thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. It seems that your visit to Monteverde didn´t meet your expectations at all, what a shame! Monteverde can get rain more often than not, that is why the area is so green and diverse, guests shouldn´t let the weather become an obstacle to explore the Rain Forest. Monteverde is a charming and unique destination. The zip lining, hanging bridges, coffee tours, orchid garden, butterfly garden, frog pond and hiking trails are definitely worth visiting! We are a little confused about you mentioning feather duvets... we do not offer them or promise them in any way. We are sorry to hear you were cold at night, we are happy to provide heaters and extra blankets upon request. Perhaps next time you should align your expectations with the type of country you are visiting, this is Costa Rica after all... We are sure doing more research before you decide on a place will really work for your expectations and personal preferences. Better luck next time. Happy travels!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pagosa springs co

Acceptable but dated

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Facility and grounds are nice. Good location. Good buffet for breakfast included. Rooms are dated especially mattresses and linens. Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Best we saw in all of CR. Can walk to town in about 15 minutes or take a 3$ taxi or 1$ bus. MV has good restaurants as well to choose from. Weather was a pleasant change from the heat at the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2016 by Monteverde Country Lodge Management, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, your feedback about your stay in Monteverde Country Lodge is greatly apprecciated. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities, we cater for a relaxed, cozy, classic Monteverde ambience, spacious corridors, and comfortable rooms, gardens, fountains and lounge areas. Our staff is another one of our highlights, they are truly dedicated to provide exceptional service. We agree there are some flaws we need to address, we´ll be more careful about those details. Happy travels!