Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Eco Hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: We loved Everything about this hotel. Having visited 20 years ago as Newlyweds, we returned with our friends from Canada. They loved it Too!
Cons: Mini Refrigerators in the room would be a Great Improvement.
Location: The MonteVerde Cloud Forrest Reserve is close by. IT IS the reason you come here. But plenty other options..Zip Line, ATV,Hiking,Biking,Birding,etc
Beautiful Eco Hotel with Lovely Grounds with it's own Butterfly Garden. Very Friendly staff. And Great Food in the Restaurant. Leave the hotel Lobby and you are already walking nature paths with animal viewing. Just a stone throw away from the front door, we saw 2 Toed Sloth, Many Agouti, Coati, And White Faced Monkey. Also Birds Galore. The MotMot is a garden resident. Birds and Butterfly's all around the Beautiful Pool area. And Just dozens of Hummingbirds just outside the back door in the Garden. Absolutely Beautiful Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Rustic hotel in cloud forest and close to town

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Cons: Rooms were good and very spacious. It could use some comfortable seating given the amount of space.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Nice view of the treetops, extensive gardens and short onsite hiking trails. Was able to see a wide variety of birds, some monkeys, and other wildlife fro our room's balcony. It was a short although a bit steep in places walk to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, British Columbia

Nature haven

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Myself, my husband and my two children ages 9 to 14 had a wonderful time. We didn't want to leave! My son had a dairy allergy and they took it very seriousl and catered to his specific dietary needs. I would highly recommend it and I'm looking forward to trying to get back there as soon as we can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Great hotel and location for the cloud forest. They will arrange all types of excursions. The horseback riding, night hike, and Don Juan coffee and cacao tour were all great. Night cap snacks brought to your room were also a nice surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Where Everybody Knows Your Name

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Location, beautiful grounds, friendly and efficient staff, food, cleanliness.
Cons: Keep the bar open, and add seating there other than club chairs.
Location: We found a little coffee shop and restaurant nearby which seemed to appeal to locals as well.
I'm always impressed when the staff makes an effort to know who you are, calls you by name, and asks if you'd like your favorite beverage, and this was only a two night stay for us. Very efficient and friendly staff, beautiful and well-equipped room with balcony overlooking the forest, pleasant sounds of the wind in the trees and bird calls, butterfly garden, pool and spa house (the massage is worth it after the drive there). The restaurant also serves delicious food, but I recommend that you make your dinner reservation early, even if you're a guest there. The town is geared to tourists and visitors, with several restaurants, shopping, and a grocery store within walking distance. Be alert, though, as traffic is sometimes a bit chaotic. Coming from Liberia, the road to Monteverde was gravel and a bit rough from time to time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: everything
Very lovely, accommodating and clean. Very good location. Walking distance from all the restaurants in Santa Elena. Breakfast is great too. Would recommend and stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

An true Lodge experience

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Outstanding customer service with special touches such as turn down service with a toddie and cookies. The onsite restaurant serves a sophisticated menu with superior food. Rooms are very clean with high quality linens and pillows. All around, a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairway, Kansas

Warm spot in the Rainforest

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Close to several rain forests, town of Santa Elena, orchid garden tour, coffee and cacao growing tours.
Beautiful hotel with lots of amenities. An enclosed butterfly garden is next to the reception area. Also, they serve hot chocolate, coffee and cake by reception, welcoming you as you arrive. Cozy fireplace where we sat and read our books, then had our lunch there. Rubber boots available for hiking in the muddy rainforests. The room had a gorgeous view of the forest, comfortable beds with down? comforters, hot shower and turn down service. There was plenty of hummingbirds at the three feeders they had, a heated outdoor pool and several easily walked trails on the property.
5 out of 5
by Zhongli

Clean cozy hotel with beautiful gardens.

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
GREAT service cozy room with great view clean nice food good location and beaufitul gardens
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morristown, NJ

Excellent Hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Location and gardens along with pleasant and knowledgeable staff. The restaurant had great selection.
Cons: Nothing. There are no TVs in the room but that is part of the experience.
Location: it is within walking distance of downtown which has a large branch of Banco National for easy access to cash. Everything was 20 min ride from hotel
of the 5 hotels we have stayed in so far (all 3 to 4 stars ratings), this is by far the best experience in terms of comfort, ambiance, restaurant, grounds, and knowledgeable staff. All their recommended tours were fantastic (eg canopy, coffee, butterfly).