Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Rain forest delight

Posted May 14, 2017 on CheapTickets
We really enjoyed this lodge. The drive here is an adventure and the lodge was worth it. We had excellent food and service. everyone is very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

Loved the peaceful ambience of the hotel, the gard

Posted May 13, 2017
The garden, butter fly room everyone and everything was lovely.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Family favourite & Finest dining

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
This was one of our families' favourites although the price was higher than most.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Eco Hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: We loved Everything about this hotel. Having visited 20 years ago as Newlyweds, we returned with our friends from Canada. They loved it Too!
Cons: Mini Refrigerators in the room would be a Great Improvement.
Location: The MonteVerde Cloud Forrest Reserve is close by. IT IS the reason you come here. But plenty other options..Zip Line, ATV,Hiking,Biking,Birding,etc
Beautiful Eco Hotel with Lovely Grounds with it's own Butterfly Garden. Very Friendly staff. And Great Food in the Restaurant. Leave the hotel Lobby and you are already walking nature paths with animal viewing. Just a stone throw away from the front door, we saw 2 Toed Sloth, Many Agouti, Coati, And White Faced Monkey. Also Birds Galore. The MotMot is a garden resident. Birds and Butterfly's all around the Beautiful Pool area. And Just dozens of Hummingbirds just outside the back door in the Garden. Absolutely Beautiful Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Rustic hotel in cloud forest and close to town

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Cons: Rooms were good and very spacious. It could use some comfortable seating given the amount of space.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Nice view of the treetops, extensive gardens and short onsite hiking trails. Was able to see a wide variety of birds, some monkeys, and other wildlife fro our room's balcony. It was a short although a bit steep in places walk to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, British Columbia

Nature haven

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Myself, my husband and my two children ages 9 to 14 had a wonderful time. We didn't want to leave! My son had a dairy allergy and they took it very seriousl and catered to his specific dietary needs. I would highly recommend it and I'm looking forward to trying to get back there as soon as we can.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
This was our second stop on our trip to Costa Rica. The grounds of this hotel are beautiful and it is a convenient walk into town, but you are removed enough to have some peace. The rooms are clean and comfortable, however they are not air conditioned. The ceiling fan is not directly above the bed and hangs low so be careful when raising your arms. There is no fridge in the room, but a refrigerator available at the front area. They should consider putting small refrigerators in the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Great hotel and location for the cloud forest. They will arrange all types of excursions. The horseback riding, night hike, and Don Juan coffee and cacao tour were all great. Night cap snacks brought to your room were also a nice surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Where Everybody Knows Your Name

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Location, beautiful grounds, friendly and efficient staff, food, cleanliness.
Cons: Keep the bar open, and add seating there other than club chairs.
Location: We found a little coffee shop and restaurant nearby which seemed to appeal to locals as well.
I'm always impressed when the staff makes an effort to know who you are, calls you by name, and asks if you'd like your favorite beverage, and this was only a two night stay for us. Very efficient and friendly staff, beautiful and well-equipped room with balcony overlooking the forest, pleasant sounds of the wind in the trees and bird calls, butterfly garden, pool and spa house (the massage is worth it after the drive there). The restaurant also serves delicious food, but I recommend that you make your dinner reservation early, even if you're a guest there. The town is geared to tourists and visitors, with several restaurants, shopping, and a grocery store within walking distance. Be alert, though, as traffic is sometimes a bit chaotic. Coming from Liberia, the road to Monteverde was gravel and a bit rough from time to time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: everything
Very lovely, accommodating and clean. Very good location. Walking distance from all the restaurants in Santa Elena. Breakfast is great too. Would recommend and stay here again.