Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but needs improvement

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The aircon and TV were probably the best things
Cons: The breakfast needs to be sorted ASAP. Lack of food and also the amount of flies was very bad. Overall very dirty.
Location: Far from any thing special apart from the beach.
We arrived early and had to wait a little extra while the room was prepared which was fine. There was a big thunderstorm that had just happened and the reception area was flooded. Staff were working on cleaning it. The hotel was very nice we stayed in the deluxe room but was disappointed on the amount of noise from outside. The curtains didn't really close well either. During both nights and the morning there was constant noise (from inside and outside the hotel - one morning the bin men were sitting outside talking to staff with the truck still turned on 8 am) The gym and the pool were ok but was left a bit abandoned and no sitting was actually left out. Breakfast however was awful on both days. The lack of actual food and cutlery was appalling. We had to ask the staff several times for cup / plates and knifes. There was no hot food it was all cold even though its listed as as a hot breakfast. There were more flies in the room than actual food along with many broken dirty glasses. Room service was available but listed and available in USD.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York,NY

Good hotel with serious construction problems

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Location. Service. Within walking distance of family members. Near beach, although about 15 minute cab ride from downtown/old town.
Cons: As mentioned above, the decking. Also lighting in bathroom and some of the details, which I mentioned.
Location: Good location for me because it's close to family members, shopping mall, beach area and good restaurants A must see is the old town and barbecue
I had stayed at the hotel on my last trip in April of 2015. It was a good stay, reasonable price and within walking distance of family members in Montevideo. This trip was for a wedding, and I chose it again because it was close to family and a very reasonable price. (Last time parts had still been under constructionl . This time I encountered a very serious problem: The deck outside the restaurant. Since there were no vacant tables, I stepped out onto the deck carrying my coffee cup to sit there. One of the planks gave way under my foot and broke in half with a jagged edge which caused serious scrapes to my shin as my food went down about a foot into the hollow under the deck. which was insufficiently supported and the planks of too light material (visible warping). Same construction on the rooftop deck around the pool. The hotel called EMS who exampined my leg and bandaged it. Fortunately the wounds were superficial. In the rooms, design was poor: toilet paper holder was on the far side wall beyond the bidet. Toilet tank was connected to hot water line. Lighting was adequate, except for the are over the sink, where it was very difficult to shave properly. Only one heavy chair in room( should have had glides to facilitate movement)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Nice hotel in a unique location

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Corridor sizes.
Location: Food, business, shopping, views
Excelent staff and location close to a unique spot in Montevideo Business area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

A little out of the way, small rooms

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The staff, in particular Michelle, he was fantastic! Sent us to a futball game which we thoroughly enjoyed!
Location: Quite out of the way from the downtown area
I booked a king size bed but received a queen, when I asked I was told that is what we consider a king size here, although in the photos online the bed looks like a king(what we consider a king in North America)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Panama

Better first time around...

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Centric. Good WiFii access. Breakfast is included.
This is was my 2nd time staying at the hotel. The 1st time was much better than this time. I was promised an upgrade which they didn't provide. The room was not as pleasant as last time, it had an unpleasant odor which did not improve throughout the stay. The staff tried to mark it with glade and I refused because it would have only made it worse. The bathroom was very small and lighting inside was terrible. Sound travels from room to room. The hotel staff seemed overwhelmed. I think there was a conference being held at the hotel so it may have been at capacity. Breakfast is included and it is a good breakfast. Room service is limited - there are a few additional options in the restaurant but they are not very keen to accommodate for special requests. Not many healthy options. The gym has 2 treadmills and 1 stationary bicycle. It could use an elliptical machine. It is very small, has a few weights but very limited space. Overall ok but my expectations were high given my previous experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Montevideo Trip

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Te hotel is located closed to the Rambla,Montevideo Sing,Restaurants.Shopping Mall. Around 15 min from the airport. The breakfast in very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from latham ny

close to beach

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: pool, views of the beach from roof
Cons: room was small
Location: beach short ride to city center
close to beach and walk ways. nice roof top pool. short taxi ride to down town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hotel review

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: A couple more small tables by the pool area.
Location: great restaurants, lounges, beer bars, beach, yacht club, museums.
I was born in Uruguay and this vacation was my return after 40 years. I choose this hotel originally for the location.Great clean hotel, close to the beach and other amenities. The staff was extremely cordial and always willing to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. I requested coffee at five o'clock in the morning my entire stay before jogging and I was never denied one.it is a matter of fact they made me a triple espresso coffee for my delight without a question asked. I will definitely recommend the After Hotel to anyone that wishes to stay in a extraordinary place with out worries or hassles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from transitioning. to Montevideo. from U.S.

Loved After Hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Great check in. Room very nice. Front desk staff excellent...Stephanie, Sabastien and manager Federico all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast a real pleasure. Staff at breakfast, especially Maximiliano..great. I would stay here again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Lacaze

Weekend holiday

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location. It's a quiet neighborhood. Nice breakfast.
Cons: -
Location: Shopping, running, nice bar zone nearby.
Fast Check-in, everything was as it should have been. Not sure about the bed, perhaps was a Queen Size and I thought it was offered a King Size, but anyways it was nice, comfortable and spacious.