Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Nice hotel as a 3 star lodge

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel is nuce with cery giod staff, breakfast eas excellent! Overall we liked it as a 3 star lodge, but it appears to be over priced as a 4 star hotel. I would have liked to have a view from the balcony since that is the highlight in Monteverde but all rooms overlook the forest with trees just in front. We were a family of four and found the room small. The hotel facilities are nice with the butterfly room, the pool also nice, but we felt there was not much to do in the hotel. Rooms have no tv - which for some its part of the trip but with little kids at night it may have been ok. I would recommend the hotel but with all this in mind, it is a lodge and not to be charged as a 4 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Forest, England

Totally awesome experience staying at this amazing

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Absolutely everything. The grounds, wildlife, food, service, rooms, location. It was all perfect.
Cons: It was my idea of paradise!
Location: rainforest, hanging bridges, zip wires, mooching about town, wildlife adventures - the list is endless.
This hotel was absolutely amazing. We stayed her for three nights during a three week trip around Costa Rica. Monteverde Lodge just surpassed all expectations and if you are off to stay here soon - you are so lucky!! The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and clean and all have views of the gardens, the location is perfect for all Monteverde has to offer. The pool is surrounded by beautiful gardens and is very natural. You can just sit in the pool and watch the wildlife. There is a lovely butterfly garden inside the hotel where you can actually have your evening meal (tip for the romantics out there!). There is a koi pond, hummingbird area and rainforest views and walks all around There is plenty of wildlife and birds to see if you are patient and watch. As you walk into the reception / restaurant area there is a lovely homely fire burning and there is space to sit an play games. There is always coffee and cake to help yourself too during the day. Between 5 and 6 there are snacks at the bar and early evening we had complimentary drinks and nibbles just brought to our room. The food in the restaurant is awesome - the best steak ever eaten, imaginative and tasty veg meals. The staff were all absolutely amazing - they obviously really pride themselves on customer service and couldn't do enough for us. Even the gardener came to the pool to alert us to a huge troop of white faced capuchin monkeys were coming through the grounds. Worth every penny and more!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely gardens & pool.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Great hotel for families with the gardens & pool. Super location with 10 minute walk into Santa Elena.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Stunningly beautiful hotel with outstanding staff

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: It was extremely beautiful and clean, with many amenities.
Cons: A vegetarian option could be added to the menu for at least one of the restaurants.
Location: This hotel is close to the volcano, so for the brief times when the fog clears, it was very visible.
This hotel is absolutely gorgeous and upscale. It has high ceilings, walls of windows overlooking the rain forest, enormous beds, luxurious bathrooms, and in-suite hot tubs. The grounds are lovely--filled with beautiful flowers, as well as a swimming pool, game room, and other amenities. The only drawbacks for me were that it was quite a ways from town and the shuttle was expensive ($65 from the airport, probably a little less to town) and the fact that although there were two restaurants, the only vegetarian option was a side salad. Since most of the tours pick up from all of the hotels in the area, I would have preferred to not be so isolated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A Nice Stay with Great Staff!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Staff, food, convenient booking of tours and activities.
Cons: Lighting in rooms. Soundproofing (not sure how they could do that?).
Location: Many tours and activities within ~10min drive. Monteverde & Curi Cancha, coffee/chocolate/sugar tours, night walks, zip lining, etc.
The service here really makes this an outstanding location. The lodge and restaurant are sort of odd in a 60s-70s campy sort of way, but everything is clean and well maintained Bathroom and room was clean, beds were comfortable, and though no AC, the room was comfortable. Would only want for better lighting in the rooms. The hotel was more full on our last night, and you can hear voices from adjoining rooms, but we were usually wiped out and it didn't matter. The included breakfast and a couple of paid dinners at the restaurant were tasty and nicely presented, though perhaps a little pricier than options in town. Front desk staff was very helpful for suggesting and organizing tours and activities with or without transportation, even a couple that were last minute (we weren't there in high season but some guided activities book up). The grounds are pleasant, but not a real "activity" in themselves. The pool is a little small, but several families enjoyed the surrounding patio and hammocks. Food and drink service was available by phone to the main lodge. Hummingbirds were plentiful, and we saw a few other local birds (mot mots, guaro, and a few others) and a coati puttering around the grounds. It's a short walk to the nearby town center with some shops, restaurants, bars, etc. Overall a great stay - made more so by the friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Helpful, friendly staff compliment a great location and pretty landscaping.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay at rustic lodge

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
The experience was really good! The staff were very friendly and accommodating (they all speak Spanish and English). The food offered at the restaurant is delicious, and we appreciated the free breakfast every morning. The hotel is within walking distance to Santa Elena but secluded enough to not hear the hustle and bustle of the town. The rooms were nice. Note that rooms do not come with a TV or air conditioning. Neither are needed in the room, because they offer gorgeous views of rainforest and it's entertaining to just watch the rain. Also, as in any area in a forest, expect a lot of bugs both outside and inside the room. There is also a small butterfly garden where you can reserve a table for a romantic dinner for 2 (at no extra cost!). One of the highlights of my stay was getting a Swedish massage the day after I went zip lining! It's amazing to walk to the spa and see so many butterflies, a giant road, and an agouti! Oh yes and also the hotel offers free wifi for all of its guests. The only downside is just how difficult it is to drive to the hotel (and Monteverde itself). I am definitely staying here again on my next visit to Costa Rica!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Rain forest delight

Posted May 14, 2017 on CheapTickets
We really enjoyed this lodge. The drive here is an adventure and the lodge was worth it. We had excellent food and service. everyone is very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

Loved the peaceful ambience of the hotel, the gard

Posted May 13, 2017
The garden, butter fly room everyone and everything was lovely.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Family favourite & Finest dining

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
This was one of our families' favourites although the price was higher than most.