Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Great Britain

Great to be close to Monteverde reserve

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The room was fantastic. Huge beds in a huge room with wonderful facilities and a lovely inside balcony area with a view over the forest.
Cons: Very cold! The rooms aren't insulated well and when there's poor weather (which there was when we stayed) the hotel can be very cool.
Location: Very close to Monteverde cloud forest reserve and the hummingbird gardens opposite. It's an easy 1km walk to get to both.
The hotel is in a perfect location to walk to Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve and the adjacent hummingbird garden and café. It makes a great base for nature themed activities (we also walked to the nearby Bajo del Tigre reserve) and you can walk all the way into the nearest town, Santa Elena, which is about 5km away, easily for souvenirs and a bit more life (though bear in mind the walk back is all up hill!). When we arrived the power was out because of a fallen tree, and the power stayed off all night as a result. This meant electrically powered water systems (shower, sink etc) didn't work - not great when you've just transferred from a very hot, sticky area - but made for a nice candlelit dinner in the onsite restaurant. Staff were friendly and the food was very good in the restaurant, though rather pricey, though without a car or wanting to hire a taxi there aren't really any other food options out here after dark. The rooms were amazing - huge, super clean, and lovely - though the lack of any heating or insulation meant that when we stayed in a week of gales and rain the place was very cold (they do provide heavy blankets to wrap yourself up in though!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right beside Monteverde Park

Posted Sep 21, 2016
The hotel was great r staff was friendly and he on-site restaurant was delicious. The best perk is that you are walking distance to the entrance of the Monteverde park. He room we were in (24) was very spacious so got two traveling friends it worked out great and we pretty much had all the room we needed to spread out. The beds were firm wih plenty of pillows and the bathroom has a beautiful tiled shower. The sink/vanity is seperate from the shower and toilet and that was a bonus. It was very quiet there but we did go in off season. Unless you are up for a hike you will need to get a taxi to get to St Elena (nearest town). All in all it was a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel, excellent staff.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Location: The Cloud Forest Reserve is a 10 minute walk up the road, and an awesome place to hike and nature-watch. There is lots to do in and around Monteverde.
Our stay at the hotel was great. The room was very nice with an amazing view out over the cloud forest. It is just a short walk to the Cloud Forest Reserve. The staff was extremely helpful and basically acted as our travel agents; we showed up with nothing planned and a lot of ideas, and they helped us make everything work. The restaurant was better than your typical hotel restaurant, with excellent steaks. The waiter and bartender both went above and beyond in their service. One word of caution, if you struggle with stairs, some of the rooms are a short hike up from the lobby/parking lot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S California

Depend on season

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Nice View
Cons: Rest Room
Location: Walking distance to Rain Forest Park
The reason we choose this hotel is because it is closest one to National Forest Park and some review said Quetzal flyes to it garden. However, there is depend on season, and we could not see any beautiful birds (we stay middle of July.. we did not know most of rare birds are showed up at Dry season, Dec-Feb). It our fault but if you are plan to come to this area to see, strongly recommend to not come to July...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too far away from Santa Elena.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Quaint
Cons: Update rooms.
Location: Far from the main town on Santa Elena. Close to the Cloud Forest Reserve.
Staff is very nice. Hotel is old and the rooms need updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible stay:)

Posted Apr 13, 2016
The hotel exceeding our expectations! The staff went above and beyond to make your stay memorable! They were so helpful and informative :) The restaurant had a great selection and the food was amazing! The rooms were so spacious and clean! I will not hesitate to come back:)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Beautiful wood, good restaurant and friendly, helpful restaurant staff. Nice garden.
Cons: Internet was terrible: no service much of the time.
Location: Closest to Monteverde!
Wonderful place if you value proximity to Monte Verde. We'd rate it higher if the Internet connection worked better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel especially for the value!!

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: beds
Cons: nothing.
Location: go visit Monteverde and see the hummingbirds, butterflies and maybe do some ziplining. it was within 1 mile from the hotel.
great Hotel. the food was good and the beds were very nice and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA USA

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Hotel is a bit dated but it's fine for the price. Rooms were spacious. It gets pretty cold and there are no heaters. Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant had a good selection of food and prices were decent. Breakfast was good as well. Hotel is quite and located in remote area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ask to leave early in the morning.

Posted Nov 17, 2015
4 of us stated at the lodge and the night prior, there was a mistake in regarding to the amount of guest presented. The receptionist stated that as long as we did not stay for an extra day, they were going to wave the rest. The next morning the owner son ask us if we can make sure to remove the belongings out of the room since they were expecting a lrage group of people. I figured they probably wanted us to eave earlier because of the issue. We kindly agreed. When we got back form the tour, the receptionist was asking us to pay the remainder of the bill. I was disappointed cause we were asked to leave early, then they started asking for more money. Unprofessional act from their end.