Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Perfect spot for quiet relaxation

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Wonderful staff and accommodations. Breakfast was excellent as was our dinner. Beautiful grounds and bed was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

beauty and serenity

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The beauty
Cons: The walls are thing, so you can hear your neighbooh snoring
Location: I ate tacos one day, but took a taxi to the other activities I did
This was a wonderful hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very quaint and cozy. There was no tv, but that was ok bc it adds to the serenity of the location. The gardens and trails were wondeful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I thought it would be!

Posted Jul 12, 2016
We were on our honeymoon and wanted to stay at hotels and lodges that were a little grander than we would normally stay at. We first stayed at Finca Rosa Blanca and Tabacon (which were amazing) and then traveled to Monteverde to stay at the lodge and gardens. I was shocked when we arrived to realize I was staying (for the same price as the previous two hotels) in what appeared to be more of a cabin. We were then told that our room (a 2nd story forest view) was double booked and we would need to stay in a different room. The staff was very accommodating and gave us dinner on the house for the inconvience. On the way to our room, there were dead moths and butterflies everywhere (which weren't swept for over 24 hours). Our room was very dark and dingey and didn't have air conditioning. Now, if I had paid $150 a night for this location I would have had NO problem. But I was paying $250 a night! I felt ripped off. Their restaurant is good (again, overpriced) and staff welcoming. However, I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing hotel!!!

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Walking distance to local restaurants, a bonus in a country where cabs cost a fortune! Hotel restaurant was fantastic, homemade bread and jam at breakfast was a particular favourite. Beautiful room with panoramic window from which we could spot wildlife. Staff were great, helping wherever possible. They even leave homemade drinks and snacks and fresh water and ice in the room each evening. We had massages as well and it was lovely and relaxing! An amazing stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Great stay. Lovely gardens, beautiful heated rock pool. Blown away by the restaurant, which turned out fantastic creative dishes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful lodge

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Beautiful lodge with great service. Highly recommended. Fine restaurant as well
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Preis-Leistungsverhältnis passt überhaupt nicht!

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: St. Elena ist zu Fuß erreichbar.
Zimmer war nett, allerdings kleiner wie in der Beschreibung und sehr hellhörig. Ohrenstöpsel waren notwendig. Moskitonetze an den Fenstern sind nicht dicht, so dass wir im Zimmer viele Insekten hatten. Frühstück war entgegen der Beschreibung nicht reichhaltig. Extras beim Frühstück waren sehr teuer. Sehr kleiner Pool für die Größe der Anlage. Hotelfotos sind geschönt. Die Anlage wirkt etwas in die Jahre gekommen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shibuya, Japan

Beautiful facility, great people

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Perfectly situated within walking distance to town and a short ride to the cloud forest.
Can't say enough good about this place. Everything about our stay was wonderful, even though I botched my reservation and showed up two days later than I booked. They found us a room and honored the payment I had made for the wrong days, something they did not have to do. The room and gardens were beautiful. We had a garden room and enjoyed lounging in the hammock on our veranda... like being in paradise. The breakfast included in the cost of the room was made-to-order and delicious. They even made breakfast to go our last morning since our driver showed up early. Dinner at the lodge restaurant was probably the best we had during our whole trip. We booked our cloud forest tour through the lodge, which was fantastic, and took advantage of the spa for some much-appreciated massages. Everyone we dealt with at the Lodge was wonderful - friendly and helpful. I wish we could have stayed longer! Absolutely recommend the Monteverde Lodge and Gardens without hesitation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sustsinable hotek

Posted Apr 29, 2016
No air conditioning. No TV. Beautiful grounds. Lovely staff. Restaurant was acceptible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très bel hôtel, jardins et piscine magnifiques

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Hôtel bien situé, personnel accueillant et chaleureux. Très beau jardin et piscine magnifique, bien intégré dans la végétation. Très bon restaurant, produits frais, du jardin, excellente table ! Merci pour ce beau séjour