Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sustsinable hotek

Posted Apr 29, 2016
No air conditioning. No TV. Beautiful grounds. Lovely staff. Restaurant was acceptible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très bel hôtel, jardins et piscine magnifiques

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Hôtel bien situé, personnel accueillant et chaleureux. Très beau jardin et piscine magnifique, bien intégré dans la végétation. Très bon restaurant, produits frais, du jardin, excellente table ! Merci pour ce beau séjour
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great convenient hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: Staff and Location
Cons: More traditional Costa Rican food on the menus.
My wife and I stayed here for 5 days. Was an incredible experience. The hotel staff was very helpful in every aspect. Within the first hour of arriving the concierge Vivianna was able to set us up for all our tours in the upcoming days quickly. This was extremely helpful since I did not research what was available to us in the area. I would definitely come back and also I would recommend for anyone to stay here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Comfy lodge in beautiful setting

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Balcony off room, comfortable beds, great breakfast, nice accommodating staff, beautiful setting
Cons: More lounge chairs by pool
Location: Cari Cucha Reserve with guided tour by Esteban was outstanding. Excellent restaurants in town.
Lovely room with balcony looking out to jungle. Delicious full breakfast in the morning - wonderful homemade marmalade! Nice quiet pool area - could have used a few more lounge chairs. Comfortable, quiet, clean setting after a long day of hiking.
5 out of 5
by John from Omaha

Great laid back, beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time at the Monteverde Lodge and Garden. The grounds were like the Garden of Eden. Hammocks, a tranquil pool that looked like a lagoon, access to wonderful hiking trails through the cloud forest. The staff was wonderful, courteous, knowledgeable and spoke much better English than I speak Spanish! The free breakfast was made to order in the restaurant. Very nice, laid back place. Even enjoyed watching the monkeys outside in the morning, out front of the hotel in the trees.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

magical

Posted Sep 21, 2015
the butterfly garden is truly magical. great staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laval, Canada

Hotel de Santa Elena bien situé

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Bon choix d'hotel pour ses chambres confortables et le personnel très acceuillants et prêts à vous aider à choisir les activités à faire aux alentours. Plusieurs bons restos à 10 min de marche.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Hudson, MA.

Beautiful Lodge Atmosphere!

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
We chose this hotel based on location to town (Santa Elena), free wifi, free breakfast included and the on site butterfly conservatory. We found the restaurant to be very good, with exceptionally great waitstaff - Pura Vida Juan! The entire staff was excellent! The hotel had a wonderful rustic and warm décor. The rooms were very comfortable and the balcony was lovely! There is two floors and no elevator, but the bellman was more than happy to carry any bags for you. Most of the sightseeing tours were able to pickup and drop off right from the front door which was extremely convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2015
We stayed one night in this lovely hotel. The garden is beautiful and peaceful, the pool is small but beautiful. The breakfast was amazing and the staff was nice and helpful. If you consider booking some activities, we nevertheless recommend you to do it at the info center in town (THE official one) as the price is 50% less than at the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Diane

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly staff, great food and beautiful property (especially the gardens in the back).