Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

An true Lodge experience

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Outstanding customer service with special touches such as turn down service with a toddie and cookies. The onsite restaurant serves a sophisticated menu with superior food. Rooms are very clean with high quality linens and pillows. All around, a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morristown, NJ

Excellent Hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Location and gardens along with pleasant and knowledgeable staff. The restaurant had great selection.
Cons: Nothing. There are no TVs in the room but that is part of the experience.
Location: it is within walking distance of downtown which has a large branch of Banco National for easy access to cash. Everything was 20 min ride from hotel
of the 5 hotels we have stayed in so far (all 3 to 4 stars ratings), this is by far the best experience in terms of comfort, ambiance, restaurant, grounds, and knowledgeable staff. All their recommended tours were fantastic (eg canopy, coffee, butterfly).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Authentic Costa Rican experience!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
This is a wonderful place to visit! Mind set is important as the cloud forest is not an amusement park. It's important to be able to take in all of the lush landscape without expecting to see monkeys and toucans flying through the air. However, when you least expect it, and monkey will try and get into the window while you're having breakfast! The staff are incredibly genuine, work hard, and put in long hours. Jeffrey was especially friendly and helpful! ❤️ We slept with the screen doors open and it was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Wonderful staff, great rooms, great trails around the hotel, lots of monkeys and other wildlife right in the trees at the lodge, excellent restaurant. Really great find!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Loved the beautiful gardens so alive with hummingbirds and butterflies. Hiking trails right there. Also has a lovely a pond, pool and a place for yoga. Delicious complimentary breakfast. My room had a beautiful view of the gardens, but felt a bit closed in because large window doesn't open. Would request one with balcony. Excellent staff, particularly Roy and Donald. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Very nice restaurant and very friendly and helpful staff. We did find the Monteverde guided tour overprized
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel with the best staff

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Next to town with a good choice of restaurants.
This hotel surpassed our expectations. The tree tops room was worth every penny. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony watching the tropical butterflies and birds go by. We had an amazing experience on one of the hotels night hikes when we came across mating Sloths! Thanks again to our guide Donald. We had a couple of great meals in the hotels restaurant and the breakfasts were superb. But what made our stay as good as it was was the excellent staff. Everybody from the restaurant and front desk were very professional and helpful. The receptionist helped us book our transport and have even arranged for an item we left in our room to be sent to a hotel we are staying at later. Again many thanks to everybody at the Monteverde lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Lush greenery

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Very convenient location to the reserves and other sights. Very well maintained hotel. The hotel workers could not have been nicer.
Cons: The hotel was excellent. Highway 606 off of Highway 1 is a chiropractor's dream...one pothole after another for over 10 miles on a dirt road.
Location: Reserves filled with fauna, birds, butterflies, snakes (saw two) and other types of animals. Bat Jungle gave me a new perspective on their importance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Perfect spot for quiet relaxation

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Wonderful staff and accommodations. Breakfast was excellent as was our dinner. Beautiful grounds and bed was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

beauty and serenity

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The beauty
Cons: The walls are thing, so you can hear your neighbooh snoring
Location: I ate tacos one day, but took a taxi to the other activities I did
This was a wonderful hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very quaint and cozy. There was no tv, but that was ok bc it adds to the serenity of the location. The gardens and trails were wondeful.