Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for a 2-3 day stay

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is well located in the city center. It has free wifi in the rooms and lobby, so that's great. The rooms could be a bit cleaner though.
3 out of 5
by Simon from Orillia

Okay stay at the Sur hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
It is a short walk to the old town and the free WiFi worked well in our room. The room definitely showed wear, the sheets reminded us of old worn sheets you find at a hostel. Unfortunately no English speaking staff were available during our stay; however we managed to communicate okay. The rooms don't feel that secure as they are locked with a single key in the knob; no deadbolt or security chain. It is a place where you are required to leave the key at the desk each time you leave. The official Uruguayan tourist guide rates this hotel as a 2 star. Overall a decent value.
2 out of 5
by Adrienne from San Diego CA

Very loud night club next door

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Room 216 was great for our family of 4. Large, clean with a separate space for our two kids. Centrally located. The main issue is there is a night club next door that plays music Wed-Sun from 10 pm-8am. I can usually sleep through music but this music is loud. Really loud. And it literally plays til 8 am. Unless you can fall asleep in a loud night club it's not worth a stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by Urceira, Hotel Management
Dear Customer: No any nightclub or pub or other establishment that works at night near the hotel and has music. Nor we have rooms with the numbers. Solamentre 21 rooms. There must be a misunderstanding. Best regards!!!
5 out of 5
by Javier from Buenos Aires

Great value

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, only three blocks from Av. 18 de Julio. Neighborhood is a little solitary by night. All rooms are very clean, with air conditioning and TV. There is no elevator, and rooms are on a first floor. There is no hotel parking, but there are some nearby private parkings few blocks away. Breakfast costs USD 5 per person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not bad considering the price

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The price was hard to beat and the staff was pretty cool even though they barely spoke english. Breakfast would be nice.
Cons: Parking could have been included
Location: Not much to do as you have to walk to the main intersection (abount 10 min walk) to get food and everything else
The streets were quiet and sketchy which made the area a little dangerous at night. The hotel was decent but the no windows things was just not fun. Room was clean and staff was pleasant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BOG

Nice for the price

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Nice hotel for the price. Room very comfortable and clean. Very near from the old city, so it is perfect for city tour by walking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but no english!

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
They do not speak a single word of english. And breakfast was not included. So i would suggest going to the plaza which was 10 minutes away to grab breakfast at the cafe. Given that other reviews of hotels in Uruguay seem to fare no better, i am assuming it is an Uruguayan thing and their lack of facilities and abilities to run a proper hotel than the hotel itself to blame for this. It is clean, or looks so, so for a hotel room i rate that very highly though i feared to check with a black light!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good enough

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels
Not too expensive. Hotel had a bit of character with interesting enough decor. Modern (or at least not old) but not contemporary. TV didn't work. Staff was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from New Zealand

Nice clean hotel close to CBD

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The room was modern and very nice. Central location to be able to walk to old town and cbd. Short taxi ride to Pocitos.
Cons: The way the heat pump is positioned to warm/cool the room.
Location: Close to CBD and to the ramblas (great for a run or walk). Easy walk to downtown. Easy cab to beach areas or to areas to hire a bike.
We are unfortunately non Spanish speakers. The staff only spoke Spanish and this made a few things a little challenging, however they made a great effort to assist us with what we were looking for. The rooms are very nice, however the heating for our room was in a box on the roof so thought the room was warmer then it truly was leaving the room a couple of degrees cooler than was desired, but otherwise was an excellent room. Location is a few blocks south of the cbd and close to a few ok restaurants. On the weekend it is very quiet in this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really clean and decent hotel for this price

Posted May 15, 2014
Overall we found this hotel a good one. Rooms are clean and comfortable. However, one big drawback is that at least our room didn't have any window and I think most rooms don't have any windows the way it has been designed but on the corridor there is enough ventilation. Staff don't speak English at all which can be a bit of problem.