Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Great Britain

Great to be close to Monteverde reserve

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The room was fantastic. Huge beds in a huge room with wonderful facilities and a lovely inside balcony area with a view over the forest.
Cons: Very cold! The rooms aren't insulated well and when there's poor weather (which there was when we stayed) the hotel can be very cool.
Location: Very close to Monteverde cloud forest reserve and the hummingbird gardens opposite. It's an easy 1km walk to get to both.
The hotel is in a perfect location to walk to Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve and the adjacent hummingbird garden and café. It makes a great base for nature themed activities (we also walked to the nearby Bajo del Tigre reserve) and you can walk all the way into the nearest town, Santa Elena, which is about 5km away, easily for souvenirs and a bit more life (though bear in mind the walk back is all up hill!). When we arrived the power was out because of a fallen tree, and the power stayed off all night as a result. This meant electrically powered water systems (shower, sink etc) didn't work - not great when you've just transferred from a very hot, sticky area - but made for a nice candlelit dinner in the onsite restaurant. Staff were friendly and the food was very good in the restaurant, though rather pricey, though without a car or wanting to hire a taxi there aren't really any other food options out here after dark. The rooms were amazing - huge, super clean, and lovely - though the lack of any heating or insulation meant that when we stayed in a week of gales and rain the place was very cold (they do provide heavy blankets to wrap yourself up in though!).
3 out of 5
by Pascale

Clean, but dark rooms

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Clean room, but very dark.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was comfortable and the onsite restaurant was excellent. However, the hotel was a ways from anything else.... while it was only a little over a kilometer from town the road was terrible and we certainly didn't want to drive it at night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right beside Monteverde Park

Posted Sep 21, 2016
The hotel was great r staff was friendly and he on-site restaurant was delicious. The best perk is that you are walking distance to the entrance of the Monteverde park. He room we were in (24) was very spacious so got two traveling friends it worked out great and we pretty much had all the room we needed to spread out. The beds were firm wih plenty of pillows and the bathroom has a beautiful tiled shower. The sink/vanity is seperate from the shower and toilet and that was a bonus. It was very quiet there but we did go in off season. Unless you are up for a hike you will need to get a taxi to get to St Elena (nearest town). All in all it was a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel, excellent staff.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Location: The Cloud Forest Reserve is a 10 minute walk up the road, and an awesome place to hike and nature-watch. There is lots to do in and around Monteverde.
Our stay at the hotel was great. The room was very nice with an amazing view out over the cloud forest. It is just a short walk to the Cloud Forest Reserve. The staff was extremely helpful and basically acted as our travel agents; we showed up with nothing planned and a lot of ideas, and they helped us make everything work. The restaurant was better than your typical hotel restaurant, with excellent steaks. The waiter and bartender both went above and beyond in their service. One word of caution, if you struggle with stairs, some of the rooms are a short hike up from the lobby/parking lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Gorgeous hotel off the beaten path

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Orbitz
This is a very nice hotel. The restaurant was nice they had good food choices and delicious drinks. The staff was very friendly and inviting. Our room was a bit of a walk but the view is gorgeous tall ceilings comfortable beds very nice shower and bathroom. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this to everyone
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S California

Depend on season

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Nice View
Cons: Rest Room
Location: Walking distance to Rain Forest Park
The reason we choose this hotel is because it is closest one to National Forest Park and some review said Quetzal flyes to it garden. However, there is depend on season, and we could not see any beautiful birds (we stay middle of July.. we did not know most of rare birds are showed up at Dry season, Dec-Feb). It our fault but if you are plan to come to this area to see, strongly recommend to not come to July...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel inn the cloud forest

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Got a Costa Rican massage driving up too this place but it's well worth it. The road was step and bumpy but you arrive in heaven...the cloud forest. Restaurant was reasonably priced considering you don't have many options. I would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by John from Dallas

Great hotel in Challenged area.

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived at this hotel in the middle of a very heavy rain storm. Be warned..the roads to the place are terrible. Big ruts and large rocks. Very little marking on the road. We were thankful for our phone GPS which is a must for this hotel and most in Costa Rica. But once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised! Very friendly receptionist, absolutely huge rooms, and great hotel restaurant. The place is a little far out but worth the effort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far away from Santa Elena.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Quaint
Cons: Update rooms.
Location: Far from the main town on Santa Elena. Close to the Cloud Forest Reserve.
Staff is very nice. Hotel is old and the rooms need updating.