Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2018
Beautiful hotel in the cloud Forrest. Diner was delicious a breakfast was included with room it was ok. The staff pleasant, the hotel and grounds are beautiful. I would recommend staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rain forest visit

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: Friendly fun staff; pleasant room but cold ! Enjoyed the happy hour cocktails, and after a day in the cold and rain, boy did we need them !
Cons: Rooms need heating-our clothes were damp and not drying out.
Location: National park visit (but few animals).
Overall the experience was positive but the town was very limited and whilst the rain forest was interesting there was very little wildlife to be seen. It should also be noted that it is not called a "Rain forest " for no reason and it poured with rain almost all of the time that we were there !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Posted Jan 15, 2018
It was windy and raining. The room windows were not properly installed and insulated. Rain water was coming through windows and roof and window shaking all night. We could not sleep. The water in shower was low pressure and difficult to get the right temperature. There were no wash towles and breakfast could be much better. Compared to other hotels in Costa Rica that we stayed, the quality of fruits and coffee was much lower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to natural park

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: improve room to room noise
Location: natural park
Excellent location for hiking experience: within 1km from entrance of the park and surrounded bu nature
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Close to monteverde park

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Hotel staff was okay Breakfast was bad Room was nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Hotel Trapp, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Dark and cold

Posted Dec 17, 2017
We stayed here a week ago and although there was a bad storm, the hotel was not equipped or ready for the inclement weather. There was no power for over 24 hours which meant no hot water or warm food. Luckily we had a flashlight as our cell phones died and our room was pitch black. I realize that bad weather can happen anywhere, however this hotel wasn't ready or equipped for a rain storm and lack of power. Hotel staff weren't very accommodating or apologetic either. I wouldn't recommend this hotel until they have proper lights and a back up generator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Hotel Trapp, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for a budget but that’s about it.

Posted Dec 8, 2017
This hotel is good for those on a budget but not for someone who is trying to have a relaxing vacation. The beds are very firm and the pillows are rock hard, it was like sleeping on concrete. During the windy night, the doors were rattling and it made it very difficult to sleep. There were tiny black bugs crawling all over the floor so don’t set things on the ground. The staff was nice and the breakfast was good but it was definitely the worst hotel of our trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remote and quiet area

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Can't be closer to Monteverde. Nice wooden deco. Road to the town was closed for the day, so we left via San Luis (4x4 recommended, very nice landscape, Waze or Mymaps required, about 35min). However, the rooms may be cold at nights. (no heater)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by karin, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calabassas, CA

Close to national parks!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The hotel itself was great. About a 20 minute walk from both the monteverde national park and the reserve. Downside unless you have a car the walk to the hub(small downtown area) of monteverde is a little far. It took us about an hour to walk there but with a taxi takes about 10 minutes. There is a little stop area with a nice little cafe and a couple of restaurants about 30 minutes away but the food at the hotel was very delicious. A little pricey but not bad. If you can I would try to get a room on the second floor you get a lot better view and we stayed on the first floor and had some bugs come in but it's expected in an area (jungle) like this. No A/C or fan but we didn't mind because the weather was pretty cool. The rooms were nice but you can hear people upstairs pretty easy. Breakfast was great! And the front desk can help set up any tours or things you might want to do!
5 out of 5
by Vilma

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels